2/11 Missy AMPS 308 +2 229 +5 175 +9 6.2 PMPS 85 +1 83 +2.5 40 +3.5 65 +5 56

DanaB

Member Since 2020
yesterdays post

:(
Missy has a very slight limp this morning in her back end. Im not sure if its neuropathy or she hurt herself. She has never had neuropathy before. She does not like her feet touched, so injured or not she gets pretty aggressive.
I gave her a b12 shot about 2 weeks ago, but hadn't given her any before that in a while. They were for an IBD cat but my vet said I could use for both if I felt she needed it. So I guess I will do a B12 shot a week for the next 4 weeks then once a month JIC. I will also start her on TriActa joint support.

She also peed in my other kitties bed. Not sure if its a UTI type thing or if she didnt want to go all the way to the litter box. It was a BIG pee. She has never had any UTIs or anything but I have delt with it in other kitties.... she is not doing the typical stuff. There is a small chance that she is straining to stand or pee because it looks like she stood up part way. Im a pee spatter expert LOL!
Im going to leave an empty litter box with a puppy pad in it near her bed in hopes that she will use that next time.
Next vet visit she will have full bloodwork done. She is not showing the typical signs for kidney issues... but with her age and long term diabetes Im a little worried.
 
I’d see the vet sooner than later. If she does have a UTI you dint want it to reach the kidneys. Why was B12 suggested? Why would she need it? She’s likely peeing more due to her higher numbers. That could be due to infection or that more insulin was needed. I hope she feels better today.
 
I’d see the vet sooner than later. If she does have a UTI you dint want it to reach the kidneys. Why was B12 suggested? Why would she need it?
I got the B12 for my IBD Cat.... but I asked my vet if i could use it for Missy as well if needed. She has started showing signs of weekness in the past couple of months... but im not sure if its muscle loss, arthritis related or neuropathy.

The only thing that seems different with Missy in the past few weeks is that she is pacing a lot. She is much more active then usual. Just walking circles around the couch, and back and forth on my window sills. I though maybe it was because she seems to get ancy when her BG drops and it alwasy seem to dive. But when she is low she usually stays at her bowl.

Edited to say she is restless... thats probably the best word to describe her change in behaviour.
 
I’d check her thyroid. How long since last labs?

about 2 years since last bloodwork. Ive been planning on going but I wanted to take Rufus to get his teeth checked at the same time. (its kind of a long drive) But Rufus is horrible in the car apparently, (vomiting, diarrhea, drooling, panting, crying) With his past owner and vet there had been some very poor choices made with his travel arrangements. So For weeks ive been working with him to see if there is a way they he wont be so stressed.
But I guess at this point I might just plan to go ahead with just Missy.
 
about 2 years since last bloodwork. Ive been planning on going but I wanted to take Rufus to get his teeth checked at the same time. (its kind of a long drive) But Rufus is horrible in the car apparently, (vomiting, diarrhea, drooling, panting, crying) With his past owner and vet there had been some very poor choices made with his travel arrangements. So For weeks ive been working with him to see if there is a way they he wont be so stressed.
But I guess at this point I might just plan to go ahead with just Missy.

Just saw her have a good bowl movement and a good pee; good stream, good size (not too big or small), good colour.
Im going to see if the vet can take us next week for a check up and Bloodwork.
 
PM :eek: - I think MY cats diabetes is broken....not in the way I want it to be:banghead:
I assume she will keep dropping then bounce.:(
 
Last edited:
That 83 at +1 meant no food bump so an active cycle!

Since she is a long term diabetic, she earns a reduction by dropping below 40. You would hold the dose since she didn't.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation.
 
Yep. You caught her just in time! I’m glad you did because I don’t think a decrease would stick. Did d you feed her a little higher carbs at +1? Like Bhooma said she didn’t get a food bump so that’s why a lithe higher carbs would have been a good idea
 
Pm +2.5 ... gave HC... she is doing ok. Im feeling helpless.
I have a vet appointment next Tuesday for a senior bloodwork panel.
That 83 at +1 meant no food bump so an active cycle!

Since she is a long term diabetic, she earns a reduction by dropping below 40. You would hold the dose since she didn't.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation.

I feel like I should drop to a Fat 0.75. She has always done best around 0.5-0.75, and this was really early in her cycle. OR.. I can try keeping her at this dose and fed her Medium carbs at 0.5-+1
 
Yep. You caught her just in time! I’m glad you did because I don’t think a decrease would stick. Did d you feed her a little higher carbs at +1? Like Bhooma said she didn’t get a food bump so that’s why a lithe higher carbs would have been a good idea

She was not hanging around her bowl at +1 like normal when she is going low... I did get her to eat some low carb. but since she didnt drop too much at +1 I figured LC was ok.
 
Max would ask for food when low a lot except for when he didn’t. She dropped too much because she only got lc.
 
Im feeling helpless.
Some cats just like to be more unpredictable. :bighug:

She was clearing a bounce (nadir at the end of the cycle) and didn't get a food bump at +1 which means she was continuing to go lower. So a test at +2 and some higher carbs would have prevented the dip to 50. Not criticizing you - just letting you know what you can do next time.

There is extra downward momentum in bounce clearing cycles and reductions earned then, often do not stick.
 
Some cats just like to be more unpredictable. :bighug:

She was clearing a bounce (nadir at the end of the cycle) and didn't get a food bump at +1 which means she was continuing to go lower. So a test at +2 and some higher carbs would have prevented the dip to 50. Not criticizing you - just letting you know what you can do next time.

There is extra downward momentum in bounce clearing cycles and reductions earned then, often do not stick.

Im still trying to figure out what a dive looks like numbers wise... and when to give the food bump. for the past 2 weeks Ive been giving a little more carbs once between+0.5-2 and she has been staying high. The reason I didnt give a food bump today is because I didnt think she was dropping fast since she only went from 85 at PS to 83 @+1. I checked her to see if I should feed LC or MC... then I figured LC was good because there want much of a change. :confused::bookworm:
She always gets fed at 0.5, +1 and +2
 
Last edited:
I gave some Medium carb at +5 since I NEED SLEEP. She also has frozen 4% out and some freeze dried in a timer every couple of hours.
Usually her nadir is around +5 but since she is coming out of a bounce I'm a bit nervous with her only being at 56.
 
I gave some Medium carb at +5 since I NEED SLEEP. She also has frozen 4% out and some freeze dried in a timer every couple of hours.
Usually her nadir is around +5 but since she is coming out of a bounce I'm a bit nervous with her only being at 56.
Was the last higher carb she had HC at +2.5? Nothing after that? If she hasn't dropped lower after 2 hours of HC she should be okay. Plus the MC you fed now should keep her safe and it is later in the cycle. Nadirs can be later in a bounce breaking cycle.
 
Was the last higher carb she had HC at +2.5? Nothing after that? If she hasn't dropped lower after 2 hours of HC she should be okay. Plus the MC you fed now should keep her safe and it is later in the cycle. Nadirs can be later in a bounce breaking cycle.

SHe had the HC at 2.5 then just LC a few times (she is a grazer unles I put freeze dried on it). Its just weird that her +5 was lower then her +3.5. Usually once her BG starts going up it continues up.
 
Back
Top