2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361 +2 267 +3 196 +4 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning LLers,

Enana looks spunkier this morning. Very is hungry. Gave her FFC, eating it with gusto right now.

I'm taking +11 as the AMPS. Shooting soon.

Have a wonderful day everyone.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320

Good morning guys .. .glad to hear that Enana looks spunkier this morning ... hopefully you see some lower number ranges today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320

Hi Natalia. Happy Valentine's Day to you and Enana. :-D I'm glad she is eating well and feeling spunkier. I hope you both are enjoying a good day.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 Please Help

+10 411
Ketones 0.2

First time she's been in the 400. I left food and water out for her. I just got home.

What should I do?
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 Ketones 0.2 Please Help

I'm sorry about the 0.2 ketones Natalia.
she is eating now? or was the food for earlier?
you've added some water to her food yes?
try not to panic, and if u can, get a +11, k?
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 Ketones 0.2 What should I do

She is not eating because I was told not to give her food within two hours of a shoot.

I left food out when I left for work this morning at 7:30. Left a can of food mixed with water and two cubes of catsickles. Water in a container also. When I got from work at 5, there was no food in either plate.

I'll get a +11.

0.2 is a trace, which is weird. She is prone to ketones so I expected the number to be higher.

Thanks Ronnie.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 Ketones 0.2 What should I do

wait up a sec...can u tell us how old is your insulin? when was it opened?
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 Ketones 0.2 What should I do

this *could* be the high before the break, but I would still rather get the numbers down tonight if possible. It's almost +11, right? If +11 is about the same, I would go ahead and shoot. You can also increase the dose to 1.25. If she does have a breakthrough tonight then you might have to reduce the dose again tomorrow, but I don't want to take any chances in case the ketones rise again.

Yesterday you thought she was constipated, is that situation any better? That can make numbers rise too.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387

+11 387

She hasnt poop yet. She peed and groomed herself. She seems playful and fine...but she seemed fine the day I hospitalized her.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387

+11.25 379

I have been playing with her since I got home. Someone here told me that exercise lowers BG, right?
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387 +11.25 379

this is your preshot number yes?
I would follow Libby's suggestions, this number is very close to the previous

EDIT: sorry I am unclear when you are due to shoot

exercise can lower it, but it can also raise it - believe me we tried that too, lol
kitties will do whatever they want anyway.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387 +11.25 379

sorry, had to poke & feed my crew. She is high enough that you can shoot the 1.25 now, or whenever you're ready.

"high before the break" - some cats will suddenly throw a random high number a cycle or two before they have a big breakthrough. Not all cats do that, but it's a pattern to watch for if she does this again.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387 +11.25 379

Sorry to ask, but she was 394 on Saturday and I gave her 1 unit. What's the difference the +10? :dizcat
 
Re: 2/14 Enana AMPS 320 +10 411 +11 387 +11.25 379

no difference really, we're just "fast-tracking" Enana's dose increases because she is ketone-prone. Normally we hold doses for 6 cycles before increasing, but her ketones were rising on Saturday so we increased after 4 cycles. Same thing today, even though ketones aren't rising yet that high number makes me worry, so I suggested increasing after 4 cycles again. Increasing after 4 cycles (or sometimes even earlier than that) is allowed in the protocol if numbers are high and flat, or we also do it if ketones are present.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361

A lot of times people think they gave a fur shot and it turns out they didn't or some at least got in.
Never shoot again, if you think you shot a fur shot, because some insulin may have gotten in.
Why do you think it was a fur shot?
At least the +1 is lower. Did you shoot the new dose tonight? If so, good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361

it looks like maybe she has a bounce clearing, or maybe this really was a high before the break. Maybe she'll make it back to nice yellow tonight. :smile:

Fur shots happen. It's even worse when you forget to give the shot altogether (I'm the queen of that these days - I come back hours later and see the filled syringe still sitting on the counter).
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361

I dont know, I had the feeling. She reacted differently to this shot. I was stressed out, so it might be that.
It also smelled the smell of Lantus very strongly. I touched her fur and I dont remember if I felt wet. Her fur always feels wet it is so silky.

Thanks for letting me know to never shoot after a fur shot. I went looking for information and I read about it :)

I didn't shoot 1.5, I just shot 1. :/
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361

Oh hh noooo Libby....that would kill me right there! :lol:

I hope it is a break or that she goes to yellow! That would be soooooooooooo nice.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361 +2 267

+2 267 I guess it wasnt a fur shot flip_cat

She's laying on the dinner table for the first time in weeks! Im so happy!
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361 +2 267 +3 196

+3 197 in blue again! Yes! She hadnt been in blue since last Friday. She is acting fine, playing and walking about the house normally :) dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361 +2 267 +3 196

And why wouldn't she be acting normally? Those are good numbers. You may want to get another test or two in to see where this is going.

Also, don't be upset if Enana's numbers bounce back up tomorrow. She hasn't seen much blue lately and her liver may be a little panicky about it.
 
Re: 2/14 Enana PMPS 379 +1 361 +2 267 +3 196

She hasnt been acting completely normal since she got sick. It makes me happy to see her ok :) She's such a shy kitty that it takes a bit to get her back to normal.

I visited her at the hospital one day, and when she saw me she started happily eating. The technician told me that that was the first time any of them had seen her eat. She would not eat in front of them.

I'll test her a couple of more times :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top