2/14 Gizzy AMPS 397 Grrrr.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Happy Valentines Day all!! My sugar cat obviously loves pink, because that's where he chooses to spend the majority of his time!! ;-)
I'm going to get more #'s today - need to see where this dose is taking him.... Gotta get him out of the 300's already! This is taking such a toll on his little body!
 
Good morning. I have not posted in your condo before so welcome.
These pink numbers are not pretty.
I may have missed some advice in a previous condo but just curious why you dropped the dose?

Have a nice day. :smile:
 
I increased his dose from 1u to 2u per my vet's suggestion as she wanted to get Gizzy out of high #'s sooner rather than later.
When I posted that on this site, I got very nervous from the comments I received back saying that it was too fast of an increase and he may crash when the insulin compiles in his system (along with the antibiotic taking effect). I'm not always home with him during the day and didn't want him to go into hypo so I pulled back on the dosage to see what would happen at 1.5u and then I can always go back to 2u if I need to.

My plan: I'm going to leave his on 1.5 for a couple more days and spot test more often and do a curve on Wed or Thurs and then adjust the dosage accordingly at that point. I did like where 2u took him, but it was a pretty steep decline!

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated! I'm grasping at straws here!!
 
Looks like you did the right thing. I know that Gizzy is not a new diabetic so second time around may be different.
I was just curious and trying to get caught up on all the newbies or not so newbies. :mrgreen:
 
I feel like a newbie again!! Sheesh, you really forget a lot when you don't do this every day! I'm really bummed to be back - and he's a really hard nut to crack this time around!!

Looking forward to our continuing conversations!!
 
Good morning guys ... I don't think I have been to your condo before either .. I'm sure gizzy will be off the pink floor before to long .. it just might take a little longer then you like ... but it will happen .. have a great day guys!
 
It's going to be a few more cycles before you can increase. Generally, you can increase after 2 - 3 days. Given that you're seeing nadirs that are under 300, you would increase by 0.25u, not 0.5u. I'd like to encourage you to get at least one spot check during the PM cycle. You're already seeing some blue numbers at night so Gizzy may be like many cats and go lower at night. From the note on your SS, it sounds like the inflammation in Gizzy's mouth is getting better so you may see some change in her numbers as a result of the inflammation clearing.
 
I think you've got a good plan - I'd rather start lower and go higher than risk a hypo when you aren't around.

Happy valentines day to you guys
loveshower.gif
 
pistull said:
I am totally open to testing at night....when do you think? +6? +8?


hey there,

testaholic here, you've got a lot of open spots in your spreadsheet to fill in the blanks.
why not try an evening curve up until your bedtime?
ex: +3, +5, +7 that's an easy one, if it were me, I'd be on a +2, +3, +5 and +6, but that's just me. (EBID - every bean is different) :-D

Welcome to Lantus Land by the way!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top