2/13 Tonka AMPS 83, PMPS 90, +1.75 54 - and all this joy on less insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
I left quite a bit of medium carb food out for Tonka today, as well as feeding him the medium carb to start his day with, and a couple tbsp of dry DM to make the extra carbs last, and even on the reduced dose he was still only 90 before his shot tonight.

Our cat sitter came in at 11:30 am to check in on him, and he was perky and not interested in eating more, so it sounds like he hadn't dropped too low. He hadn't touched the extra food yet. But by the time I got home, it was all gone. (but Teeger might have helped)

Now it's not even two hours later, on another reduced dose he's at 54 (I was nervous to give him 1.75, and it looks like I had a good hunch for once, and reduced him further to 1.5). He was in pretty good form when I got home but now he just seems tired, and he hadn't eaten much.

I just brought him to his food and put down a teaspoon of a gravy lovers Fancy Feast to get him eating. He's now lapping it up and working on some of his regular low carb wet.

Other than testing him regularly, any suggestions for where to go from here? Any ideas why he just keeps dropping? Maybe whatever caused him to start spiking last month is finally clearing his system? (I know his levels weren't good overall before, but he did drop quite low on just 1.5 units a couple times in the past. The highs seemed to be an issue with him rebounding whenever he approached a normal level, which he seems to have finally gotten past)
 
keep in mind that the 2.0u dose is still influencing his blood sugar. A higher dose can influence as many as 6 cycles after you reduce.

How is his behavior? Is he acting sick at all? Would you say that he's eating about a normal amount of food?
 
If you were available to test and had supplies, I wouldn't have reduced his dose either of those times. You can see how he does but remember that a larger dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles because of the depot. So the lower numbers could still be from the 2u dose.

I hope he continues to do well but if you see him trending up, don't sit on the lower dose...take him back up.
 
He's been eating everything in sight and licking the plate clean the past day and a half. It's just tonight that he wasn't interested in eating more than half of his evening meal at shot time. He tends to be a grazer on the days that he's feeling more normal, so I figured he was just full from having eaten so much the last couple days.

Other than just wanting to sleep right now (he seemed pretty alert once he realized that there was gravy on the plate to lick up), he doesn't seem "off".

I have to be a bite conservative: I'm gone for far too long during the day to be able to test him anytime other than preshot, and at some point, I'm going to have to get more than 3 hours of sleep a night. We have a three day weekend so I'll be able to get some daytime tests in for a few days. So I can bring him back up to 1.75 units in the morning if he isn't crashing.
 
I hope Tonka comes up a little for you soon so you can get some sleep. Enjoy the Family Day weekend. We had ours last week.
 
He seems to be coming up (4.3 [77] at +4). I'm going to get one more test in, to be sure that it wasn't just a food spike, but he should be past the time that his insulin has been peaking lately by then
I suspect that I'll be getting back to bed after doing the morning routine with Tonka tomorrow. I so need to teach him how to open a can
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top