2/13 Sox amps 446 increased

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
Well Sox has been hanging out in the 300 range so today he is getting 1 unit. He did start off with .5u and 5 days later he went to .75 and 3 days with little movement he got another increased. I hope I am doing this the right way he is eating great 4-5 small meals a day only can pate, Friskies dried chicken for treats.....My sister is doing an awesome job on the testing and giving him his insulin I am so proud of her. He seems to have his nadir at +8 so far but may have been on his way back up. He did come down to 168 +8 but then by +12 he was in the 326 . Oh well test and test we will get there. He is very active and everything is working .....Tons of healing green light to all Sugar babies and their beans ......Kath & Trey ♥
 
You were probably a bit quick on the increase, from the sticky:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Still being new to blue numbers you probably should have held a little longer, it also looks like the bounce from the last blue may be breaking with the good drop at +2 so I'd get a couple of extra tests in today.
 
Hi Kath

Glad to see your sister is grabbing those tests especially that mid cycle at night...that gives us a ton of info. Great job!

Even though it might have been better to hold a little longer on the 0.75u dosd, Sox just dipped his toes in blue. I'd hold the 1u six cycles and reassess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top