2/11 TAZ, AMPS-394, +4-396, +7-470, PMPS-448, +2-441

Good luck with the increase. I know it can be difficult to see higher numbers, let's hope all you need is a little nudge to get Taz back on track. Unfortunately this can happen when doses are held too long, that can lead to glucose toxicity. What that means is that the kitty just get a little too comfy in higher numbers, and they start to treat those higher numbers as the new normal. It takes increasing the dose to break through.
 
I'm really hoping it will help. I would have increased his insulin a couple of days ago but I ordered U-40 needles instead of U-100 and had to wait until the right ones arrived.

When they become comfortable with higher numbers, will more insulin usually bring that comfort zone back down to lower numbers? I feel really bad because I didn't fully understand the SLGS method. I think it was just so much information to take in when he was diagnosed last month that I was having a hard time processing everything. I feel horrible about it now though because we held the dose too long. To make matters worse, I sent his numbers to his vet today and the vet told me to still hold the dose (I'm not) because he was still seeing the 100s a couple of days ago.
 
It may take an increase or two to get them back to better ranges, only Taz knows what he's got planned. Don't feel bad, it takes time to understand everything, and you aren't the first one who has held the dose perhaps a wee bit too long. Truth be told, I've done it in the past too :)
 
It may take an increase or two to get them back to better ranges, only Taz knows what he's got planned. Don't feel bad, it takes time to understand everything, and you aren't the first one who has held the dose perhaps a wee bit too long. Truth be told, I've done it in the past too :)

I'm just so scared I'm going to do something wrong, like send him into hypoglycemia or make it so he doesn't respond to insulin at all. :(
 
I'm just so scared I'm going to do something wrong, like send him into hypoglycemia or make it so he doesn't respond to insulin at all. :(
Just remember that testing is your friend. It takes time to learn how your kitty responds to carbs and insulin, which is why so many of us are data-focused. And, one of the common phrases here is that this is a marathon, not a sprint. I've seen many people over the years here also not quite understand that insulin is a hormone, not a drug, and many things can influence how it is metabolized, which is why insulin needs can (and do) change.
 
I know it is scary but I promise it gets easier and soon you find yourself chasing numbers below 100;)

It doesnt seem like it now but it gets easier. You have to know that you know what's best you are the one at home testing and giving insulin not the vet. You are the one that sees his behavior eating habits etc... if you follow the advice of the wise ppl here I promise taz will feel better and you will feel better too!

Vets dont like cats in lower numbers even though they're much safer and healthier for the cat because they dont expect nor think the owners are capable of home testing. I'm sure your vet is a very nice person and kind and caring...so is mine but the advice I was given was the same as yours and when I let it go and listened to the ppl here my Little Man finally is playful and active again. So much so I ended up giving a partial fur shot yesterday cause he wanted to go play LOL
 
It's so hard because Taz wasn't feeling very good yesterday, so we gave some Bupe last night and he's much more like himself today. I think he might also be experiencing a bit of constipation because his poops are larger harder chunks now instead of normal poops. But I know that when they eat more protein, that's normal because they don't have all the fillers from dry anymore and the protein stays in the digestive track longer. He also gets tummy acid (indigestion) and throws up clear fluid occasionally before his breakfast. Not to mention, I'm sure he needs dental work (March 7th as long as bloodwork comes back normal) and I don't know what's going on with those pancreatic cysts. He's got a lot going on and it sucks that he can't tell me what hurts or how he's feeling. :(
 
Vets dont like cats in lower numbers even though they're much safer and healthier for the cat because they dont expect nor think the owners are capable of home testing. I'm sure your vet is a very nice person and kind and caring...so is mine but the advice I was given was the same as yours and when I let it go and listened to the ppl here my Little Man finally is playful and active again.

He told me to leave things the way they are for now and to watch for increased thirst and urination, and noticeable weightloss. I'm trying to prevent those things, not wait until they happen!
 
It's so hard because Taz wasn't feeling very good yesterday, so we gave some Bupe last night and he's much more like himself today. I think he might also be experiencing a bit of constipation because his poops are larger harder chunks now instead of normal poops. But I know that when they eat more protein, that's normal because they don't have all the fillers from dry anymore and the protein stays in the digestive track longer. He also gets tummy acid (indigestion) and throws up clear fluid occasionally before his breakfast. Not to mention, I'm sure he needs dental work (March 7th as long as bloodwork comes back normal) and I don't know what's going on with those pancreatic cysts. He's got a lot going on and it sucks that he can't tell me what hurts or how he's feeling. :(
I know he has a lot going on. To me that's all the more reason to follow either slgs or tr. Sending hugs and love!:bighug::bighug:

I dont want to be pushy I really dont just know how well it's worked for us and all the others I see here. I want anyone who has a diabetic cat to know how great this place is and how great these members are;)
 
They all
He told me to leave things the way they are for now and to watch for increased thirst and urination, and noticeable weightloss. I'm trying to prevent those things, not wait until they happen!

Exactly!

they all say this...like I said vets dont think we are capable of testing and making decisions for ourselves.
 
We all just do the best we can, don't be so hard on yourself :bighug: . Always a good idea to watch for the five Ps, peeing pooping, preening, playing and purring. The other thing, if you aren't doing so already, is to monitor for ketones at home, particularly since I see in your signature there is history there.

Some people use a blood meter, or Ketostix (these require you catch a pee sample) . Might be worth getting some to have on hand so you can test regularly. Some of us can sneak up on the cat while they are using the LB, there are some other tips here:

Tips for Catching Urine
 
He told me to leave things the way they are for now and to watch for increased thirst and urination, and noticeable weightloss. I'm trying to prevent those things, not wait until they happen!
The problem with this in general is the cat will be what we call over renal threshold. That value can vary depending on the cat, but my understanding, depending on the source, that's around 200-250 mg/dl (lab values). When kitties are over renal threshold that means sugars are being dumped in the urine and that puts extra strain on the kidneys.
 
The other thing, if you aren't doing so already, is to monitor for ketones at home, particularly since I see in your signature there is history there.

Some people use a blood meter, or Ketostix (these require you catch a pee sample) . Might be worth getting some to have on hand so you can test regularly. Some of us can sneak up on the cat while they are using the LB, there are some other tips here:

Tips for Catching Urine

I'm not sure how I'd do this. He usually saves his pee and goes maybe 3 times daily. And it's usually when I'm not home. :facepalm: We also use clumping litter and he has a little sister that uses the same potty box. I'll read through that again and see if maybe I can work something out. In the rare event that he enters the potty box, he hears its coming and jumps out the second we go anywhere near it (we live in a mobile home and have noisy floors). In 14 years, I have never watched him potty.

The problem with this in general is the cat will be what we call over renal threshold. That value can vary depending on the cat, but my understanding, depending on the source, that's around 200-250 mg/dl (lab values). When kitties are over renal threshold that means sugars are being dumped in the urine and that puts extra strain on the kidneys.

I am definately wanting to save his kidneys. We've had several cats who have had kidney disease and I don't want that for Taz.
 
When catching the pee samples proves difficult for whatever reason, you can also try the blood ketone meter. The two I recall off the top of my head are the NovaMax Plus and Precision Xtra. The strips I believe are quite pricey, but something to think about with a kitty who has history of ketones.

I've had a couple of kitties with kidney disease too :(. It's always in the back of my mind.
 
Good job!

I have some special reading glasses to help magnify my view of the lines ;). The other thing you can try is take up a little extra, like maybe 1.5u where you can see the mid-line, then what I do is I open my fridge and hold the syringe up using the light of the fridge as my backdrop, and gently turn (squeeze) out the insulin until I get between the 1U and 1.5U lines. I am very high-tech lol
 
I DID IT! I just gave him 1.25. Or at least I hope I did! It is soooo hard to tell on the syringes. And I looked on both the whole unit syringe and the half unit syringe, to see which would be easier. It's impossible to tell on either of them! :nailbiting:

Yay! Great job!

Half unit syringes are way easier to dose the .25. I like @Christie & Maverick idea...I totally use my reading glasses and extra kitchen light!
 
I don't have a problem seeing teeny tiny lines, but it's impossible making sure that I'm in the middle of them. How on earth do I make sure it's the same amount each time? Lol
 
I don't have a problem seeing teeny tiny lines, but it's impossible making sure that I'm in the middle of them. How on earth do I make sure it's the same amount each time? Lol
The only way to have it the exact same each and every time is to use calipers. I dont use. Lots of others here do. I want too but just havent gone there yet. Dont let that stress you out though. It is still good doing what you're doing. One hurdle at a time
 
Back
Top