Yesterday Neko found her greenios again.
2/11 Recap
AMPS 81
+6 138 +9.5 79
PMPS 113 +5.5 192
I got the "I'm green momma - feed me NOW" yell again this morning. Nothing like inhaling fuds to calm her down. We had a good shot and acupressure session then "bowling with excavators" started up behind us again. Neko is getting more used to the noise. Me - not so much.
I offered Neko the chance at a daddybean lap, but it was no go. Instead, she decided to snooze on the rug nearby with her head on a pillow of nanners.
I got lost last night in some Think Tank threads that Carl had bumped up recently. This one was particularly interesting. I liked this quote by Steve and Jock:
2/11 Recap
AMPS 81
PMPS 113 +5.5 192
I got the "I'm green momma - feed me NOW" yell again this morning. Nothing like inhaling fuds to calm her down. We had a good shot and acupressure session then "bowling with excavators" started up behind us again. Neko is getting more used to the noise. Me - not so much.
I got lost last night in some Think Tank threads that Carl had bumped up recently. This one was particularly interesting. I liked this quote by Steve and Jock:
I've noticed with Neko that if she gets a dose where her nadirs are in the 70's, she's much more stable.I'm most interested in Kirsten's reply, because she brings up an important related issue -- that it's much easier (with Levemir or Lantus) to maintain a cat in euglycemic ranges (say, 75-160 or so), than to maintain them at some randomly chosen range that scares some people less. Blood sugar simply seems to get more stable (in the non-complicated kitties) when you keep it near normal.
So it's not at all a matter of tug-of-war between overdosing and underdosing. It's a matter of overcoming fear of the 'normal' blood sugar ranges, because those are the stable ones. People who see "68" and panic and lower the dose next time are doing themselves no favour, because it's way harder for most diabetic cats to get regulated between 150-250 than it is between 75-150, but you won't know this until you try. This is, as Kirsten says, because hyperglycemia stresses the pancreas and makes regulation hard.

