2/10 Zener PMPS 253;+1 280;+3 174;+4 155;+5 142;+6 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Another morning starting off with the discovery of a small puke with hair from overnight. Then, a scarf and barf after breffis! :shock: Zener's numbers are looking much better and he acts like he feels okay and appy is okay, but we decided to give him ondansetron for a couple of days to see if this is any help with these frequent AM pukes. He rarely has a puke before his PMPS, they are usually in the wee hours of the morning and/or after his first morning meal. Perhaps a small treat a few hours before his AMPS could halt the scarf and barf. We are trying to come up with a way to use the auto feeder to give him some freeze dried chicken around +10, and keep Tillie out of it!

Any advice or ideas are appreciated about the ondansetron and/or the puking episodes.

Yesterday
2/9/2012
AMPS 380, 2nd cycle @2.0u 1.35oz 11%, 1/16t miralax, 2.5mg pepcid, 1/4PP
+1.5 317, 3 mg zobaline, 3/4PP, 0.75oz 11%
~3 284, 1.0oz 11%
+4 0.75oz 11%
+6 186, 0.8oz 11%
+10 FDCK
PMPS 281, 3rd cycle @2.0u, 1.5oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
+2 312, 0.6oz 11%
+2.5 0.45oz 11%
+4 255, 0.85oz 11%
+5.5 217, 0.8oz 11%, negative ketones
Ate 0.95oz 11% overnight

Today
9/10/12 Zener
Small pukus with hair and a little food found
AMPS 238, 4th cycle @ 2.0u, 2.5mg pepcid & 1/4 PP, 1.0oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
Scarf and barf :o , followed by rounds in backyard and perhaps a happy crap dash ;-)
~0.4 1/4 ondansetron & 1/4PP with water
~0.45 0.25oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
+0.5 0.35oz 11% & fortiflora
~.8 0.3oz 11% & fortiflora
+1 234, 0.4oz 11% & fortiflora
+1.5, 0.4oz 11% & fortiflora
+2 178, 3mg Zobaline & 1/2 PP, 0.5oz 11% & fortiflora
~3 162, 0.55oz 11% & fortiflora, confirmed - small soft healthy looking poo outside
~4, 0.7oz 11% with fortiflora
+4.5 0.5oz 11%

Despite the morning pukus drama, Zener started in sunny yellow and is BLUE! I am enjoying working at home and being with the kitties. Liz is home now from department meetings and I'm off for a massage! :-D

@julie - thanks for stopping by, there are often pearls of wisdom left in Zener's condo by his many friends and advisors! :razz:

@Melissa & Bailey - we are liking the direction Zener's numbers are going lately with the regular dosecreases, sure helps that Mr Liver seems more calm lately! :twisted: I am not quite 100% but getting there. Canceling my work trip this weekend was the best thing to help me continue to recover!

Hope all in LL have a lovely Friday and special energy to those kitties and beans in need.
 
Re: 2/10 Zener AMPS 238;+1 234;+2 178;~3 162 AM puke?

Very nice blues there Zenner! It is a great color on you!

Not much help here on the pukus, but this should help keep you up on the list. Do Zenner and Tillie have regular sleeping spots? When I have to go out I leave the feeder right next to where Tess likes to nap so she hears it open.
 
Re: 2/10 Zener AMPS 238;+1 234;+2 178;~3 162 AM puke?

Hi guys .. no advice from me for the meds or the puking .. But I do like these yellows and blues for mister zener! No update on the poo patrol? :lol: have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 2/10 Zener AMPS 238;+1 234;+2 178;~3 162 AM puke?

Zener's numbers are great this morning. Way to go Zener!

Since the auto feeder is available to both Zener and Tilley, it's impossible to know who enjoyed the midnight buffet. If one of you ladies typically makes a midnight potty run, maybe you could use that opportunity to give Zener a few treats.
 
Re: 2/10 Zener AMPS 238;+1 234;+2 178;~3 162 AM puke?

I am loving the blue Zener!!! Happy to hear he is well & doing great!!
Competition in eating with cats--The Ultimate Challenge~~~I used to sneak treats to my two separately, but if left out, first one there is the winner! Unless you can find a place where just Zener goes, or a treat that just Zener only likes--Moonie doesnt like fish (go figure :shock: :roll: ) so I could always give her brother those snax--
Have a great Massage, A great Friday & hope all the ailments cease!
Copper my civvie puked a lot, Moonie hardly at all--Hope Zener feels better later-
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 2/10 Zener AMPS 238;+1 234;+2 178;~3 162 AM puke?

Sorry no advice on the meds, but the puking was always a problem with some of my other cats. My Maine Coon, of course long hair, so she had lots of hair ball/puke.

Zener, keep up the good work on those numbers. :smile:
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253 the daily puke?

It's been a yellow bookend cycle with blue in between. Looks like his numbers are slowly coming down at this dose, so we are planning to hold this dose for 10 cycles before considering another dosecrease. Zener has been having a morning puke all week - mostly hair with a little food - then this morning also a scarf and barf, so we are trying the ondansetron for a couple of days to see if this helps. Of course, it may just be that time of year and he is doing extra grooming as his belly hair grows back. All in all, it's been a good couple of days in a row for Zener! :razz:

Today
9/10/12 Zener
Found a small pukus with hair and a little food
AMPS 238, 4th cycle @ 2.0u, 2.5mg pepcid & 1/4 PP, 1.0oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
Scarf and barf , followed by rounds in backyard and perhaps a happy crap dash
~0.4 1/4 ondansetron & 1/4PP with water
~0.45 0.25oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
+0.5 0.35oz 11% & fortiflora
~.8 0.3oz 11% & fortiflora
+1 234, 0.4oz 11% & fortiflora
+1.5, 0.4oz 11% & fortiflora
+2 178, 3mg Zobaline & 1/2 PP, 0.5oz 11% & fortiflora
~3 162, 0.55oz 11% & fortiflora, confirmed - small soft healthy looking poo outside
~4, 0.7oz 11% with fortiflora
+4.5 0.5oz 11%
+6 141, 0.55oz 11%
+9 210, FDCK
+10 FDCK
PMPS 253, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1/4 ondansetron & 1/4 PP, 1/16t Miralax, 1.5oz 11%

@Ann & Tess - Zener does look so lovely in blue! Zener and Tillie have sort of regular sleeping spots and rotate between spots. Great idea to put the feeder near where he is sleeping. He is much less consistent about where he sleeps than she is. She's always on a heating pad! :lol:

@Devon - I forgot the daily poo patrol report! :oops: Liz saw Zener make a happy crap dash across the yard to the back door after his morning constitutional and a few hours later Inspector Poo witnessed an additional contribution to the area of the yard where "poo goes to die". Everything looking healthy in that department! ;-)

@Linda - we were thinking of putting out some freeze dried chicken for Zener for an hour or so before his AMPS to stave off the morning scarf and barf, but Tillie likes that too. So, we are still "problem solving". I do like the potty run idea. Jill called it the "water alarm clock" for when you need to get up during the night for a midcycle check but don't want to set an alarm and wake your bedmate up. The way the water alarm works - drink a big glass of water at bedtime and let nature take its course! I haven't done that in awhile since Zener's numbers have not been in the low department. This may be a good solution for the early am snack! :-D

@Roni - we love the blue too! There is food that only Zener will eat, but it is medium carb so we don't want to give that to him near the end of his cycle. Looks like it's time to re-start the water alarm clock, but this time for an early am snack! Massage was fabulous! cat_pet_icon

@Barb - Zener is pretty short haired so puking has not been that much of a problem. Though both kitties seem to puke more about the time of the first shedding of the winter coat. Our winter has been so mild, they may be starting the shedding early. :roll:

Hope everyone has a peaceful and relaxing Friday evening in LL!
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253 the daily puke?

Is Zener on pepcid? Giving this an hour before his urping (if its just stomach acid in the AM) or before food may help also.

How is the stomach motility and pooping going?

Give him a belly rub from me :)
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253 the daily puke?

Hi guys,
Maybe you need two automats, one for each. Do they each eat out of their own bowls? If so, they might each eat out of their own automats. If Tillie likes the freeze-dried chicken, why not let her have some, too?

Sorry about the puke. Perhaps you should try a hairball remedy if the puke is mostly hair. That will pass the hair through the intestines. Rusty really likes NaturVet hairball gel. It seems to be FD friendly. (Did I tell you all this already? I know I wrote it in someone's condo recently!)

TGIF and have a lovely weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253 the daily puke?

I'm sorry about the pukus, but at least Zener is feeling good despite it! Let's see some more blues, Zener...you look so handsome in blue!!
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253 the daily puke?

I was thinking that a furball remedy might be the way to go too.

So good to see Zener's numbers coming back down, his condo's were making me wince for a while there...
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253;+1 280;+3 174

Back to the blues! :-D
PMPS 253, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1/4 ondansetron & 1/4 PP, 1/16t Miralax, 1.5oz 11%
+1 280, 0.5oz 11%
+2, 0.9oz 11%
+3 174, 0.8oz 11%

@Sienne - Zener is listening to you! ;-)

@Karrie - yes, Zener is on pepcid. We have been giving it to him only once in the morning after his breffis, so we will try to give it to him a little earlier. We are also thinking about giving pepcid to him before bedtime to see if acid may be contributing to his AM pukes. The stomach motility is much better and the poo patrol is diligently on duty, with regular success! We are giving him Miralax (1/16t twice a day) and pepcid, and that's all right now. Well, we did start ondansetron today for a couple of days to see if this helps but won't stay on it long. Liz took him to the vet last weekend for head tremors and throat irritation. We still had him on the reglan and the vet discontinued it as we thought it might be increasing his CH symptoms. He says "thanks" for the belly rub! :-D

@Ella - thanks for the tip on the FD friendly hairball remedy. You did not tell us about this before and I'm looking it up in just a minute! One of our earlier vets prescribed laxatone, which we gave him before we read the label - full of sugars! :o Good idea on the two automats. Both have their own bowls and eat in different spots.

@Amy - Zener is feeling all around much better and it's been a good several days in a row! He has put on his blue suit and is looking especially handsome! :razz:

@Serryn - Zener's condo makes us wince too - he's had some wicked ugly numbers and some terrific bounces. :shock:

All is quiet here tonight, kitties napping and beans relaxing. Hope all are having a lovely Friday evening or whatever day it is wherever you are. :-D
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253;+1 280;+3 174

YAY! A blue Zener!! looking good there.

Good luck with the feeder.. I have one - love it, but it is also a problem keeping the civvvie out of it. I have yet to find a solution for that. She follows the feeder, wherever it may be. And Mannie lets her! Shesshhh!

Enjoy your evening - it sounds nice!
 
Re: 2/10 Zener PMPS 253;+1 280;+3 174;+4 155

We have the blues this Friday evening. ;-)
PMPS 253, 5th cycle @2.0u, 1/4 ondansetron & 1/4 PP, 1/16t Miralax, 1.5oz 11%
+1 280, 0.5oz 11%
+2, 0.9oz 11%
+3 174, 0.8oz 11%
+4 155, 0.9oz 11%

ETA
+5 142, 0.5oz 11%
+6 142, 0.6oz 11%
Left out 0.75oz 11%

@Michelle & Mannie - we've used the feeder once and Zener ate from it, but it is kind of a mess to clean. Do you know if there are small bowls that will fit in the compartments that you can take out and wash? That Mannie is such a sweetheart, letting the civvie have some fuds, what a guy! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top