2/14 Jonesy AMPS 329 - shot 1.25; +10 = 169; PMPS 106 = 1.25u; +1.25 = 79; +2.5= 61, +3.5=76

Darcy and Jonesy

Member Since 2015
Morning,
Last evening and throughout the night Jonesy continued to climb. I've not been able to get a ketone strip sample this morning, will try again this evening.

If I don't hear otherwise, my plan is to shoot the 1.25 again. THOUGHTS??? @Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko

He's eating right now, not bad, not great. Not wolfing it down like I'd expect considering it is an hour and 45 minutes after he'd usually be fed. I DID give him more sub q fluids this morning. It seems to perk him up.

I've got literally 15 minutes until I have to shoot and leave. (sigh . . . I need a millionaire husband ;) )

Yesterday's party time . . . http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ot-1-u-1-5-post-shot-110.225603/#post-2526463
 
Were you able to leave food out for him during the day (or would he just eat it immediately if you did)?

Paws crossed for Jonesy today-- be good!
Yes, he was eating his "first" breakfast up on the desk when I left. He'd eaten about half. Then I left a new bowl on the floor. He's lazy so it may take him until early afternoon before he goes down to the floor ;)

I gave him sub-q fluids as that seems to perk him up some. I didn't know what to shoot honestly, so I stayed with the 1.25.

I don't know what more I can do for him. I live alone, I've sold my house, I need to find a house within FIVE weeks due to upcoming foot surgery, my other two cats both have medical issues, I have to keep Jonesy separated from my other boy cat (Vinnie) as Vinnie wants to slice and dice him. I'm stressed way past capacity :( I'm taking everything day by day, one foot in front of the other.
 
Hi Darcy, I'm sorry I didn't get your tag. I'm not really sure what I would have said about the dose, since you had the ketones issue in the mix. Ordinarily, a drop to the 40s would have earned a reduction, but you had just increased that morning.

I suspect since I didn't get the tag, neither did @Wendy&Neko

Perhaps let's see what others might think. I can say for certain, now that you had a bit of a scare with elevated ketones, it is important to continue to test for ketones.
 
Thank you everyone!!!! You've no idea how much I needed all the virtual hugs today.

I'm about 15 minutes away from closing up the store and then I'm off to my vet to pick up asstd stuff. Let's hope this was just a *blip* with him. It is definitely easier for me to use the strips, so I'll plant myself in the office again tonight and wait for him to pee! LOL

THANK YOU!!
 
I suspect since I didn't get the tag, neither did @Wendy&Neko
I read in someone else's post that if you tag two people you might want to have the tag on two separate lines.

You are doing a bang up job, Darcy, and still able to keep up the quick witted humour! Love it. You make me laugh with your wit. :cat:
Sometimes there's a fine line between wanting to laugh and cry... it's ok to do both! You are doing the best you can and that is what counts. :bighug:
 
I read in someone else's post that if you tag two people you might want to have the tag on two separate lines.

You are doing a bang up job, Darcy, and still able to keep up the quick witted humour! Love it. You make me laugh with your wit. :cat:
Sometimes there's a fine line between wanting to laugh and cry... it's ok to do both! You are doing the best you can and that is what counts. :bighug:
Thanks for the tip re tagging! I'll remember that.

Yes, my sense of humour, as demented as it is at times, definitely carries me through life ;)

I'm THRILLED to say that Jonesy has given me a lovely 169 for his amps +10!! But now that I'm home, he wants to be fed . . . I'm going to have to stall feeding until I can give him his shot due to having shot so late yesterday. But if he's going to be mad at me, I'm happy it is with him "surfin' the blues"! :D
 
Okay! So, we're now at the PMPS time and he's at 106. Should I shoot 1.25, knowing I'll have to monitor? (He's eating right now) Or stick with 1.0, knowing there is danger of ketones??

What to do? What to do??

Off topic, I'm happy he is SO great re the sub q fluids! I'm going to continue that until things stabilize for him.
 
Last edited:
He's dropped some down to 79. I know it is from shooting 1.25, but I told myself "shoot low to stay low". Is it time for some HC foods? He's currently happy, noshing on some cooked chicken and was playing with a ball in the dining room only moments ago.

My thoughts are to test again in 20 minutes or so. If he's climbing at all, NO carbs, but if he's dropped lower, bring out the big guns. . . .

Advice? @Christie & Maverick ?
@Wendy&Neko ?
 
Last edited:
Tag didn't work again :rolleyes: but I happened by. I'd feed a tsp or two of LC and test in 30 minutes. Not quite time for the big guns, ideally you want him to flatten out with just LC but it is still very early in the cycle.
 
Just tested again, he's now about an hour and 3/4's after the shot, he's dropped again to 70.
That's good, the difference between 79 and 70 is negligible. I'm not sure why the tags aren't working, but you did the right thing by changing your title as well. Did you feed some LC yet? If not, good time to do so, and let's see where you are at in another 1/2 hour if that works.
 
Back
Top