2/11 Harley PMPS 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I have not posted in a while but have to get back on the horse here. Need help with Harley. Although he is doing well, need better control with bg. He hovers around 2.5u fat to 2.5u skinny and I need HELP with his dose. I know he is bouncing so the question is - do I go up in dose or down in dose.

The ss is up to date but I have lost a lot of data due to the meter malfunction. I now have a new one that seems to be working well.

So, will the experts take a look and give me some advice. Thanks

Pattie
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60056
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

Hi there ~O)

Bummer about the meter - ugh. FWIW, I always used a steno pad to record BGs, meals etc. and from there I would fill in my ss.
One page for each day, one line per hour.

What, how much and when is Harley eating these days?

I really can't see, from recent data on the ss, what he may be bouncing from.
Are you able to do a curve this weekend?
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

Well, I have been lax with Harley - that is why I have come back for help. I now have paper by the bed to record his bg and the time - this is working well.

He is eating much more - vet wanted him to go up to 3 cans of FF (285 calories) instead of the 2 cans he has been on. With the cost of the FF, I have gone to Friskies Special Diet. On Binky's chart, it still is between 4-5% carbs but phosphorus is low (which I like). He is eating about 1.5 to 2 cans of this a day. Calories will be slightly above the 285. Harley looks good and is acting well.

Have not caught him at the LB lately so do not know about ketones but he is not acting like he has them. The only difference in Harley is, he seems to be sleeping a bit more (not a lot) and he is very vocal after he eats. Sometimes I wonder if he gets a little upset stomach after eating.

Have not had the auto feeder up and running as of late. Started that again on Thursday to see if I can level off the bg numbers.

Will be able to do a curve tomorrow. Will be interested to see how that happens.

Pattie
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

Hey Pattie!

Over the last several weeks, I don't see any bouncing. If it were me, I'd increase the dose. It may be that you're holding on to the dose overly long. I'd think about going back to following the protocol and evaluating the dose after 6 cycles.
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

That makes sense Sienne. I will re-read the protocol (I really have gotten lax) and start over.

Pattie
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

hi pattie - life happens . . . it's good to see you, though. hopefully harley will get back with the program very quickly!
 
Re: 2/11 Harley AMPS 399 - expert eyes please

HEY, GUYS!!

Good to see you!

looks like you got your answers...
so just a hello to you from the QUEEN of lax ;-) :-D
 
I did go up a bit on the dose. From 2.5 fat to a true 2.75. Little nervous since he is a little lower tonight. Hopefully getting him back on track will help him.

Pattie
 
Grab an early cycle test -
(Harley does have a diving history ;-) )

If you are nervous about overnight, put your timed feeder to work.
Keep the insulin steady and use food strategically to guide the numbers if needed.

Stick with it Pattie and use the TR protocol as your guide. It may take a little time to get him on track.
 
I'm glad you increased. He hasn't had any green since at the first of February, so it's time to increase. I agree that it looks like a good time to go back to the protocol to get him back on track. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top