2/12 Neko AMPS 94 +6.5 136 +9 96 PMPS 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday Neko found her greenios again.

2/11 Recap
AMPS 81:D +6 138 +9.5 79:D
PMPS 113 +5.5 192

I got the "I'm green momma - feed me NOW" yell again this morning. Nothing like inhaling fuds to calm her down. We had a good shot and acupressure session then "bowling with excavators" started up behind us again. Neko is getting more used to the noise. Me - not so much. :mad: I offered Neko the chance at a daddybean lap, but it was no go. Instead, she decided to snooze on the rug nearby with her head on a pillow of nanners.

I got lost last night in some Think Tank threads that Carl had bumped up recently. This one was particularly interesting. I liked this quote by Steve and Jock:
I'm most interested in Kirsten's reply, because she brings up an important related issue -- that it's much easier (with Levemir or Lantus) to maintain a cat in euglycemic ranges (say, 75-160 or so), than to maintain them at some randomly chosen range that scares some people less. Blood sugar simply seems to get more stable (in the non-complicated kitties) when you keep it near normal.

So it's not at all a matter of tug-of-war between overdosing and underdosing. It's a matter of overcoming fear of the 'normal' blood sugar ranges, because those are the stable ones. People who see "68" and panic and lower the dose next time are doing themselves no favour, because it's way harder for most diabetic cats to get regulated between 150-250 than it is between 75-150, but you won't know this until you try. This is, as Kirsten says, because hyperglycemia stresses the pancreas and makes regulation hard.
I've noticed with Neko that if she gets a dose where her nadirs are in the 70's, she's much more stable.
 
Yay green!
I like that quote too..... that's what I compare to keeping the lid on the pot..... those of us who have flexibility when numbers are low have an easier time keeping the lid on......
but those who can't be there for the lows..... don't want to gamble.....
and I don't blame them.....
but I credit it for how I did it.
 
Nice start for Neko today. It is better for a kitty to be in those numbers, but it is hard if you can't be home to make sure they don't go low.
 
I got myself lost in those think tanks the other day too - most interesting stuff!

Neko is looking great :D apparently daddybean not so much since the lap was not acceptable teeheehee
 
That quote hits the nail on the head. Thanks for citing it, Wendy.

So the kitties are getting used to the noise, but the beans are not. That's because cats can "turn off" stuff they don't like. Nice numbers for Neko today. Rusty is just a little up on the shore at the moment and may join her in the lagoon later.

Have a good--quiet--evening

Ella & Rusty
 
I had also seen that quote and it is a good one! I must say though, if I was still working full time, I would be a lot more afraid to shoot green and leave to go to work! :nailbiting:

Beautiful Seahawk colors for Miss Neko today! :D:cool:
 
OK, Polly. Read that quote. Learn that quote. Now, how 'bout cooperating so we can test that quote! (Tough to believe staying in those numbers, especially at PS, can work...at first. Gets easier and I hope I get more practice!)

Neko's looking good! That's good.

Marilyn and Polly
 
I like a kitty who knows what she wants and insists upon it:):). Funny how she does that when she's green....and she's a perfect green!

Another great day for her. I'm glad the excavators aren't causing her BG to go up. I'm sure it would make my BP rise!

Great quote...thanks for finding it and posting it.
 
Neko got her daddybean lap later in the afternoon. She decided she wanted up there just as we were thinking about going and picking up my car from servicing. :rolleyes: We are such pushovers for her. Excavator knocked off early at 1:30. :cool: Late this afternoon our neighbour to the side told us that when the trees were cut/brush removed in the corner behind us and them, some rats moved into their roof and we should watch out for them too. :arghh::arghh:

@ Rhiannon, Carla, Serryn, Ella, Marilyn, Ruth, Liz, Marje - Neko seems to have found her magic dose again where she spends most of her time under renal threshold (antijinx). Course it could all change tomorrow. That quote seems to describe what I have found for Neko, even though the acromegaly does make her complicated. I liked that Think Tank note because there were some great quotes from Steve (Jock was the first ever kitty on Levemir) and Kirsten (co-author of TR).
 
So you have a rat invasion to look forward to? Dose that neighbor know you have two fierce cats that will defend the home to the death? (Right, Neko and Theo? Neko? Theo? Hello?)

Cinco sometimes tells me when he's green. Sometimes I think he's telling me he's green and he's really telling me he just went poo. I need an advanced course in Feline Communication. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top