2/11 Harley and Hadley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
HaRley
AMPS=228, Shot 1.2u, +6=219, PMPS=316, Shot 1.2u, +4=82


HaDley
AMPS=125, Shot a skinny 0.5u, +3.5=83, +6=52 (fed lunch), +8=94, +10=101 (food bump?), PMPS=109, Shot 0.2u, +4=76



Thanks Sheila and Vicky for your replies in my 2/9 and 2/10 threads. I did read them and need to go back and re-read again, especially Beau's SS. Sorry I didn't reply yesterday it's been a hellacious 2 days work-wise and I'm exhausted when I come home. I leave in 1 week for a week long business trip where I'm working a major tradeshow in New Orleans over Mardi Gras. I will be sooooo glad once that's over! Can you tell I'm not a party animal?
 
Yay, I was hoping you were just busy (and not sick or worse)!

If I recall correctly you set a no shoot of 130-135 and then only shot like 0.05u or 0.1u. Not sure if I can do 0.05u maybe 0.1u will be as low as I can go with my eyesight. But how did you know when to shoot and when to let him ride?
Trying to answer this from yesterday's thread...

I found Beau's do not shoot number by trial and error. Every time he dropped below 50 I reduced the dose by .1u (.3u --> .2u --> .1u). Then, when he dropped low again I went to .05u (if you can do that, great). After that I started skipping shots because I found that if I gave even .05u on a PS below about 130 he dropped too low. Based on that I knew I could not shoot below the given number so I would wait and retest in the evening and shoot when he got above the number and then I always skipped the next morning if it was less that 11 hrs or something (I have to check his SS myself :roll: ). In the morning, when I was going to work, I just skipped the shot if he was below his do not shoot number. You can see on his SS, there was about a week of "random" shots - given or skipped or shot "as needed" (when he rose to a shootable number).

I think it helped me to see the numbers that my sitter got while I was gone a few weeks before he went OTJ because I had the numbers and could see that he could bring himself down from numbers I would have shot it I had been there. My sitter was too scared to give any insulin because of Beau's habit of dropping low from fairly high numbers. I mean, I had always read that with these insulin's you shoot low to stay low, but there was no way I could do that with Beau and without me there it was better to be safe than sorry.

Eventually, you start stringing together 24-36 hrs without a shot and then you are doing the 14 day OTJ trial! nailbite_smile (knock wood / anti jinx).

Let me know if you have trouble with the "drops" system of getting mico doses. It does take practice. And magnifying reader glasses. I wear progressive trifocal glasses and I can see better close up with them off or with just drugstore readers - and good lighting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top