2/12 Tigger AMBG 58, 60!

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Can not stall long enough to bring this low a number up. Feeding (+a bit of gravy) and skipping.
Am I messing this guy up too much? The miss, the bounce, clearly it was breaking though last night when he was 242 at +4 that usually means he's not going UNDER 100 . . . but I guess not when a bounce is breaking. Should I have been able to see that? What danger is he in today since we both have to go to work . . . I assume without insulin he won't go any lower but . . . . . i had to feed him cause I don't have much time to get the number up.
 
You have to do what you need to in order to keep Tigger safe. He will get back on track. Can you leave some extra food out for him just to be safe?
 
Make sure you reduce tonight if you are still using a pet meter. Congrats!

Are you still testing for ketones? I see numbers in the comments section, but not sure if that means ketones. If that 0.8 is for ketones yesterday, grab another test as soon as you get home.
 
242 at +4 that usually means he's not going UNDER 100 .
Yeah it didn't look like he was going to pull this number, but I always try and follow up a large drop like that with a test an hour later, or even 30min later) it might have shown you where he was heading. Of course he might only have dropped at the end of the cycle.
The numbers can some times get a bit wonky when we skip doses as the depot has to resettle so it can make it difficult to predict what they are going to do.

I would continue to monitor those ketones they've been slightly higher yesterday when BG was high after the FS. No need to panic but do monitor as they can increase quickly.
Here's a thread discussing blood ketoneshttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ositive-for-ketones-need-help.99426/#p1062829
Post number 20 by gill has a couple of links to studies and the following info
kirsten of tillydiabetes.com was kind enough to email two of the latest scientific studies concerning measurement of ketones when using a blood ketone meter. these studies provide an up-to-date interpretation of when a blood ketone concentration of DKA is more likely to be present: 2.4 and 2.55.

As long as Tigger is well, eating enough, not lethargic, then I wouldn't be panicking, but do keep a close eye on them or the apperance of any symptoms. I take it Tigger has never had DKA as it's not on the signature?
Symptoms to look out for especially while he is throwing some ketones/apparent increase to his normal
Signs of Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA) (taken from the linkhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/)

    • Drinking excessive amounts of water OR no water
    • Excessive urination
    • Diminished activity
    • Not eating for over 12 hours
    • Vomiting
    • Lethargy and depression
    • Weakness
    • Breathing very fast
    • Dehydration
    • Ketone odor on breath (smells like nail-polish remover or fruit)
 
I guess so! And always on a day I really can't call in. Someone is home all day tomorrow thank goodness.

The literature on the ketones, as far as I understand it, implies that ketones wont really show up on a urine dipstick at levels greater than trace until the blood meter readings hit about 2.4. In further research and multiple home testings 15 min apart, the numbers seem a little arbitrary. It's my guess that like a variance in BG numbers on the same meter (20% difference considered in range I think it is) there is a +/- a few tenths difference allowable on the ketone meter. A 0.6 is actually no different than a 0.8. I've spent quite a bit of $ triple checking to test the theory, and indeed he'll get a reading of 0.3, 0.9, then 0.6. All of which the papers say are really just "negative" on a dip stick. Its a shame vets wont use the meters or launch a wider experiment to see how accurate they can be, relying instead on the urine sticks which have to reach certain levels in the blood (2.4 or so) just to show up in the urine. Or, how ever they put it "not likely" to show up until then. I wish I could check with the pee sticks too though, Tigger just really is NOT having it. Can someone confirm I am understanding the research right?

I did recheck them tonight and got 0.9. It's hard not to see that as an increase from yesterday but we'll have to wait and see what he gets tomorrow. As for Tigger, he was pretty normal tonight, if not even more playful since we got him the new toy (big fuzzy snakey on a stick) - he usually gets kittenish like that when hes low, not high!
 
Can someone confirm I am understanding the research right?
The links above basically say what you've just said.
I did recheck them tonight and got 0.9. It's hard not to see that as an increase from yesterday but we'll have to wait and see what he gets tomorrow. As for Tigger, he was pretty normal tonight, if not even more playful since we got him the new toy (big fuzzy snakey on a stick) - he usually gets kittenish like that when hes low, not high!
Just watch for trends. If he's eating, playing, and all seems well then it is less concerning. If anything seemed off then I would be more concerned.

I just wish he hadn't thrown you that lime green yesterday morning, with no one being home......
 
Back
Top