2/12 Indy AMPS - 113 +1 - 55 +1.75 - 39 +2 - 50 +5 -98

Yeah, that's a big dive, signaling that this might be an active cycle for Indy. A few tsps of MC or HC will hopefully bump him up. Tell hubby not to feed too much as you want Indy to remain hungry in case you need him to eat later to keep numbers elevated. You probably know this, but just in case.

Keep it safe, Indy!!
 
Yeah, that's a big dive, signaling that this might be an active cycle for Indy. A few tsps of MC or HC will hopefully bump him up. Tell hubby not to feed too much as you want Indy to remain hungry in case you need him to eat later to keep numbers elevated. You probably know this, but just in case.

Keep it safe, Indy!!
When we say active cycle, what does that mean?

Also, we have to feed him his current LC food mixed with Karo syrup or his IBD goes crazy. Don't want to interfere with that unless we have to since I know the Karo syrup is not long lasting. He is currently holding between 52 and 55.
 
When we say active cycle, what does that mean?

Also, we have to feed him his current LC food mixed with Karo syrup or his IBD goes crazy. Don't want to interfere with that unless we have to since I know the Karo syrup is not long lasting. He is currently holding between 52 and 55.
Active cycle means that he might be going to be experiencing some lower numbers.

The Karo is fine mixed into his food. I've even dabbed it on Jude's nose, and he'll lick it off. Since these lower numbers are new for him, I'm guessing you are experimenting with how much Karo to give him. Usually people start with drops--like maybe a few drops mixed into a tsp of food and then test again in 20 mins. to see what kind of a bump that gives him. Give more as needed. Remember: once the Karo boosts his numbers, it is going to be short lasting in his system, so you want to keep an eye on him so that once it has waned from his system, he doesn't drop back down again.

He earned a dose reduction with that 46.
 
When we say active cycle, what does that mean?

Also, we have to feed him his current LC food mixed with Karo syrup or his IBD goes crazy. Don't want to interfere with that unless we have to since I know the Karo syrup is not long lasting. He is currently holding between 52 and 55.
Active cycle means he is giving you some lower BG that may require your attention to keep him safe.

Do you reduce based on the Libre or on a blood test?
 
Having hubby try to confirm his numbers with an ear prick....will see if Indy will let him. But yeah, looks like back to .75u for us.

Libre is now saying LO which means under 40....
 
Jessica, I'm noticing that the numbers on the ss keep going down; it's really helpful if you' stack' the numbers in one cell so that anyone looking at the ss can tell what's happening. If you don't know how to do that, I can show you; just let me know.

When did you last feed the Karo and how much?
 
Indy is not showing any symptoms. He is back up to 50. Had some of his LC food with a bit of Karo about 25 mins ago.

Sorry, I'm still at work. Hubby is the one taking care of him.
 
Indy is not showing any symptoms. He is back up to 50. Had some of his LC food with a bit of Karo about 25 mins ago.

Sorry, I'm still at work. Hubby is the one taking care of him.
I would ask hubby to be sure to give him a bit more food + Karo and continue testing. 50 is still a lower number, and I'd feel more comfortable (if it were Jude) getting him bumped up a bit.
 
I completely understand the stress--been there/done that. But try not to overthink or regret the decision to increase. There was no indication from his nadirs that there wasn't room for an increase. Diabetic cats can just drop into lower numbers from time to time (Jude was 54 last night). Indy is a bit unusual because of his IBD and the fact that he can't eat the longer-acting MC/HC food. But for right now, the Karo is keeping him boosted, which is good. How much did Indy eat today following his AM shot? Sometimes if they don't eat much, their insulin will drop.

You're doing a great job with him!

Keep us posted.

Edited to add: and hubby is doing a great job, too!
 
He ate a good portion of his food (all of his freeze dried chicken of course). That's why we are just giving him straight karo, since he free feeds. I wasn't too worried about the 50s....but that 39? Heck no! Not dealing with that kind of stress in my life. He is holding at 53. Hubby has a meeting in 15 minutes, so giving him a little more karo to try and give us a buffer. Nice part about the libre is that we can see how is numbers are holding at least.

Hubby just reported out that his AM food bowl is almost empty. So guess he is falling under the ravenous hunger symptom but nothing else.
 
His 6 month senior check up is tomorrow. Of course, the stinker has stopped coughing. We started running an air purifier in the living room and washed his bed. Hopefully, it was allergies.

His number went up. He is at 169 at +10. Happily sleeping in his heated bed.
 
Back
Top