2/14 Harley and Hadley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
HaRley
AMPS=367, Shot 1u, +6=106, PMPS=347, Shot 1u, +4.5=124


How thoughtful of Harley to wish his momma Happy Valentines Day with a pink AMPS. Thank goodness it was only pink and not red.

HaDley
AMPS=103, Shot 0.3u, +6=54*, PMPS=96, Shot 0.3u, +4.5=50


Hadley likes these 100ish PS's he feels good, is usually running around the house and acting kitten-ish. All this is a ploy to get me to feed him of course. Everything he does is food motivated in some way, poor fellow.

*I don't trust the 54 as he wasn't fretting like he usually does at those #'s plus it took me 2 tries to get the strip to sip up the blood and when there's a delay in between sips, the BG result usually reads lower than if I'd gotten only 1 sip.
 
Happy Valentine's Day!

HaRley sure had a nice day yesterday - surprising pmPS. I don't blame you for reducing the dose, but that was obviously what prompted the 300s this morning. I wonder why he had such nice duration yesterday? Did he eat OK?

HaDley is looking good (still!) and maybe .3u is just the ticket. He is staying well below renal threshold even in "normal" numbers. No wonder he feels great.

Has he been a chow hound since you got him? Was he underfed (neglected)? I don't recall his history. Both of my guys were very food-focused until they were well regulated. And then they also got playful and kittenish, which is so heart warming to watch flip_cat .

I think part of it is getting their BGs under control so they are feeling better, but I also think that changing the diet to a more species appropriate one brings out the kitten in all of them. I thought Beau's slowing down before his FD dx (at age 8-1/2) was normal aging, but he is so playful now (age 13-1/2) - even more so since I have been adding probiotics, taurine and enzymes to their food. It's like their bodies are finally getting the nutrients they need and can thrive.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I wonder why he had such nice duration yesterday? Did he eat OK?

Yesterday caught me completely off guard because I can't come up with an explanation for it. Harley ate fine, in fact he ate better than fine.
confused_cat

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
HaDley is looking good (still!) and maybe .3u is just the ticket. He is staying well below renal threshold even in "normal" numbers. No wonder he feels great.

Paws crossed for this evening's PMPS, let's see what 0.3u will do. :-D

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Has he been a chow hound since you got him? Was he underfed (neglected)? I don't recall his history. Both of my guys were very food-focused until they were well regulated. And then they also got playful and kittenish, which is so heart warming to watch flip_cat .

Hadley food focused??? If he could get a tattoo his'd say "Born to Nom." I don't know of anything specific in his history that compels him to eat. He was adopted by has family from a shelter at 4 1/2 moths old and he's lived the last 5 years of his life with 1 family and a much older female kitty. The next things his vet records say he was admitted to the ER at 1 1/2 years old with his left hind leg dislocated at the hip and he was a whopping 19 pounds. Even though he was an indoor/outdoor kitty at the time, I think with a weight gain like that, he had to have been fed dry food. No judgment here against his former family. I free fed my little Princess and she ballooned from 8 pounds when I adopted her to 15 pounds. Some cats just don't have the ability to regulate food intake. If I don't meal feed Hadley and confine him to a bedroom he'd eat everyone else's food. When it's test time, I have to give him the treat before the pokey or he'll use his 14.5 pounds to grab the treat out of my shirt pocket. He's a little less frantic now than when he first came to me but I think he will always be this way.

Now he's starting to play a little whereas before he'd just lie around and be grumpy in between trips to the water bowl, food bowl or litter box. And his coat is looking like a shiny seal instead of a dull gray seal. I need to post new pix when I get back from my trip...
 
Laura and Harley said:
HaDley
AMPS=103, Shot 0.3u, +6=54*, PMPS=96, Shot 0.3u, +4.5=50


*I don't trust the 54 as he wasn't fretting like he usually does at those #'s plus it took me 2 tries to get the strip to sip up the blood and when there's a delay in between sips, the BG result usually reads lower than if I'd gotten only 1 sip.
Still don't trust the 54? Looks like he repeated the morning cycle for you tonight. You might have to dial back that dose to .25u

When and how long are you going to be gone? Who's on shot duty while you are gone? (Sorry, if you already mentioned it and I forgot :roll: ).
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Laura and Harley said:
HaDley
AMPS=103, Shot 0.3u, +6=54*, PMPS=96, Shot 0.3u, +4.5=50


*I don't trust the 54 as he wasn't fretting like he usually does at those #'s plus it took me 2 tries to get the strip to sip up the blood and when there's a delay in between sips, the BG result usually reads lower than if I'd gotten only 1 sip.

Still don't trust the 54? Looks like he repeated the morning cycle for you tonight. You might have to dial back that dose to .25u

When and how long are you going to be gone? Who's on shot duty while you are gone? (Sorry, if you already mentioned it and I forgot :roll: ).

Now I trust the 54 a little more. ;-) It's just weird cuz he wasn't fussing like he usually does at those numbers. AMPS this morning was a nice 83 so l dialed back to 0.25. :mrgreen:

I leave next Monday and won't be home until Saturday night. I have a vet tech coming to stay at my house while I'm gone and she will be here mornings, overnights and evenings but works during the day. She will do Harley and Hadley's shots, Harley's pills, Princess's pills and Harley's fluids. The only thing is, she will not do home testing. I'll ask once again tomorrow night, but I'm sure the answer will be no. My sister will come over during the day to give the cats their mid-day feeding but her times may be a little erratic.

I'm open to suggestions on dosing Hadley while I'm gone. One of my options is to just not have her shoot at all while I'm gone and deal with the consequences when I come back. But at least I'll come back to a live cat.
 
I can't understand why she won't test when she will do all those other things. I mean, testing is so easy compared to all the stuff vet techs do. If it would help, you can give her my number (I can PM it to you) so she can call to be talked through it.

I think your choices are to have her shoot reduced doses (like maybe only .1u) or skip. It might end up being a "happy' experiment like it was when I was out of town just before Beau went OTJ. I drew doses before I left and stored them in the fridge in a cup with the needles pointed up (if you are worried about her drawing the right dose - .1u is a tough one). The insulin will be fine. My sitter didn't shot at all and I used those doses up to two weeks after I drew them and they still worked.

The other thing you could do is drop him to .1u now and see what happens. It'll give you an idea of what to expect from him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top