2/13 Max AMPS 143/138 (no shot), PMPS 173/164 (no shot)

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Very Active Member
Good morning. I've got another low AMPS, 143, probably from the .3u last night. Seems like same thing happened yesterday morning with the .3u Friday night. I'll re-check in 1/2 hour. If it's going up, which I expect it will, any thoughts on how up before I shoot the .2u? Trying to get us back on an earlier schedule, since I need to leave at 7:30am week days. I know 1 BG Curve does not a pattern make, but, based on yesterday's curve and AMPS of 193, Max's nadir was 153. Hopefully, once I get some more experience with Max the lower AMPS won't have me scratching my head so much (and stressed).
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

OOOOOh, your first green! What a pretty color.

So, to me, your number this am looks like Max is not a very bouncy cat. He didn't bounce back into high numbers from the green. And he seems to surf a long time in nice numbers. Both very good things.

So you want to be sure he is heading up not down this morning. Test again in 30 minutes. If he gets near that 200, you want to do your .2 again? Or do you want to go down a smidgeon - like a fat .1

I don't know how this will work with his feeding schedule, but if he is going to throw you morning numbers below 200 when you need to head out the door, there are people who do a test early in the am - like +10 or +11. Then with the pmps, they are sure he is heading up.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

So Sue, if she’d test at +10 or 11 early, would you feed the cat after the +10 test, then do an amps before you shoot and are on your way out the door?
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

No you wouldn't feed after a +10 or +11 test. The +11 test is to tell you if your PS is a rising #. If you feed your PS # would be food spike.

Holly, great numbers. I agree with Sue, if you get around 200 I would go with .1u or a fat .1u.

While your curve yesterday was all beautiful blue it was flattish which indicates too much insulin. Also trying the smidge lower dose today will let you test it so you will know what kind of curve this dose will give you and then you will have more information on doses going into the work week.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143, re-check 138 - Thoughts?

Max seems to be holding steady with the 143 at the re-check. He's having a good breakfast tho (couldn't hold him off longer) so will re-check again in 1/2 hour. I may go with the .1u as he's low-ish this morning. I can spot check before and after church. Still learning so it's good to know that a flattish curve may mean too much.

I like the idea of a +10 or +11 in the morning so I know he's on the way up. Unfortunately, I am lame and still need help to test Max and no one wants to be up at the crack of dawn but me. I got Max's +4.5 reading last night on my own, but it was a bit of an ordeal. I tried clipping his scruff like someone suggested and that did seem to relax him, also wrapped him in a blanket, but he was still a pill about holding still. He has been getting slightly better with testing tho and he loves his treat, treat (smidge of tuna or chicken). So paws crossed the testing will get better.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

Great numbers. The testing WILL get easier. And you will be able to do it on your own. Hard to believe, but that's what happens when the kitty has such a dedicated bean.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

I don't know if you've heard this before or not but if Max has a working Pancrease his bg's will go down after eating.

In a kitty with a damaged P food will spike their bg's.

So your next test will be very telling.

Don't worry, the testing gets easier and easier, he will come around. Once they start feeling better they realize you are helping them.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143 - Thoughts?

Testing gets easier but I know sometimes it’s tough if you have a hungry boy in the morning. My partner Tom is usually here and we get amps together. If I have to do it myself, I find it easier to have Asher on the floor between my knees and that way he (mostly) holds still until I can get his ear warm and get the test.

Someone here early on (I forget who, sorry) told me to hold a pill bottle filled with warm water behind his ear when doing the poke. That has worked the best for us, esp since we heat with wood and it’s pretty cold in here early in the morning. I heat the water in the microwave for 18 seconds, bottle without lid on while heating obviously. Cold ears won’t bleed but the warm pill bottle does the trick. It’s also easy to clean.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143, re-check 138, 2+ 162 (no shot)

Decided to skip morning injection since Max was only 162 two hours later (1 hr after breakfast). I'll spot check during the day. It will be interesting to see what his PMPS will be tonight.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143, re-check 138, 2+ 162 (no shot)

Can't wait to see what his PMPS is. Those are such nice numbers!
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143, re-check 138, 2+ 162 (no shot)

Very nice! If he gets above your no-shoot you may want to try feeding him instead of giving a shot and seeing if he brings things down on his own. If you do that, I'd feed, then test after a couple hours. If the # is still above your no-shoot then you give the insulin, if it has dropped, he may not need it. This isn't for most cats, just for those on micro-doses who probably have a working pancreas, and for when it works well in your schedule to try something like that, and then only if the #s are still blue. Once you get to yellows, most cats will need help getting down from there. Sorry if others have said this and I repeated!
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143, re-check 138, 2+ 162 (no shot)

Also just wanted to mention (to confuse things! :-D ) that a flattish curve can also be a sign of too little insulin. I often judge by the ending +12 - if it is flattish and drops towards the end, that can be from too much insulin, vs. flattish but rises towards the end, that is often from too little insulin. To some extent it is guesswork, and learning your cat's patterns.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143/138 (no shot), +2 162, +6 121, +10 141

Thanks for the advice Joanna. I'm still learning and soaking it all up, while trying to get to know what Max is doing. Just took his +10 number and got 141. I fed Max right after the test, so I"ll see what his PMPS is. I'm assuming I'll stick with the advice from earlier today: if Max creeps up to 200, consider .1u. Will be very interesting to see what the PMPS will be after the small meal he just had. Paws crossed.
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143/138 (no shot), +2 162, +6 121, +10 141

PMPS was 173. Looks like we are creeping up. I'll re-check in a half hour and decide about the .1u. Hmm.

AMPS 143, +1/2 138 (no shot), +2 162, +6 121, +10 141, PMPS 173
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143/138 (no shot), PMPS 173

Great numbers. Have you been able to be aware of when he is eating and then test 30 min or so after? If is pancreas is working his numbers will drop after eating. This is looking so good!
 
Re: 2/13 Max AMPS 143/138 (no shot), PMPS 173

Good to know Judy, thank you. The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know. I've been loosely aware of Max's eating today, at least in the morning and evening (was gone mid-day). He ate about an hour before the +2 reading and about 2 hours before the PMPS. I re-checked Max's PMPS 50 min later and it was holding steady at 164. Feeding Max right now and will test in half hour just to see.

Tested Max half hour after he ate. He went up to 180. About 1 1/2 hrs after eating he went down to 166.
 
It is great news that he came down after eating - indicates that you have a pancreas that is starting to work again.

So now it gets tricky. You want to support that pancreas without getting into numbers that are too low. 40 -120 are non diabetic numbers. Your 140 - 160 is still diabetic.

I think you have two choices. You can continue to feed the small frequent meals and test and see if he continues to go up and down but with a downward trend. I think if you don't see numbers in the lower 100 range without insulin in a few days, you will need to intervene.

If you are feeling brave and are going to be home, you can try a droplet at 160 or so. If you get to that point, we have a thread where someone describes how to do that literal drop of insulin. You will need to test and be ready to react to possible low numbers, but it could be enough to shock his system down into non diabetic numbers completely. This second option is something you can choose to do when you want, if you want.

This is the scariest part of this sugar dance, next to the first horrible couple of days. It is a balancing act. You don't want to overstress that pancreas that is trying to work, but you don't want to overdose him either.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top