2/12 Cali +11: 77, +12: 123, PMPS: 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member Since 2011
We've increased the dose to 2.0 recently and seen a variety of numbers. This is the highest we've gone yet with the dose but it appears to be making some sort of a difference. My guess is the 400 numbers are bounces there. We just tested and got a GREEN number, which is crazy. Trying to not get too excited--we've gotten green before and then not again for a LOOOONG time. I'm going to stay tight at this dose for a bit to give any possible bounces time to clear.

We will try to keep testing this evening--my best is that we'll be back in the 300's shortly and I would have gotten all excited over nothing :(

Spreadsheet below for reference
 
Re: 2/12 Cali PMPS: 77 (OMG!)

Becca: I'm assuming you shot it right? Just want to be sure. And we'd appreciate you getting the +1 and +2 as Sienne suggested and posting so we can help you. Thanks so much.

Go Cali!!!! YAY!
 
Re: 2/12 Cali PMPS: 77 (OMG!)

That was about an hour before her pre-shot. Her true pre-shot was 123. We will test again around 8-8:30.

We haven't had a low pre-shot number like this before--what is the protocol for giving her a shot based on these numbers?
 
Re: 2/12 Cali PMPS: 77 (OMG!)

Ok...can you please change the subject line to +11 77. So did you shoot the 123? I'm not clear if you have or if you are stalling and plan to retest 8-8:30 and then shoot.

If you haven't shot...do you have lots of HC food/gravy, test strips, and are you able to monitor her through the night if necessary? 123 is a good, safe number to shoot but you have to be able to monitor her closely starting with a +1 and +2. Also....it really does help us when you keep your subject line updated so we can see at a glance exactly what she is doing when.

Thanks, Becca.

Also...if you did shoot, great. Please let me know what you mean by the protocol for shooting that. We have you get a +1 and a +2 is the first step if you did shoot. I'm standing by. Thank you.
 
Re: 2/12 Cali +11: 77, PMPS: 123 (OMG!)

I updated the subject line. We did not give her insulin yet. By "protocol", I am basically asking what to do in this situation. We will be testing again in about 20 minutes for her +2. If she has gone up more, we will likely give her a dose and continue to monitor as much as we can. Her +6 is going to be around 2:30 and we can try to set alarms but with our jobs it could be difficult. If we are looking at a mandatory hourly check-in, I'm not sure that is realistic this evening.
 
Re: 2/12 Cali +11: 77, PMPS: 123 (OMG!)

Ok...thank you. So if you have not shot, you just keep adding on the hours. If you are two hours past shot time, then it would be +11 77 +14 123.

I'm not sure you have done yourself any favors by stalling because you have to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. Because we weren't clear whether you had shot or not, we were not able to advise you of this. So if you are already two hours late and if you are continuing to stall, then that means you will have to shoot close to 2-1/2 hours later tomorrow morning then you normally shoot..that is not possible for you to shoot that late and get to work is it?

Please let me know if you can shoot that late tomorrow. If you can't, then at this point you can either give her a token dose or skip her shot. While we normally don't stall and shoot a token dose (also called a BCS dose), in this case, you could at least get some insulin in her. But you will need to be sure you check her at +2 and/or before you go to bed and then at +6.

In the future, we need to know in your subject line if you are stalling so we can better advise you of your options.

Please let me know what you'd like to do.....I'm still here for you.

ETA: if you give her a token dose, you still have to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight minus 15 minutes. You can make up the stalled time in 15 min increments each cycle or 30 mins one cycle a day.
 
I fixed the subject line.

We did just give her her shot, and she is not 2+ hours over. It is maybe 1 hour and we can give her her shot 1 hour later tomorrow, if needed. We will keep testing this evening.

Please understand that these low numbers are new--so I shouldn''t expected to know everything about how to deal with this.
 
Becca:

Thanks....I'm glad you shot the 158. I'm still not clear where you are with shot time. Here's what you said earlier:
We will be testing again in about 20 minutes for her +2.

I understood the above to mean that was two hours after when you normally shoot which is what a +2 is.

If you could please tell me the exact time that your normal shot time is and the exact time that you actually shot, then I can do a schedule for you for how to get her back to her regular time. We don't just shoot an hour early to make up the time. I'm happy to help you with that if you give me the times above.

We are here to help you with low numbers but the stickys are there for you to read and educate yourself and there are ones for dealing with low preshots. It's also linked in my signature block. We know that when a new member gets the first low PS number, it's nerve wracking and it helps to have someone walk through it with you. That's, in part, why we're here as a forum. But if we don't know what you're doing, it makes it difficult to figure out how to best help you.

I read your posts over and over trying to figure out if you had shot, how long you were stalling, etc. Those are things you could easily tell us.

Thanks, Becca. I'll look for the info. Please be sure you get a +2 test for her (that is two hours from the time you shot) and post it so we can watch out to be sure all is ok.
 
Cali typically gets her shot between 7:30-7:45. She got her shot tonight at 8:45.

I will be testing at 9:45 and 10:45.
 
Great. Thank you for that info.

So you can choose one of two schedules:
tomorrow AMPS shoot at 8:30
tomorrow PMPS shoot at 8:15
Tues AMPS shoot at 8:00
Tues PMPS shoot at 7:45
Wed AMPS shoot at 7:30

OR
tomorrow PMPS shoot at 8:15
Tues PMPS shoot at 7:45
Wed AMPS shoot at 7:30

Thanks for getting the +1 and +2. I'll look for them. You shot full dose, right?

On your SS, in the +11 column you can put "77 @ 11; 123 @ 12" and in the PMPS column you can put "158 @ +13.25" if you normally shoot at 7:30 (more than at 7:45). That way we'll know you stalled about an hour.

Any questions or anything I can help you with right now? Good shooting!!!
 
Re: 2/12 Cali +11: 77, +12: 123, PMPS: 158, +2: 250

Just tested her at +1 and she was 250.
 
What a nice surprise to see that green!

Is there a possibility that you can get a curve (testing every 2 hrs) or a mini-curve (testing every 3 hours) on a weekend or a day when you're not working? While trying to fill in the gaps on your SS by testing at random times is good, I'm not sure I could comfortably say when Cali's onset and nadir are. This is important as you're not starting to see Cali in lower numbers.

Just so you understand the convention on times, we don't call a shot a PMPS (or AMPS) unless you've actually given the shot at that time. Otherwise, the hours are numbered like on your spreadsheet. If you are stalling or are skipping a shot, you keep counting (i.e., +13, +14 all the way up to +24 or the +24 would be your next pre-shot). (And just to confuse things even further, sometimes, if you are skipping or you have a cat that's on an OTJ trial, you have an AM/PMBG vs. an AM/PMPS.) We keep the numbering this way so we can tell whether or not you've given a shot.
 
+2 reading was 292.

Doing the best we can with testing. It's been a busy few months so even if we aren't working, we aren't necessarily at home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top