? 2/10 Vesper, AMPS 430, +3 405, +6 383, PMPS 365

Kelly and Vesper

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-5-414-8-401-still-sick.298215/#post-3244821

Hi everyone. We're hanging in there. This might be wishful thinking, but she seems *slightly* better this morning. She snuggled me all night, which she doesn't do if she's not feeling well. I could hear her eat some dry food once or twice. She is negative for ketones this morning, and still has low appetite, but is willing to continue to snack. She even took the ondansetron in a pill pocket, which I wasn't able to get her to do yesterday. I will monitor her eating over the day and see if it improves. If not, we might take her to the vet for bloodwork.

One concern I have is that she seems excessively thirsty. Could that be from her high blood sugar? Or eating dry food? Or is it a concern for something else?

Also, two questions:

(1) Could someone help me with ondansetron dosing? He pills are 4mg tablets, and the instructions say to give her 1/2 pill up to 3x daily. Is that the maximum or can I give her more? She is 4.1 kg.

(2) What does everyone use to measure ketones? I have some sticks that I'm using (brand is JNW direct) but I'm just wondering if those are okay or if there is something better.

Thanks for checking in on us!!
 
Hello Kelly! Good to hear that she is willing to eat, hopefully she will eat more today.
I suppose the thirst can be from the high blood glucose, she is also probably dehydrated, especially if she eats wet food usually.
I cannot help you about ketones, but I am sure you will have more answers. You can tag people by putting @ before their name, like that:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko
You can also add a ? in your title: edit your title, then add a prefix, you can choose ? in the list, so people will see you have a question
Thinking of you and Vesper :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Kelly! Good to hear that she is willing to eat, hopefully she will eat more today.
I suppose the thirst can be from the high blood glucose, she is also probably dehydrated, especially if she eats wet food usually.
I cannot help you about ketones, but I am sure you will have more answers. You can tag people by putting @ before their name, like that:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko
You can also add a ? in your title: edit your title, then add a prefix, you can choose ? in the list, so people will see you have a question
Thinking of you and Vesper :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
Oh yes, thank you! Still getting the hang of this message board!!
 
Hi Kelly, this update makes me happy.
The excessive thirst is probably from the higher BG and eating the dry food. Both can be dehydrating factors but it's good she's drinking :cat:. Keep offering her water and hydracare if she'll take it.

Great. News. On the negative for ketones :bighug:. Keep testing. Most people use the ketostix for humans from a local pharmacy and test the urine. Others invested in ketone blood meters.

Ondansetron can be administered up to 4 times a day if needed. This is one of those medications that you have to see what works. You start off with the 0.5mg/kg but you could go up to 1mg/kg if its not working well or well enough. Here is a post by one of our Moderators describing how to dose it.

If this is a pancreatitis flareup, you may want to give some pain medication like the gabapentin or Buprenorphine (bupe).

Lets see how the cycle goes tonight to see if its safe to increase tomorrow morning to 1.75units. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) to confirm the insulin increase timing and amount (typically we suggest only raising the dose by 0.25 units, but Vesper has been over 300 for the last 4-5 cycles which might suggest a larger increase). Hopefully she is having pleasant dreams at the moment but I'm sure she'll be along ;).
 
Hi Kelly, this update makes me happy.
The excessive thirst is probably from the higher BG and eating the dry food. Both can be dehydrating factors but it's good she's drinking :cat:. Keep offering her water and hydracare if she'll take it.

Great. News. On the negative for ketones :bighug:. Keep testing. Most people use the ketostix for humans from a local pharmacy and test the urine. Others invested in ketone blood meters.

Ondansetron can be administered up to 4 times a day if needed. This is one of those medications that you have to see what works. You start off with the 0.5mg/kg but you could go up to 1mg/kg if its not working well or well enough. Here is a post by one of our Moderators describing how to dose it.

If this is a pancreatitis flareup, you may want to give some pain medication like the gabapentin or Buprenorphine (bupe).

Lets see how the cycle goes tonight to see if its safe to increase tomorrow morning to 1.75units. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) to confirm the insulin increase timing and amount (typically we suggest only raising the dose by 0.25 units, but Vesper has been over 300 for the last 4-5 cycles which might suggest a larger increase). Hopefully she is having pleasant dreams at the moment but I'm sure she'll be along ;).

Unfortunately, I think she's regressing a bit. She's now growling at me when I offer her food. If this keeps up, we will take her to the emergency vet tonight after dinner and her insulin dose, so her insulin schedule doesn't get disrupted.
 
Unfortunately, I think she's regressing a bit. She's now growling at me when I offer her food. If this keeps up, we will take her to the emergency vet tonight after dinner and her insulin dose, so her insulin schedule doesn't get disrupted.

I'm so sorry she seems to be regressing, Kelly. This all sounds really difficult for both you and her. I hope you're able to get some answers and get her feeling better soon.
 
We went to the ER but it was a 5 hour wait, so I decided to take her back home. I figured she would be stressed out the whole time and wouldn't get food and potentially miss her insulin dose, so I'd rather have her be home where she has the best chance of eating.

Should I plan to do 1.25 tonight even if she's not eating?

Also, I think she might be positive for ketones now. These strips are very hard to understand, but it appears to be turning a greyish color that it wasn't turning before.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Angela & Cleo
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I didn't get this tag. I see you shot 1.25 at PMPS. That's good.
If you get this in the morning, I think you can increase to 1.5U.

How's Vesper? How are you and DH coping? Sending Vetty Vines:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top