2/11 TOM....LOW AMPS

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

amps 90.
fed 3 hours ago...he threw up his ENTIRE meal 20 minutes later.
shoot?
can i give him a small bite to eat to see if he'll hold it down.
he's very hungry and making it known.
 
Yes you can feed him now.

Are you the cautious or the bold type?

If bold, shoot him now. If cautious (as I would be), test in another hour and decide on shooting then, or shoot a slightly reduced dose (1.5-1.75U) now.
 
I know if you feed him he will likely go down. But how much he will go down when he already is 90 is unknown. The last few food dips have seemed to be less when he is lower.

Also, it looks like he doesn't hold his food dips too long; that is, they are gone by the time the Levemir would onset.
 
+12.5 87 just fed a small amount now. he's starving. now food for 12.5 hours since he did'nt hold down his +9 breakfast. to shoot or not to shoot..he's basically holding the same #.
how can something so wonderful be such a freakin headache!
 
ok, here's what happens when you don't feed a tom. front door is open, the patio is sun baked, tom does'nt go far and ALWAYS comes when called. he is hungry...i come out of the bathroom and he is at the door EATTIN a lizard. normally he just catches them and never eats them...this one he was going to town on. i grabbed a can of food opened it in front of him and he went for it like a kitty with the munchies! just took out what's left of lizard...blood on the white rug by the door.
+13 number is coming up in moments with food on board..aiy yi yi!
i'm just a bad mom ok...my cat is out of control and running the show. i am a bad mom.
 
lori and tom said:
+12.5 87 just fed a small amount now. he's starving. now food for 12.5 hours since he did'nt hold down his +9 breakfast. to shoot or not to shoot..he's basically holding the same #.
how can something so wonderful be such a freakin headache!


Hi Lori,

My cat's lawyer, Wendell, will be contacting your cat to discuss the delicate matter of who the real Tom™ is. In the meantime, I am not sure the fuss is justified about the 90, though for sure it should get your attention -- I'd go with Venita, and shoot a delayed 1.5 (since you haven't seen green numbers before). Even 1.25 if you are really nervous. Personally, I just love those and would not want to chase them away with too much rattling and changing.

Good luck!

Ilkka
 
Thank you Ilka, I love it too! but being 4 years of pz brain it rattles my mind to shoot low's.
the schooling takes a while to unlearn!

Your Attorney is free to speak to our Attornies , the team at "BOSTON LEGAL" who handles most of Tom's legal affairs.
I will warn you that, as Tom says in his signature, he does'nt mind being messed with. It " makes his day'

I went ahead and boldly went where no pz user has gone before and shot a big fat brave 1.75 into a +13 91.
I will be gone for +2 thru +5 and I hope I will get a few eyes if we are low.
Altho I do know how to handle a hypo and I do know this hypo will be different...
I have honey, syrup and 1 can of 18 carb gravy ff.
I also have dry kibble for duration.

Wish us luck on this journey!
 
Perhaps you should print these out or bookmark them since most people are not on the Board when you're shooting:
Dealing with low preshots
Managing low numbers

I would not have been among those suggesting that you shoot and then disappear from +2 to +5. Whenever someone is shooting the lower than they have previously shot, we ask that you get a +1 and +2 and decide on what additional testing is needed. I believe Miriam mentioned this yesterday. I also believe that it's been mentioned that you either need to give less insulin to keep Tom out of low numbers if you can't test or you need to be available to test in order to keep him safe. Shooting low and not testing is not a good plan.
 
Hi: I hope you left out lots of food for tom. Usually when we shoot low numbers we monitor at +1, 2 and 3. Since you are not going to be there it is a little concerning. Also, please remember since you shot late this morning you will need to shoot 12 hours from the a.m. shot. I know from reading your posts you are not home Friday evening. Please keep us posted on Tom's numbers.

Also, if you would put your numbers in your initial post and add to it Tom can be followed much easier.

Example, date, Cat's name, AMBG #, + hour and new number. Posting low amps does not really tell anyone much and if you are looking for help a number would.

Have a good day.
 
I wonder what a lizard tastes like ohmygod_smile
That made my day.. hilarious, Lori! Tom is a real hunter, huh? Geez :lol:
Congrats on the BG of 90.. very good to see your Hoover in healthy, healing #s!
Enjoy Friday at the Temple ;-)
 
Sienne not only did i give less insulin but i caught a +2...155.
please...i'm not totally reckless.
 
Hi Barbara! nice to see you. Unfortunatly tomtom is not a cat you leave A LOT of food out for as he will eat it all in one sitting---and that's just not good for anyone.
I caught his +2 and felt safe.
As for his condo...there are already so many condo's here and I'm not planning on practicing a strict german protocol so I hoped I could just stop by when I had a question. Tom's SS pretty much says it all..kwim?

And dear sweet Nicole :-D I'm guessing the lizard does not taste too good as tom never eats it like he would a bird :cry: or a mousie :cry: but my Tom will not be denied a meal that is due to him...I think he proved his point this morning :lol:

Just hope those on board with me will stay and those who think I'm a stupie or being defiant will understand. I'm not one to give up sleep or my life...and I would'nt do that to Tom either. I admire the ones here that do...but it's not our lifestyle. I won't be waiting for 40's to decrease a dose and such.
Hope you understand and are not angry with me the mom...i know your not angy with tomtom.
 
[quoteHi Barbara! nice to see you. Unfortunatly tomtom is not a cat you leave A LOT of food out for as he will eat it all in one sitting---and that's just not good for anyone.
I caught his +2 and felt safe.
As for his condo...there are already so many condo's here and I'm not planning on practicing a strict german protocol so I hoped I could just stop by when I had a question. Tom's SS pretty much says it all..kwim?

...

Just hope those on board with me will stay and those who think I'm a stupie or being defiant will understand. I'm not one to give up sleep or my life...and I would'nt do that to Tom either. I admire the ones here that do...but it's not our lifestyle. I won't be waiting for 40's to decrease a dose and such.
Hope you understand and are not angry with me the mom...i know your not angy with tomtom.Tom's Spreadsheet

Hi Lori: Perhaps a timed feeder would work for tom. That way your life won't be disrupted and tom can't eat it all at once.
I was concerned because I don't think +2 is his nadir and we don't know how much or when he would have dropped and you have always stated food made him go down.

The reason for posting in the accepted format here is it is easy for people who assist with questions can view the header and know what is going on without reading through the whole thread or checking the ss. Just less time consuming.

I'm sorry if you feel I am being unfair to ask you to follow the format for posting in LL. With such a large forum we need to have some rules or it would be chaos.

As for giving up my life and sleep, yes, I did that, with a very difficult kitty to manage and thanks to LL and the guidance I received and the hand holding through the night, Tuffy is OTJ after 2 1/2 years. I also managed to work full time and take care of my horses. I could not have done that without LL and the fantastic people here. Bless this forum.
 
no +2 is not his nader but it was suggested as a guideline. he was on the rise. are you suggesting i stay here all day and test even when i see he is on the rise?
i knew i'd be home for his nader.
god i can't win for losing here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top