2/14 Java AMPS 359 +2 323, +6.5 274 upped to two units

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
most recent post

Well Java is home. We had a rough time with the 24 hour vet. they had so many people taking care of java no one really did. They gave him DRY dm and canned DM when I brought in 6 cans of fancy feast! I told them the food needed to have water added and be left out as Java is a grazer, I am sure they didn't listen at all. He ate last night like he had never eaten before. I got a call in the afternoon about the xrays he "needed" and the way she talked he has this horrible condition that may need surgery. She saw sclerosis in his spine and she felt this was the cause of all his recent pain. I am waiting to talk to my vet but the cat I brought home last night is not the cat I am looking at today. He is calm, not growling anymore, eating like a horse. I don't know sometimes I think those 24 hr vets just want to drive up the bill and dont really have a clue what the he** they are talking about! his BG this am was 359! what did they do to my cat!?
 
Re: 2/14 Java AMPS 359 upped to two units

I hope you are going to be home today to monitor.

We do not increase by doubling the dose. Given that Java has had nadirs that are below 300, according to the dosing protocol, if you were to increase, it would be to 1.25u, not 2.00u. Jave could be considerable over dose. Please get a +1 and a +2.
 
Re: 2/14 Java AMPS 359 upped to two units

Sienne and Gabby said:
I hope you are going to be home today to monitor.

We do not increase by doubling the dose. Given that Java has had nadirs that are below 300, according to the dosing protocol, if you were to increase, it would be to 1.25u, not 2.00u. Jave could be considerable over dose. Please get a +1 and a +2.

I was just going by what my vet recommended. I will test again and talk to him about it. thanks for the info.
 
Re: 2/14 Java AMPS 359 upped to two units

There is tremendous experience here--I also was listening to a vet when I came here--2 units needs to be closely monitored! please post your test numbers today so we can help you- in your subject line

Moonie Has had neuropathy since we came here 3 yrs ago--Yes she does walk on her hocks, sometimes on her toes, but it is not painful, just looks bad--Neuroapathy makes walking look difficult, but it can reverse & cat's walking can be remedied--I give her methylcobalamin (methyl B12) not regular B12--It is for cats with neuropathy--takes a few weeks to work--When Java is laying down or sitting, lift his paw on his back leg, if it is limp, or droopy, that would be a neuropathy symptom--vet showed me that
This can trun around when the cat gets regulated--Moonie did get better with the walking, but she also has a floating kneecap, which doesnt help--So she gets around, jumps on the couch, plays, moves & does pretty much everything--Hope you have a good day--BTW--Welcome to Lantus Land!
 
Re: 2/14 Java AMPS 359 upped to two units

Roni and Moonie said:
There is tremendous experience here--I also was listening to a vet when I came here--2 units needs to be closely monitored! please post your test numbers today so we can help you- in your subject line

Moonie Has had neuropathy since we came here 3 yrs ago--Yes she does walk on her hocks, sometimes on her toes, but it is not painful, just looks bad--Neuroapathy makes walking look difficult, but it can reverse & cat's walking can be remedied--I give her methylcobalamin (methyl B12) not regular B12--It is for cats with neuropathy--takes a few weeks to work--When Java is laying down or sitting, lift his paw on his back leg, if it is limp, or droopy, that would be a neuropathy symptom--vet showed me that
This can trun around when the cat gets regulated--Moonie did get better with the walking, but she also has a floating kneecap, which doesnt help--So she gets around, jumps on the couch, plays, moves & does pretty much everything--Hope you have a good day--BTW--Welcome to Lantus Land!

thanks for the info on moonie. I asked my vet about the methyl b-12 and he said it can't hurt. I am really hoping this is neuropathy and it gets better as he gets treated and regulated. I hate to think of him having some spinal tumor or bad spine deformity.
 
Re: 2/14 Java AMPS 359 +2 323 upped to two units

Hi Steph,

Sorry that Java had to be at the ER over the weekend, I'm glad to hear that he is feeling a little better now that he's home!

Are you able to get some more tests? That's a big dose increase, and I share Sienne's concern about it. I would monitor closely if you are home...can you get a +4?
 
have to agree with the others, thats a huge jump in dose.
as well as being new to home testing, I'm really surprised the vets suggested this.

I hope you will be ok to monitor.
 
one more thing, if you can continue to monitor this cycle, do try to get a +11 at the end there k?

we'll see what others can add about tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top