2/12 Snuggles AMPS242/198+3/155+4.5/137+6.5/141+7.5/162+9/PMPS166/210+1.75/227+3/237+5.5/187+7.5

Morning Sandy, Snuggles did very good last night :cat: Try and remember not to forget to put in the remarks section of your SS when you fed Snuggles her snacks for yesterday, only if you can remember in case you are experimenting with when to feed her them. I know you must be tired :cat:
 
Last edited:
Could I get some advice? I am not really sure when to give Snuggles snacks..and how much..1 teaspoon, 2 teaspoons. I’ve been splitting up her breakfast due to her gobbling it down and she vomited a few times (may have been sensitivity to beef also) 1Tbsp LC @ AMPS and 1Tbsp LC @+1…same with PMPS. What other times should I feed her? I give her a few tsp of food around +3 +5 and +7..and she eats good. On workdays I leave between +3 & +3.5.. and she won’t eat for hubby and the cat feeder is a no go. Suggestions on those days also ? Thank you! @Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Omg..I checked Snuggles BS…was 32. Then I rechecked each ear again..it was 137 and 144…imagine me when I saw the 32 and how my fear since the beginning of her diagnosis has been of her being hypo with me always asking so many questions on the forum. My hubby yelled “WHAT”..check it again! Anyway, she’s ornery as ever..but just had to share. :nailbiting: @Diane Tyler's Mom @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Suzanne & Darcy
Good job at getting another test, You must have had a panic attack .
 
Could I get some advice? I am not really sure when to give Snuggles snacks..and how much..1 teaspoon, 2 teaspoons. I’ve been splitting up her breakfast due to her gobbling it down and she vomited a few times (may have been sensitivity to beef also) 1Tbsp LC @ AMPS and 1Tbsp LC @+1…same with PMPS. What other times should I feed her? I give her a few tsp of food around +3 +5 and +7..and she eats good. On workdays I leave between +3 & +3.5.. and she won’t eat for hubby and the cat feeder is a no go. Suggestions on those days also ? Thank you! @Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom
I can't help you out with that sorry, let's see what the other members say, if you don't get a response in a couple tag them again
 
Could I get some advice? I am not really sure when to give Snuggles snacks..and how much..1 teaspoon, 2 teaspoons. I’ve been splitting up her breakfast due to her gobbling it down and she vomited a few times (may have been sensitivity to beef also) 1Tbsp LC @ AMPS and 1Tbsp LC @+1…same with PMPS. What other times should I feed her? I give her a few tsp of food around +3 +5 and +7..and she eats good. On workdays I leave between +3 & +3.5.. and she won’t eat for hubby and the cat feeder is a no go. Suggestions on those days also ? Thank you! @Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom
Could I get some advice? I am not really sure when to give Snuggles snacks..and how much..1 teaspoon, 2 teaspoons. I’ve been splitting up her breakfast due to her gobbling it down and she vomited a few times (may have been sensitivity to beef also) 1Tbsp LC @ AMPS and 1Tbsp LC @+1…same with PMPS. What other times should I feed her? I give her a few tsp of food around +3 +5 and +7..and she eats good. On workdays I leave between +3 & +3.5.. and she won’t eat forhubby and the cat feeder is a no go. Suggestions on those days also ? Thank you!

@Suzanne & Darcy


@Wendy&Neko


@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


@tiffmaxee


@Bandit's Mom


@Bron and Sheba (GA)


@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Awh thanks @sandysh66! I will pass along your compliment to Ethan too once he wakes up from his snooze-fest :cat:.

Snuggles looks adorable and she has such beautiful markings!

When we first started (pre-FDMB) Ethan's vet recommended the Libre. He didn't mind wearing it actually, and it was helpful to get a sense of his tendencies in the early days. But it did have some limitations- it tended to not give a reading when the BG was moving fast (for Ethan this happened pretty regularly and often around AMPS and PMPS and +1/+2) and also the sensor tended to quit working after 8-9 days! We're now on the quest to improve at home testing to get the needed daily tests in for TR.

FWIW, we have found that Ethan does not handle beef well either...two separate brands of foods with beef have made him vomit spectacularly.

I hope someone can jump in to offer some tips for Snuggles' snacks!
 
Awh thanks @sandysh66! I will pass along your compliment to Ethan too once he wakes up from his snooze-fest :cat:.

Snuggles looks adorable and she has such beautiful markings!

When we first started (pre-FDMB) Ethan's vet recommended the Libre. He didn't mind wearing it actually, and it was helpful to get a sense of his tendencies in the early days. But it did have some limitations- it tended to not give a reading when the BG was moving fast (for Ethan this happened pretty regularly and often around AMPS and PMPS and +1/+2) and also the sensor tended to quit working after 8-9 days! We're now on the quest to improve at home testing to get the needed daily tests in for TR.

FWIW, we have found that Ethan does not handle beef well either...two separate brands of foods with beef have made him vomit spectacularly.

I hope someone can jump in to offer some tips for Snuggles' snacks!
It’s a work in progress with Snuggles. My mom passed away last year and I always told her I would take Snuggles if anything happened to her(which unexpectedly did). So I brought Snuggles on an 8 hour trip which was quite the experience (the furthest she had been in a car was max 5 minutes away from my mom’s house to the vet’s). The mouse in the picture is Snuggles baby..my mom even had to sew it because that’s Snuggles comfort mouse..when I go to work she has her mouse and cries as soon as I walk out the door. So heartbreaking for me. I’m so glad I found this forum because the vet’s office is no help…and no one in the area..at least 2 hour drive anyway..is accepting new patients. My anxiety is through the roof..exhausted worrying if her BS is going to drop too low when I’m at work. How are you handling everything? @Erin Ethan
 
I'm sorry to hear of your mom's passing, that is a tough journey for you and Snuggles :bighug:. Snuggles is very lucky to have you to care for her, and it must have brought such a great comfort to your mom knowing that you would take Snuggles in.

It's so sweet that she has her mouse 'baby'! I've also had to stitch up the favored mice. They pick out their favorite toys for life...and the other toys mostly collect dust lol.

Have you tried 'cat TV' videos for when you have to leave the house? Two of our cats don't seem to care much about them, but Ethan does seem to be entertained with the bird and mouse sounds. It is so hard to leave when they want you to stay and play mousie...I've left the house late to many an event because the cats were doing something cute on the way out the door :rolleyes:.

Sorry to hear you're in a bind re: vet options...hopefully a spot will open up soon with a more helpful vet. Is there one you would prefer if you had your pick? This forum has been indispensable for the 'real-world experience' and most of all an understanding of what you're going through (anxiety about the BG dropping or going through the roof, testing woes, juggling shot times, and all the worries that come along with FD).

I've also had a lot of anxiety, sleepless nights (last night included), and tears shed for Ethan, but we're hanging in there thanks to everyone's help and encouragement. Every small victory feels like a major win these days!
 
I'm sorry to hear of your mom's passing, that is a tough journey for you and Snuggles :bighug:. Snuggles is very lucky to have you to care for her, and it must have brought such a great comfort to your mom knowing that you would take Snuggles in.

It's so sweet that she has her mouse 'baby'! I've also had to stitch up the favored mice. They pick out their favorite toys for life...and the other toys mostly collect dust lol.

Have you tried 'cat TV' videos for when you have to leave the house? Two of our cats don't seem to care much about them, but Ethan does seem to be entertained with the bird and mouse sounds. It is so hard to leave when they want you to stay and play mousie...I've left the house late to many an event because the cats were doing something cute on the way out the door :rolleyes:.

Sorry to hear you're in a bind re: vet options...hopefully a spot will open up soon with a more helpful vet. Is there one you would prefer if you had your pick? This forum has been indispensable for the 'real-world experience' and most of all an understanding of what you're going through (anxiety about the BG dropping or going through the roof, testing woes, juggling shot times, and all the worries that come along with FD).

I've also had a lot of anxiety, sleepless nights (last night included), and tears shed for Ethan, but we're hanging in there thanks to everyone's help and encouragement. Every small victory feels like a major win these days!
Thank you for the kind words. How is Ethan doing today? @Erin Ethan
 
Today's a good day! Thanks for asking :). 2 tests in so far...mostly smooth.

He had major zoomies/playtime in the morning, and was asking pets after his +2 test.

I hope Snuggles is doing well? Looks like her #s are pretty stable so far? Sorry if your question re: snacks got lost in the discussion!
 
Today's a good day! Thanks for asking :). 2 tests in so far...mostly smooth.

He had major zoomies/playtime in the morning, and was asking pets after his +2 test.

I hope Snuggles is doing well? Looks like her #s are pretty stable so far? Sorry if your question re: snacks got lost in the discussion!
It’s ok..Snuggles is doing good. She’s in her happy place which is laying on a plastic bag! It’s a bag that was brought back from my mom’s house..so I’m thinking she smells that familiar smell. If that makes sense. I’m glad the testing is good smooth..I won’t jinx it. For quite a while it took two of us to test..luckily I can do it myself now..but still need two for the shot..she just won’t stay still for me…work in progress. :cat: @Erin Ethan
 
I tended to keep snacks at a couple teaspoons and made sure I fed all by +6 unless Max was needing food to keep his bg in range. Just remember if heading to low territory you want to try and keep her hungry so she will eat the snacks as late in the cycle as needed. Use honey as a last resort. Does this help?
 
I tended to keep snacks at a couple teaspoons and made sure I fed all by +6 unless Max was needing food to keep his bg in range. Just remember if heading to low territory you want to try and keep her hungry so she will eat the snacks as late in the cycle as needed. Use honey as a last resort. Does this help?
How many snacks? I feed her a few Tbsp of LC food for at AMPS and PMPS. I’m just confused where to go from there with food for both cycles. Like how many snacks per cycle besides main meals? What is considered “low territory “? It seems like when I’m in the kitchen she’s always looking at me like are you bringing me food? Also, if I feed a snack at +3 when will that affect the BS number? Or +6 will reflect when on the BS number? I guess I need help understanding when I’m feeding Snugs at a given time how long it takes to influence the BS? I’m sorry for being so confused! @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Now I am confused. Are you free feeding dry and just giving a little wet at shot time? So lc is just for snacks? I fed. Meal at amps and pmps and snacks in between. By low I mean if green and going down and you need to feed the curve. It takes 20-30 minutes for food to influence the bg.
 
Now I am confused. Are you free feeding dry and just giving a little wet at shot time? So lc is just for snacks? I fed. Meal at amps and pmps and snacks in between. By low I mean if green and going down and you need to feed the curve. It takes 20-30 minutes for food to influence the bg.
She is on all LC wet. No dry food. I give Snuggles 2Tbsp of LC wet for her main meals. Then I have been giving her 2tsp of LC wet for snacks at random times. I guess I’m asking if the LC wet snacks should be given at set times and consistently given at those times each day as in a set schedule with snacks. She really seems to be extra hungry around +10 but I hold off because of food influencing the numbers. What exactly is feeding the curve? If any numbers are in the green then that’s only where feeding the curve comes in? That’s where most of my confusion comes in. @tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top