2/14 Elian PMPS 480; 429 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4

Had to run out, ran back home to check Elian again and he had dropped to 38. I gave him some Fancy Feast Grilled Food, waited 15 minutes and tested him again - he was up to 45. Got a 53 at 4.25. Yes, I read how to treat low numbers while waiting out the 15 minutes!!! If necessary I have Karo syrup waiting. He's not showing any signs of hypo so hopefully that's a very good sign of its own! Will check back here later.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

He's back up to 98 +6. Phew! Will keep an eye and see where he is PMPS.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Great job handling the numbers today Susie! It looks like Elian didn't want that extra juice. :lol:
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Nice work! That's quite a drop Mr Elian! No need to scare the pants off your Mamabean! Keep surfing safely!
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

You did a great job with the drop Susie and I had no doubt that you could handle it!!!. Really good job. :thumbup This is how you develop instincts unfortunately and through testing you learn patterns. Unfortunately you are nowhere near cutting down on testing (or were you kidding)? and Elian will forgive you when he starts getting flatter curves - without the bounces-and feeling sooooo much better!!!

You know he's gonna' bounce, right? It'll be interesting to see where he goes with this.

Again, GREAT JOB!!!!! xoxo
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Thanks everybody. Yep - he's keeping me on my toes, that's for sure. My question now is....depending on his pmps do I keep him at the new higher dose of 3.25 u or should I take him back down to 3 u? I'm guessing he'll jump back up high which is what he's been good at. Most likely I'll be back here around 9:30 to post before "shooting" if I'm in doubt.

(PS I sure wish there was a way of getting notifications of new posts on here without having to check in!!!!)
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

If Elian bounces by his PMPS, then you can shoot your current dose. If he doesn't bounce, drop back to the 3.0u dose.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

you can sset up any post to email when you get a message - did you see this just under the text box - well look at the last one - it says - notify me when a reply is posted - check that box and you will get emails.......easy breezy - right.....

Disable BBCode
Disable smilies
Do not automatically parse URLs
Attach a signature (signatures can be altered via the UCP)
Notify me when a reply is posted
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Great job, Susie! It's amazing how quickly you become accustomed to doing what you need to do to deal with low numbers -- empowering, actually!

Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Thanks Hillary - I'll have to check it out. Thanks Angela and Sarah. Elian is back up to 480 so he got the new dose. We have no electricity right now - it's raining. Fun testing, measuring out dose, feeding and shooting by cellphone flashlight app! But it got done. Will test again during the night. Gotta save my phone battery. Be back later.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Man E sure is sensitive to every dosecrease. Now if we could just keep him from bouncing so high. Reminds me of Alex back "then" ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Is there any way to stop the bounce? I have my alarms set for +3,6,9 and 12/amps. Will keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Good catch, Susan.

I am a big fan of always getting a +2 test no matter how high your kitty is. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. If the +2 is similar to the PS, you should expect an active lantus cycle where numbers will come down to nadir. If the +2 is much less than the PS like today, you can expect a very active cycle with the possibility of an early drop.

Good luck with the reduction!
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Geez I feel so stupid - just saw the notification setting for the very first time!!!
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Thanks Marje - I usually get a +2 but thought a +3 would tell me more. I have soooo much to learn.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

You're doing fine. And sometimes, the kitties just forgot to read the rule book on FD ;-)
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

480 PMPS and 429 +2. Will do a couple of checks overnight. Not sure what to expect.
 
Re: 2/14 Elian AMPS 328; 77 +2.75; 38 +3.75; 45 +4; 53 +4.25

Good idea....he's pretty high so a before bed is fine. With meter variance, these are the same number. He might come down but I wouldn't want you to stay up all night testing. A spot check before you go to bed is ok.

Susan...if you could, do you mind updating your subject line please? For those of us watching LL, we a scrolling up and down the list looking for questions, low numbers, high numbers, etc. thank you!
 
Susan,

While there is a protocol and science behind testing and recommended testing times - every cat is different and peak and dip at different times. Maui pretty much stayed steady, while another cat I took care of would drop like a rock between +1 and +3. I was able to treat that drop with food, using medium and higher carb food to steady/slow the drop and it worked for this cat.

As you go down the path and look at the spreadsheet, you will start to see patterns emerge that will give you indication of how he will react to insulin, dosecreases, food, etc. and once you learn these patterns, you will figure out how best to address it - such as with food, etc.

be patient, listen to the folks here and read the protocols. then read the protocols again.

You may also find that if you visit other posts on here and follow their daily ups/downs and look at their spreadsheets, you will be able to see the patterns they are talking about and it may start to make more sense to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top