2/11 Rusty AMPS 214, +5.5 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://208.131.143.77/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88770&sid=f46d57b0162b2c422a934b97311fd903

Good Morning, Everyone,

Finally a good shot this morning! It was an ouchie and Rusty started to pull away. Still, it all got in. I think I have lost my touch! Rusty has not been happy with his shots lately, and he has been trying to avoid his tests. I tell him that if he wants not to have these things, he should work on going OTJ :lol: .
I am tired of not having a refrigerator. The new one won't come for another week. The compact 'fridge is working pretty well, but we are about to have a warm spell and I'm afraid that I won't be able to keep the stuff that had been in the freezer compartment of the old 'fridge frozen. Up until now I have been able to re-freeze the cold blocks on the unheated porch. I am finally satisfied that the compact 'fridge is keeping temperatures that are safe for the insulin and plan to put the insulin in it this morning.

I have to call the vet this morning to postpone Rusty's chest x ray for a few more days. I want to get him back into his normal numbers before subjecting him to another trip to the vet and messing him up all over again (4 fur shots/partial fur shots in the last week or so have taken their toll). I also have to find out if he can have insulin and food before the x ray. She said he would be sedated and I am wondering if that means anesthesia. I'm not so sure I want this right now! His breathing sounds like his "normal" breathing to me. On the other hand, he has lost about 1/2 lb. and the blood work and urinalysis don't show any reason for the weight loss. (I think he's tired of his choice of foods.)

Hope all is well in LL and sending healing vines to all of our kitties and beans who need them,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Morning you guys....Raja has been getting impatient with me and shooting too. She walks away and I think it's cause she wants to get on with the food part of the routine. She always has such a good appetitie and I am so thankful for that. But I hate it when she walks away from the needle...so I know what you are going through...
Sorry about the inconvenience of having no refrigerator....in the "old days" people used to bury things in the snow. Hoping this week goes quickly for you....and that you will have your new fridge in no time!

Sending hugs to you all there....good luck with the decision about the xray.... (I feel as if Shadow is bored with the usual selection of foods too...and he too has lost weight.) Sigh...
Keep up the good work Ella...
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Thanks for the pep talk, Pat!

I just talked to the vet and postponed until next Tuesday. We don't have to withhold insulin or food. Just do our normal schedule and routine. I feel much better. Now I have a whole week to get Rusty back on track!!
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

I can so relate to all you wrote about today. sorry for the needle issues,... been there too. Some days Mannie just doesn't want to go there, especially since he has been sick. I can so relate to the food thing too. I think they just tire of the same ole food.... It's a guessing game every morning here - which one today? He eats well, once i find one he wants. perhaps Rusty is just tired of what has been his fuds for so long... that seems to be the case with Mannie. oh yes on the weight thing. Mannie lost 1.6 lbs with the P'titis. and we struggle with getting it back, even though the p'titis is "over". His loss was all fuds related, as he just wouldn't eat most things, etc.... Good luck with finding new fuds for Rusty. It's tough to find ones they like that are good for FD kitties...

I hope your new frig comes soon. That is never fun. Good luck with it all....

good idea I think to postpone Rusty's xray. that one hit home... i have to take things so slow with Mannie, one new thing at a time, or we have problems - BG wise, health wise. one vetty trip can mess things up alot, and new procedures, or med? another thing that messes him up. It all takes its toll, whether it is vetty trips, or missed shots, or.... good decision I think to wait, since it doesn't seem to be urgent, until one aspect is back under control. Wish you luck. Keep up the good work, I know how sometimes it can be such a challenge.

and Rusty - think blue, 'K? then green.

have a great day Ella - I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Good morning Ella. Glad to hear Rusty won't have fast or skip his shot for the x-ray next week. You sure are having your share of bumps on the road this month. Is the delay in the arrival of your new refrigerator due the demand caused by hurricane Sandy? Have you thought of putting a large piece of block ice or dry ice in your broken fridge? It might keep things frozen if they are placed close to the ice and the door not opened much.

Fingers crossed that Rusty sees the lagoon today. Have a great day Ella.
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Good news that you were able to postpone the x-ray, and even better news that he won't have to fast. Fasting our furkids is never ever fun. Trix has been really jumpy with her shots lately, too...the kind of jumpy where she whips her had around and tries to bite me :o ! Then I'm able to find a spot that doesn't seem to bother her at all, even though it's about a quarter inch from the jump spot. I think these kitties just luv to keep us beans guessing.

I hope you're able to find a different fuds that gets Rusty excited. And I hope you get a happy surprise of your fridge being earlier than expected!!! Have a great day, Ella!
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Good idea to slow things up w/ the X-ray. I'm glad the shot went well today too!

Tess seems to be allergic to beef too. She does the same thing as Rusty, love it and eats it all up and then barfs! :? She really likes venison and has no problem keeping that down. Nature's Variety has venison too and I think a few others.

Rusty, who's watching the lagoon if you are up here w/ the rest of us??? Wow on the Carnival last night! Awesome!!! But today we need warmth! How about visiting Raja and Shadow in FL? -- Tess
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Morning guys glad you get to postpone the appt. I am sure you will be able to get Rusty back on track. Sorry about the shot problems but glad you were able to get a good one today. I hate the shot part honestly but luckily Scrabble is pretty good about it. Have a great rest of the day!!
 
Re: 2/11 Rusty AMPS 214

Muffin's been doing the same thing lately with some of her shots. She cries. It breaks my heart. I really don't know what I'm doing differently those times, unless it's just like Amy said and it's just a "wrong" spot. Glad you were able to postpone Rusty's xray - these are definitely not Rusty numbers! I go thru the same thing with my cats tiring of their fuds, but just the civvies, so finding something they will eat is much easier without FD in the mix. Thank goodness Muffin only likes one kind! :lol:
 
Sorry about the past fur shots. It seems I have company in that. :roll: It just takes a while to get them back rolling again into good numbers.

I'm glad you don't have to fast Rusty for his X-ray. My Buster (GA) had a chest X-Ray and he was so good they didn't have to sedate. It depends on the cat and how they behave at vetty. For Neko's echo they didn't sedate either. They have a nice bed for them to lie on so it's not a stressful process.

Good luck on the continuing fuds hunt. Venison can be a good alternative for cats allergic to beef. The other possibility is lamb, but I don't know who offers canned lamb.

Yuck on the fridge! Back in the day, some farming relatives of mine used to put food in a waterproof container in a stream to keep it cool. The best story I heard was putting cream in a small crock pot, forgetting about it for a while, then finding it had turned to ice cream!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top