2/12 Loudogg AMPS 47/42 No shot +5.5 199 PMPS 396 - Reduction earned

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
February 10, 2019 Condo

Good morning all,
Lou's earned a reduction to 3.25u last night by having his 3rd BG in the 40s on this dose. And to make it all that much more interesting, the jerk couldn't resist going back to visit the sharks this morning at AMPS, so I wasn't able to give him his insulin. :facepalm: Normally I wouldn't care too much, but he was just in the 500s, I really didn't want to skip and have him go high again, but what do you do? I still waited the 20 minutes to recheck him, and as per his usual, he went down instead of coming back up. In all that fun I ended up being late to work (it of course snowed overnight, so it was slow going). :rolleyes:

So needless to say, his cycle last night came out of nowhere. I ended up falling asleep on the couch early and didn't check a +3 or +4 like I would normally, although I told Caleb to feed him (even though he still hadn't finished his PS meal). I'm still surprised that he dropped so fast. I'm excited that he's earned a reduction after so long at 3.5u. I hope he holds it!

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How long has Lou been diabetic? If he's coming up on 1 year, maybe you can do the long-term diabetic guidelines... 1x under 40 or 3x under 50 to earn a reduction if he's not holding reductions well? It can be applied to cats who don't hold reductions well before their 1 year anniversary as well.
 
How long has Lou been diabetic? If he's coming up on 1 year, maybe you can do the long-term diabetic guidelines... 1x under 40 or 3x under 50 to earn a reduction if he's not holding reductions well? It can be applied to cats who don't hold reductions well before their 1 year anniversary as well.
Lou's been diabetic for 1.5 years now. We decrease if he's gone 1x under 40 or 3x under 50. It was originally just decreasing after 1x under 40 per the long-term diabetic guidelines, but I found the more BGs in the 40s he had, the more I'd itch to decrease anyway, so I started following both ideals for my peace of mind. He only started failing reductions in the last 6 months or so. Not all the time, but I suppose that comes with the territory having an IAA kitty (or just an FD cat in general, haha).
 
he was just in the 500s

Don't you wonder where 500 came from? He was bouncing in Pink ,then out of now where 500! It drives me crazy when they're doing good for so long then such a High #!

Ravan didn't have Pink for 16 cycles.Now he's over 400 I do NOT understand it!!

Sending you Positive thoughts that the reduction sticks & Lou keeps doing well :):bighug:
energy.jpg
 
How long has Lou been diabetic? If he's coming up on 1 year, maybe you can do the long-term diabetic guidelines... 1x under 40 or 3x under 50 to earn a reduction if he's not holding reductions well? It can be applied to cats who don't hold reductions well before their 1 year anniversary as well.

Yeah, like Luci :( Never could hold a reduction :(
 
Back
Top