2/13 Tiger Amps 391, +5 236 Ondenestron question?

Hi Deb, how is Tiger feeling? Is he eating better for you?
I'm hoping the Libre is working ok, too.
Hope you're getting some recovery rest.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, how is Tiger feeling? Is he eating better for you?
I'm hoping the Libre is working ok, too.
Hope you're getting some recovery rest.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks!
Not as good as yesterday but ok. He hasn’t eaten as much and numbers falling a bit more. Of course hubby and I have dentists appts in an hour! Hope he doesn’t fall too much while we’re gone. Just a bit worried. I fed him about an hour ago but he only would eat about a tsp of 14%.
Hope you’re having a great day!
 
Thanks!
Not as good as yesterday but ok. He hasn’t eaten as much and numbers falling a bit more. Of course hubby and I have dentists appts in an hour! Hope he doesn’t fall too much while we’re gone. Just a bit worried. I fed him about an hour ago but he only would eat about a tsp of 14%.
Hope you’re having a great day!
I hope he remains stable while you’re out. At least you can watch him (using the Libre 3 this time??)
Hope he eats for you. Paws crossed :bighug::bighug:
 
Yep nothing to worry about, he started to go up and hasn’t stopped ! I didn’t think there was anyway he could drop much on this dose but he sure acted like it!
 
I’m wondering if I should start cutting back on the Zofran? He’s been on it 5 days x3 a day and is acting less energetic. He’s never been a big energy cat but even less now. Could it be the Zofran?
 
I’m wondering if I should start cutting back on the Zofran? He’s been on it 5 days x3 a day and is acting less energetic. He’s never been a big energy cat but even less now. Could it be the Zofran?
Sleepiness is a side effect of Ondansetron although it doesnt effect all cats. Could be because you are giving 3x a day. You could try cutting back to see if it helps.
 
Sleepiness is a side effect of Ondansetron although it doesnt effect all cats. Could be because you are giving 3x a day. You could try cutting back to see if it helps.
I was thinking that. It seems like a lot but I never used it before. Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I was thinking that. It seems like a lot but I never used it before. Thanks!
Its doesnt have to be given that often, but can. I have a lot of experience with Pancreatitis and run the group Cats with Pancreatitis on Facebook. Its a very familiar drug thats used frequently for Pancreatitis. It has a wide dosing range and can be used every 8-12 hours or even once a day if thats all thats needed.
 
Its doesnt have to be given that often, but can. I have a lot of experience with Pancreatitis and run the group Cats with Pancreatitis on Facebook. Its a very familiar drug thats used frequently for Pancreatitis. It has a wide dosing range and can be used every 8-12 hours or even once a day if thats all thats needed.
It seemed like it was working but now it seems he is more interested in sleeping now.
This is all new to me because before 1/2 of cerenia was keeping his tummy happy. Now vet says he has pancreatitis it appears, with possible IDB. But to confirm they need to do a scope and biopsy. With his bg so high I’m hesitant to do that at this time.

The ultrasound showed his stomach and pancreas looked irritated. Looking at blood test, his numbers actually look pretty good to me but I don’t know what they look at.

He seems to react to drugs easily. Most things the regular dose has been too much for him, ie gabapetin, Mirataz , cerenia etc. which is weird since he is not a small cat, 16 pounds.

Thank you for your help.
 
Ondansetron can even be given four times a day if needed, but I've usually been fine with twice a day dosing, except if quite sick. You can always try lowering the number of times you dose, but you do want to stay ahead of nausea, so it's tricky. If you lower too fast he might get nauseous again.

I see you are giving just 2 mg per dose? For his size, he could easily do a 4 mg pill. He might be under dosed. My 8 lbs cat gets 2 mg and that's the low end for her. Dosing for the oral drug is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat every 6-8 hours. 16lbs is 7.2 kg so he could get 4-8 mg.

Some cats need time to get used to meds. With Neko, it took her 2-3 days before her body got used to new meds, often with higher numbers.

Many cats with IBD or SCL have pancreatitis episodes. Unfortunately you can't use blood work to diagnose IBD or SCL.
 
Ondansetron can even be given four times a day if needed, but I've usually been fine with twice a day dosing, except if quite sick. You can always try lowering the number of times you dose, but you do want to stay ahead of nausea, so it's tricky. If you lower too fast he might get nauseous again.

I see you are giving just 2 mg per dose? For his size, he could easily do a 4 mg pill. He might be under dosed. My 8 lbs cat gets 2 mg and that's the low end for her. Dosing for the oral drug is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat every 6-8 hours. 16lbs is 7.2 kg so he could get 4-8 mg.

Some cats need time to get used to meds. With Neko, it took her 2-3 days before her body got used to new meds, often with higher numbers.

Many cats with IBD or SCL have pancreatitis episodes. Unfortunately you can't use blood work to diagnose IBD or SCL.
If it’s this that’s making him sleepy and kind of out of it, I wouldn’t think I should double it? For example, anytime he’s due for shot or meds, he hides under a chair. Right now he’s laying by my side sleeping. He always knows when it’s time for his meds.
Just doesn’t stay awake for any amount of time….He has been on it for 5 days now so he should be used to it?
Something is off and I am trying to figure out what it could be.
 
Hi Deb, I was wondering same as Wendy, if Tiger could be underdosed on the Ondansetron? Do you know what the dose was that the ER vet clinic gave him? Was he that sleepy when he got the Zofran shots? Does he respond to toppings on his food by chance? My Tiger always liked the crumbs from Pure Bites, FortaFlora and fish flakes. Hope you are more rested, you had such a stressful weekend!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, I was wondering same as Wendy, if Tiger could be underdosed on the Ondansetron? Do you know what the dose was that the ER vet clinic gave him? Was he that sleepy when he got the Zofran shots? Does he respond to toppings on his food by chance? My Tiger always liked the crumbs from Pure Bites, FortaFlora and fish flakes. Hope you are more rested, you had such a stressful weekend!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Ruth! If he’s under dosed then why the sleepiness? It says .5mg/kg IV. On meds given.

He was sleepy but it was almost 1am when we got home and he’d been through a lot, so I thought it was becaus of that. But now it’s been 5 days and he’s still sleepy/out of it except to wake to eat a few bites. Just not normal.

it could be the cerenia. It’s been a long time since he took it every day but it seems we changed it to every other day because of him acting weird. I know he is always more active the day he is due to take it when he has a day in between doses. I just wanted to make sure the ondenestron wasn’t doing it also. If both cause it, that would explain it. We skipped the cerenia for tonight and will see tomorrow. The thing he likes the most is his kibble! He doesn’t like flora flora, not sure about anything else.

I have caught up a bit on sleep! First day with no nap in a while!

Have a great night!
 
I just looked at his release papers from the ER and it says 1/2 to 1 4mg pill. I remember my husband telling the vet we had a pill splitter, so it wasn’t a problem. She said since he hadn’t vomitted again and was also taking cerenia, she thought 1/2 would be enough but if not we could up it. Glad we didn’t have to, between the 2 drugs he really would have been sleepy.
 
Back
Top