2/14 Checkers pmps 391

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88895

Good Morning LL

Checkers wasn't hungry this morning, even after I decorated his FFChicken with Fortiflora. He ate some chicken liver. I hope he starts eating better when the thyroid med kicks in.
Meth pill is tiny, so I put it in Pill Pocket. Cant' do that on a regular basis tho, 'cause it's the reg kind, not Duck, which he doesn't like. He's crazy about reg PP.

I'm feeling optimistic, for the first time in ages. Checkers had so many symptoms of hyper-T, and I didn't recognize them as such. He was borderline, but within normal range, the last two years. Last year's test, was sent to Mich.

I am trying to deal with my anger and resentment, because he has seen these doctors since the last thyroid test, and they brushed his weight loss off as "he's diabetic".


Okay, I'm done. I'm just upsetting myself.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354

I am SO glad you're feeling optimistic. Sometimes it is hard to decide if a symptom can be attributed to HyperT or not...been there, done that, having had 2 HyperT kitties with very different sets of symptoms! Do you have any other vetty options in your area? It's SOOOO hard to find a good vet.

One thing to note...sometimes the pill can upset their tummy...just something to consider if his appy is still off later. The transdermal gel is a great option...it's what we used for Mario, and it bypasses the digestive tract.

Have a great day, Barb, and eat more fuds, Checks!!
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354

Thanks Amy. I did consider the gel....both my sis and my DD used the gel. Doc and i wanted to try the pills first. I was warned about the tummy issue, and also it can cause facial itching. I'll be watching him closely.

At this point, I wouldn't consider changing vets. Checkers has been going there all of his 16 & a half years.
The two docs I see, know me well, and I can talk easily to them...I get brain freeze talking to docs I don't know, and come off looking like a moron.

ETA: now I know to insist on better answers and not allow my question to be dismissed.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354

Hi Barb, sending appy vines to Checkers and good vibes for the other med not to upset his tummy. Hugs, too.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354

Morning Barb ~O)

HT mimics FD in many ways, pu/pd etc. Simon's HT too, he's on 5mg twice a day.
Splitting Checkers' dose to 2.5mg bid IMHO would lessen the chance of side effects.... I even had to work Simon up to his "therapeutic" dose.
I've always assumed this was how it was administered by default (BID)?

I've never worried too much about the carbs in PPs... so small. And the Duck/Pea is nasty :lol:

Glad you're optimism has returned :-D

Happy Valentine's Day!
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354

Thank you Bruce: I ran to look at the med bottle, even tho I'm hyper vigilant about med doses. 5mg once daily.

Yesterday as I was ratling off Checks symptoms to DD, she was saying "yup, diabetes too", so maybe I should ease up on my anger at docs. Thanks Bruce.

I just gave tuna for test treat, and he had no trouble scarfing it up, so I guess he was being picky this morning.

Now I need to know if I should increase his insulin dose a bit while he's not feeling well, from UTI.....he's on Clav, bid.

He is staying pink so far today, but he did have a few tidbits of kibble to lure him out of cube, as well as 2 pill pockets.

Any opinions welcome, please
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389

Hi Barb, Sorry, can't help with the dosing question. I've missed the last couple days with Checkers and i'm so sorry you've had all these things on top of one another. I'm glad they got so much resolved at this his visit. I hope Checkers is very much better in a hurry. You are rightfully upset, but as Checkers gets better and better, i know you will feel more relaxed. We're sending you lots of heal fast and feel better vines and prayers. hugs to you and scritches to Checkers - mary and ollie
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389

Hi Barb, I am happy to hear you're feeling more optimistic and hope the hyper-t meds start working soon! I was actually dx with hyper-t last week and just started meds. They've been making me nauseous and fatigued... I don't know if it has a similar effect on puds, but that might explain the lack of appetite. I understand your anger at the oversight from the vet, but at least they figured it out now before things could potentially get worse.

Hope you and Checkers have a great day!
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389

Courtney, I'm sorry your meds make you sick, I have the opposite problem, low thyroid, and take med for that.
I'll watch Checks for nausea. Thanks :smile:

Checkers refused breffis before his med, but he might feel crappy from the uti too.
Like a sucker good mom, should, I'm heading out for different foods for him. He prefers fishy stuff, and right now, I just want him to eat, so he can have what he wants.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389

I'm sorry about the vet. Thank goodness you are here and can get advice and suggestions from LL. Sending healing energy to Checks to get better soon.
Liz
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389 +8/223

Ohhhhhhh, I've never been so happy to see yellow. :-D

I went out and bought every flavor of FF that I don't normally buy. Most have fish, but the main ingredient of almost all Ff is animal byproducts, yuck, but not totally fish.
Got some Wellness Chicken too, even tho he doesn't like it. I just love throwing away cans of food the cost $1.69 each. :lol:
Civvies don't like Wellness either :YMSIGH:

Courtney, he is on Meth 5mg, also. Thank goodness it's a tiny pill.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers amps 338 +2/354 +4/389 +8/223

Eating and healing vines for Checkers. Tuna is always the big test at our house. As long as T eats that, I don't get too worried. I understand your frustration with the vet. Sometimes I wonder who the real vets are out there. Happy Valentines Day Barb!
 
I'm glad that you got the tooth root taken care of and finally figured out why he was so skinny. And UTI too? Triple whammy. The Clavamox can really do a number on their tummies too, so you have lots of option for the lack of appy! :roll:

Good luck w/ it all. One food Tess will almost always eat is Pinnacle Chicken and Seafood, 5% carbs and low phos too. I have only seen it at smaller pet stores though.
 
Re: 2/14 Checkers pmps 391+2/388

Oh thanks Ann. I need to find out more foods that I can get at the feed store that are LC. He might be willing to try some of the new ones.

I'm not even bothering to do a +3 tonight. It's not going anywhere.

I'm off to bed.
 
Hi Barb,

Sorry to miss you yesterday and to be late in getting here tonight. I'm really glad that Checkers' bothersome tooth fragment is out and that he can now eat normally. Sorry to hear about the Hyper-T. As you know, Stu had Hyper-T and we were planning to have the I-131 procedure done at Hypurrcat (Dr. Mark Peterson). As it turned out, he was too sick from other things to have the treatment, but I learned a lot about Hyper-T while I was doing all the research. The Yahoo Hyper-T support group is definitely worth joining:
http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/feline-hyperT/?yguid=354124632
Dr. Peterson's web pages are full of information. Here's the url for Hypurrcat, but check out all his links:
http://www.animalendocrine.com/hypurrcat/about-hypertyroidism/

You sound so much more optimistic now that you know what is going on. So many have dealt with this issue and you will find lots of support right here in LL.

Hugs to you and Checks,

Ella & Rusty

We are all thinking of Roni and Brad tonight. Moonie, dear Moonie, is flying free.
 
((((Barb))))

Sorry to post so late and to find out Checks is hyperT. I've had two hyperT cats. I'm glad they finally dx it for you.

Bruce is right....I've found that vets tend to start at way too high of a dose. It's beyond me why they don't start low and very gradually increase. I hope it does not make Checkers feel ill and scratch the hair off his face. I also hope he puts on weight with the meds.

Glad they got the root issue sorted out. Hugs!
 
ohmygod_smile on the tooth root! Poor Checkers. Hopefully, things will improve. And I learned a lot in your condo today about Hyper-T. Thanks!
 
Hi, Barb! I hope Checkers feels better soon! Sending appy vines!
I love that you 'decorate' the food with enticements ~ I'm so going to use that term!
Also, I agree about the nastiness of the duck/pea pill pocket. The smell alone is off-putting. Blech.

Have a good evening!
~Josie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top