2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88, +7 99, +10 85

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

Hi Mat,
I would think based on last night where you did administer a bit of karo and still got good numbers that if not for the karo the number msy have been much lowere. perhaps a skinny .5 or .25
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

I am going to link yesterday's thread to this condo. We usually do that so that other's reading can go back and read without searching.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36679

I also have not posted in your condo yet and wanted to welcome you. It looks like Haley is having a great response to Lantus.
I just looked at your ss....did you shoot 0.5 or a skinny 0.5?
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

looks like he shot a skinny. hope it was ok to jump in there before he dosed. i was watching last nite.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

Just a skinny .5 and I am off for today to monitor her. As of Wednesday poor Haley is on her own from 0730 until 1830. Hopefully we get some sort of regime out of her BG's by then.

Haley's BG numbers are having a great response. Haley unfortunately is not :) she is not a big fan of all the poking :lol:
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

Don't worry Mat (with one t). Putty had to be wrapped in a blanket like burrito because he would not let us test. It took two of us to test him...one holding him in the blanket and the other testing. Now all I have to do is point to his little green blanket and he jumps up and lays down. Haley will get used to it.
Do you give her any lc treats during or after you test?
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

This might not be a good thing but we have been giving her small pieces of canned tuna as a reward. She really loves that stuff.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

I think that is ok as a treat, low carb..not as a a meal tho'
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142

Is the food you are feeding wet or dry?
Is that the food your vet gave you or recommended?

Sorry if you have been asked these questions already. I read through your old thread but cannot remember. :?
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104

Wet with a tiny bit of dry. Both the wet and dry food were recommended by the vet and purchased at the vet's office.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104

Wow, #'s like that with dry in the diet! if you dump the dry altogether you will likely see even lower numbers.
where is your +2? :-D
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104

btw, don't drop the dry today as it will have an effect of haleys numbers and i don't think we can afford that.
maybe tomorw and then rethink the dose accordingly...it has been known to dramatically effect the #'s
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104

Hi Mat, I haven't posted in your condo yet, welcome!

That's a pretty significant drop from Haley's PS number, usually a lower +2 indicates an active cycle ahead. I would get a +3, ok? No need to get nervous, but you want to monitor closely.

I would give her a tsp or two of food also, not too much in case you need to feed more to steer her numbers.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104

Yes Mat, I'm afraid this is another cycle you will need to keep a close eye on...but in a way this is very good news. Your kitty is on low doses and skipping doses and had karo and eats dry...and still does not go up! I say this is a kitty very likely to go OTJ :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

well i would say let it ride with low carb..but lets see what the others suggest. doing fantastic i think.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

of course...you will need a +4 right?
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

Nice +3, Mat. Have you fed anything since AMPS? We find that small frequent meals often help kitties maintain a nice flat curve. There's no need to use karo or high carb food, his normal food is fine at this point.

How is the testing going? I know it can be very difficult in the beginning. Haley is getting a very nice response to Lantus, usually you have a little more time to get used to testing before you have to get more frequent tests. You're doing great.

Have you been able to get in touch with your vet regarding the fructosamine test that Jill asked about last night?
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

Shes had a bit to eat since this morning.

Testing is going much better now that I know what I'm doing. I think Haley is giving up and just letting it happen. I've been getting blood first shot all day today so kudos to me :-D

Haven't spoken to the vet yet. She is supposed to contact us but I'll try her myself this afternoon before they close.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

YAY Mat...you are an experienced VAMPIRE now!
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

Good for you, It sounds like she's getting used to the testing, and you're getting better at it too! Lots of practice usually helps. :mrgreen: Can you get a +5?

I was looking back at the previous thread, you said the Haley is asthmatic and gets steroid shots. It's possible that she may be a transient diabetic, caused by the steroid shots. Is she still getting the shots? I also have an asthmatic kitty, she is on inhaled steroids which are much safer than shots or pills, as less is absorbed systemically. Have you ever tried inhaled steroids with her? If not, you might want to think about it.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

Her last shot was a couple months ago. We have switched her to the inhaler since her diabetes dx.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94

Oh good, glad to hear that! :-D There are several cats here that are asthmatic and diabetic, you aren't alone with the dual dx.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88

What a nice cycle Haley has going today! I would get another test around +7 so you can see if she is still going down or headed back up.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88

Go Haley!!!
Beautiful numbers.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88, +7 99

Hi Mat
just peeking in on your day so far, I was watching from the sidelines over the weekend.
Watching, reading and understanding - It's a great way to for newbies and those who have never used Lantus to learn just exactly how Lantus works. Previous experience is a bonus thou ;-) When you have free time, read thru the stickies, print out the handy info, make sure Haley reads it :lol:

And seeing you're getting good feedback from Lantus Land's most experienced members! Jill, Sienne and Libby were my helpers too when I was new and if you look at their siggy's you'll see they are tops with Lantus experience.
You're doing great! Keep it up!
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88, +7 99

Beautiful cycle so far today!

Thanks for the update re. the inhaled steroids. It's good to know.
 
Re: 2/14 Haley AMPS 142, +2 104, +3 94, +5 88, +7 99

Hey all
Haley is down to 85 @ +10. Still doing really well.

I do have a question though. We kinda messed up on the time for her dosage. We've been giving it to her on the 9's but when I go back to work we will have to have it done by 6 or 7. Any ideas how we can fix this blunder over the next couple of days?
 
very nice numbers today. :smile:

How many days do you have before you have to be on a different schedule? Usually moving a shot earlier by 15 minutes each cycle is just fine, so you can shoot 15 minutes earlier tomorrow morning, 15 minutes earlier than that tomorrow night, etc. Would that get you there?
 
If you shot at 9:00am this morning, you can do a schedule change in 15 minute increment:

8:45pm tonight

8:30am 02/15 AMPS
8:15pm 02/15 PMPS

8:00am 02/16 AMPS
7:45pm 02/16 PMPS

7:30am 02/17 AMPS
7:15pm 02/17 PMPS

7:00am 02/18 AMPS

Probably not good enough, huh?
 
this will seem like a random question, but did you get a chance to check with your vet about whether a fructosamine test was done when Haley was diagnosed? I think Jill asked last night, but it was late. Also, how much dry food is she still getting? Is she free fed the dry, or just at meal times?
 
The vet said she did not do a fructosamine test as she didn't think it was necessary, her initial blood test made it clear that she was diabetic and she confirmed it with a urinalysis.

She gets maybe a tablespoon of dry food with each meal. She doesn't seem to want her wet food without the dry food in the other dish. I dunno??!?
 
interesting.

Post your +11.5 before shooting, if you can. I'm interested in seeing where Haley is going. We can see then whether it is a good idea to shoot early, or go to Plan B. :mrgreen:

About the dry food, there are other kinds that are lower in carb than DM. EVO is one, or Wellness Core. If she has to have dry food, switching to one of those might help us get Haley off insulin. Lots of people also find that their cats will accept freeze dried chicken crumbled on their food in lieu of dry. My cats would do anything for their freeze dried chicken (0% carb). Might that work? There is a brand called Pure Bites or Prime Bites or something like that at PetSmart, in the dog treat aisle. This treat is interesting too, because it is pure meat but looks a lot like kibble.
 
+11.5 is 88

Thanks for the tips on the dry food. It would be nice to get her off the juice. (Wimps eh? Only been doing this for 2 days :lol: )
 
Are you in the mood for an experiment?

Haley has been surfing in this range for hours. Under the circumstances, I think she would be just fine if you skipped tonight's shot and just fixed the scheduling dilemma all in one fell swoop tomorrow (just shoot at whatever time you want the new shot time to be).

The "experiment" part is that since you won't be shooting, I'd like to see you do what we call a pancreas test. Feed her a small meal now, then test again in about 4 hours. We're looking to see if her pancreas can bring her number down without insulin. It would be great if tonight's meal didn't include the dry, but of course if she won't eat then do whatever you need to do.

Then post again in the morning before you shoot. If she's still green in the morning after a skipped shot, then we'll have to rethink her dosing. Ok?
 
That sounds like a perfect solution. I'll be up for a while tonight so I'll take a few tests throughout the night.

Thanks again for everyone's help.

If she does go a little to high, what should we do to correct or is this anything to worry about?
 
get the +4 after food for sure. Other tests are a bonus if you get them, but please do get that one (and try not to let her snack much between her regular meal that you're giving now and the +4, for the sake of the experiment). You were up late last night, so use this opportunity (after +4!) to catch up on some sleep.

If she goes too high tonight, don't do anything, just go to bed and wait til morning. If you're up and can post a number in the morning about an hour before shooting, someone can give feedback if it looks like a different plan is needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top