2/10 Theodore AMPS 95 +3 43

NadineTheodore

Active Member
He was 95 this morning at AMPS so I gave him 4 as I didn't feel comfortable giving him a full dose. I just checked him and he's at 43, he's acting fine, what can I do to get it to go up? I gave him whisky treats and reg high carb dry food.
 
apologies 72 for US.
Ah OK! :-) That's a good bump. You want to continue to test and feed every hour - it's possible that numbers might dip again after the carb wear off (typically 2 hours after).


Should I lower his dose from 5 since he's been pretty low in mornings? I did 4 this morning because he was low and when I skip entirely he gets too high.
If you are following SLGS, then a drop below 90 earns a reduction. You would go down to 4.5U from tonight.
Does he get food at night after you've gone to bed? That might prevent his numbers from dropping low. many cats see active cycles at night.
It's good you didn't skip. If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 90 when following SLGS. Even if you had skipped, the depot would have continued to affect the first part of the cycle.
 
Can you please remove the 911 as he is on the way up?

The 911 is for emergencies like a symptomatic hypo. For low numbers, please use the “?” Prefix and something in the subject line like:

2/10 Theodore AMPS 95 +3 43 help with low BG please

Once you’ve received help, you can remove the “?” and the extra text.

Thank you.
 
Ah OK! :) That's a good bump. You want to continue to test and feed every hour - it's possible that numbers might dip again after the carb wear off (typically 2 hours after).



If you are following SLGS, then a drop below 90 earns a reduction. You would go down to 4.5U from tonight.
Does he get food at night after you've gone to bed? That might prevent his numbers from dropping low. many cats see active cycles at night.
It's good you didn't skip. If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 90 when following SLGS. Even if you had skipped, the depot would have continued to affect the first part of the cycle.
I do feed him before bed as I worry about his night doses. I will be trying to install a freestyle libre on him (again) eventually to get a better gage of what's going on. The last two didn't even last an hour when we got home. He had his buddy help him remove it
 
Can you please remove the 911 as he is on the way up?

The 911 is for emergencies like a symptomatic hypo. For low numbers, please use the “?” Prefix and something in the subject line like:

2/10 Theodore AMPS 95 +3 43 help with low BG please

Once you’ve received help, you can remove the “?” and the extra text.

Thank you.
All done
 
I do feed him before bed as I worry about his night doses. I will be trying to install a freestyle libre on him (again) eventually to get a better gage of what's going on. The last two didn't even last an hour when we got home. He had his buddy help him remove it
Good luck Nadine, do you cover the Libre with a patch, wrap or a tee shirt? That way it should deter him from pulling it off. Sneaky kitties. :cat:
 
Are you still using an AT3 for testing? If so, today’s 43 was pretty low. Glad he came back up pretty quickly.

@Marje and Gracie Question: when one alternates between using a Libre and an AT3, should the spreadsheet colors be coded for a pet meter (for safety) or a human meter? Just curious…
 
Are you still using an AT3 for testing? If so, today’s 43 was pretty low. Glad he came back up pretty quickly.

@Marje and Gracie Question: when one alternates between using a Libre and an AT3, should the spreadsheet colors be coded for a pet meter (for safety) or a human meter? Just curious…
@NadineTheodore If you are using an AT3 as the SS and signature state, we need to update your SS formatting so please PM me. If you are using the Libre now, please update your signature and the top of the SS on the correct meter. For any Libre test that you check with an AT3, please put (AT) after the BG. For instance, if the Libre read low, test with AT and record as this: Libre Lo, 43 (AT).

Thank you.
 
He was shaved glued, had a shirt but it wasn't great. They didn't have a onesie that fit him :(
I bought baby tee shirts from a local store (Ivy is about 13 pounds or so and wears a 12 month baby size tee, if that helps for reference.)
Personally I didn’t think they needed a onesie. I figured the bottom doesn’t need to be covered if a T-shirt works out OK. You can try one inexpensively and see how that works for Theo. (plus the vet office is just gonna charge you more anyway). :cat:

It is also advised not to use glue, because that can kill the sensor. But most vet offices that install them want to use glue because I think they just don’t know what else to do. They aren’t trained how to install a Libre by Abbott, the company that makes them, they just wing it. ;)
 
Back
Top