2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Us +2=100 +4=68 +6=84 +9=108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Tasha

Active Member
yesterday's condo
After lots of lows at a .25 yesterday's AM shot went .1 for PM shot.The pm numbers went PMPS 116 +2=65 +4=52 fed HC food +6 =86 +10 =160
I am concerned about her tanking if I try .01 this morning but the 160??? could that be the HC food I gave. She didn't eat a lot. I need to figure out before I feed her or give her a shot. What to do?????
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Linda......I would not take Tasha of insulin. She was yellow just two days ago. When Tasha is in the 50's you can feed a little low carb. A cat can surf the 50's it is not too low you just need to watch to make sure they don't go lower. I think you should stay with the 0.1. She is doing great and looks like OTJ is in her future but I think she needs more time.
See what others think.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Oh I hope someone answers you soon. I don't have the experience to tell you what to do with tasha, but I do know that from reading on here, it seems the general consensus is to hold the insulin out as long as you can in order to help them heal as much as they can, if that makes sense. Again, I am not giving out dosing advice and I know that ECID, it just seems from what I have read on here, the longer you can keep them SAFELY on insulin, the better their OTJ chances are.

I hope someone comes and helps you out soon. I was probably of no help, and made it more confusing!
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

How long until shot time? will you be home to monitor her today?
I do believe she earned a dosecrease to 0.1u --is that correct? So we usually keep them on that
does for awhile and see how they do with that small amount of insulin....
Retest her and then post the number...
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

I agree with Miriam. In addition to yellows a few days ago, an AMPS of 160 is not in a "normal" non-diabetic range. If this were my cat, I would do what I could to keep her on insulin and support pancreatic healing for as long as possible. If it were my cat, I'd shoot providing I could be home and monitor.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

I went back to look at your ss to see and saw the 38 for yesterday.... then you would stay with the 0.1u.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

I agree with all this--Better not to Rush to get OTJ, as if you do, it may not hold with the numbers you have been getting-
It is such a low dose, that it is really safe for Tasha.. Moonie was on that dose for a very long time and was fine.
You are doing a good job, just be patient, good things are coming!
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Tasha did have HC food and I wondered if that caused the 160.
I do not think I should go up to the .25 like Miriam suggested. She was in the 30s with that and took quite awhile to get back up. Even with Karo just went into the 50s.
I think I will try the .1 this morning and see where we go with that. She had lows with that too that I had to give her HC food. If that happens again before her peak time I may skip the PM shot. I will have to re-evaluate I guess
*edit. I see Miriam edited her answer and missed the 38
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

How soon until AMPS?
Have you done a recheck yet?

This is a tiny dose that Tasha will be on now....the last dose! This is great news!! Usually, we see the
kitties using this small amount of insulin for awhile and then they can begin their 14 day OTJ trial to see if
they can manage without any insulin.
We shoot at low numbers to keep their numbers low. It takes some getting used to for the Bean, but it will
be okay. Once you see the reaction to the small dose, you will have more confidence in shooting at the low numbers.
Are you able to get a +1 and other tests throughout the day?
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Linda the 52 you saw last night was probably left over action from the .25 you dosed in the am.
She is doing great in such a short amout of time.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

My biggest concern is that she doesn't eat. She has never been a big eater and the change in diet hasn't helped. I am concerned that she will not eat with the .1 and will tank on me. She will eat the HC food in small amounts but eats so little or none of the LC foods. I thought I might be able to control her by diet. If she doesn't eat...no shot no problem. If she does that would be great and I can see how she is doing on that alone. With the .1 she may just go so low I have to give her HC food if she doesn't eat.

I am snowed in today and will be home. I will do the .1 and hope she eats.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

I use a plastic syringe for the HC gravy if Shadow won't eat. That is a concern if she is not
eating regularly though. I suppose you have tried the freeze-dried chicken sprinkled on top of
her food already ....not sure what LC you are serving, but the sprinkled chicken works for many.

When are AMPS due to be checked?
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Hi Linda

please update your subject line to read today's date and current test number for Tasha.

I suggest you read or re-read Tilly's Protocol, this is the protocol we recommend in Lantus Land:
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

I'm going to agree with everyone here...and as Sienne said:

.....In addition to yellows a few days ago, an AMPS of 160 is not in a "normal" non-diabetic range. If this were my cat, I would do what I could to keep her on insulin and support pancreatic healing for as long as possible. If it were my cat, I'd shoot providing I could be home and monitor.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I use a plastic syringe for the HC gravy if Shadow won't eat. That is a concern if she is not
eating regularly though. I suppose you have tried the freeze-dried chicken sprinkled on top of
her food already ....not sure what LC you are serving, but the sprinkled chicken works for many.

When are AMPS due to be checked?
She doesn't like chicken or shrimp only the gravy that is in her HC food.
Checking her AMPS in about 15 mins.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Linda and Tasha said:
My biggest concern is that she doesn't eat. She has never been a big eater and the change in diet hasn't helped. I am concerned that she will not eat with the .1 and will tank on me. She will eat the HC food in small amounts but eats so little or none of the LC foods. I thought I might be able to control her by diet. If she doesn't eat...no shot no problem. If she does that would be great and I can see how she is doing on that alone. With the .1 she may just go so low I have to give her HC food if she doesn't eat.

I am snowed in today and will be home. I will do the .1 and hope she eats.

Linda, what type of food are you feeding? My kitties are very picky and for awhile I was throwing out a lot of food when we switched to wet food. Then I started keeping track of who likes what. I have 5 cats so some cats will eat certain flavors and brand while others just turn their nose up at them. I am most concerned with Sami, my sugar kitty, because as you know it is imporant for them to eat after they get their insulin. My only suggestion, if you haven't already tried it is to introduce different flavors and brands of LC food to see if you can find one that Tasha likes. It is all a learning experience.
 
Re: Should Tasha go OTJ???? Help I need a quick answer

Linda, what type of food are you feeding? My kitties are very picky and for awhile I was throwing out a lot of food when we switched to wet food. Then I started keeping track of who likes what. I have 5 cats so some cats will eat certain flavors and brand while others just turn their nose up at them. I am most concerned with Sami, my sugar kitty, because as you know it is imporant for them to eat after they get their insulin. My only suggestion, if you haven't already tried it is to introduce different flavors and brands of LC food to see if you can find one that Tasha likes. It is all a learning experience.

I have about 6 different flavors at the moment. One day she eats a little of one, the next she wont touch that flavor. Prior to being dxd, she ate Friskies shredded with gravy only and nothing with beef. Only the turkey and cheese, and fish or fish and chicken flavors. She hates pate. Even if it is a flavor she likes. She also doesn't care that much for flaked. I have been sticking with the Friskies flavors and adding a touch of water and microwaving to make "gravy" for her with the low carb pates. I also have been giving her the flaked tuna & tuna and egg which she runs hot and cold on. Mostly cold.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

Linda and Tasha said:
I have about 6 different flavors at the moment. One day she eats a little of one, the next she wont touch that flavor. Prior to being dxd, she ate Friskies shredded with gravy only and nothing with beef. Only the turkey and cheese, and fish or fish and chicken flavors. She hates pate. Even if it is a flavor she likes. She also doesn't care that much for flaked. I have been sticking with the Friskies flavors and adding a touch of water and microwaving to make "gravy" for her with the low carb pates. I also have been giving her the flaked tuna & tuna and egg which she runs hot and cold on. Mostly cold.

It sounds like she has plenty of variety, and you know what she has liked in the past, but maybe with her diagnosis she might want to eat something different. It might be worth a shot to try a few different cans. My cats ate only dry food before Sami was diagnosed and they only got the wet at a treat, now they only eat the wet, and they have become more picky about what they like. And I am a sucker so I keep giving them different foods to find what they like the best.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

You will be able to get some checks this morning on Tasha, right?
My two like FF turkey & Giblets and that chopped grill or mixed grill...the one in the kelly green label.
I give them the chicken feast occasionally and give them Wellness once in awhile too. They never cared
for the Friskies once they tried Fancy Feast. It must be very difficult for you with Tasha.....
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
You will be able to get some checks this morning on Tasha, right?
My two like FF turkey & Giblets and that chopped grill or mixed grill...the one in the kelly green label.
I give them the chicken feast occasionally and give them Wellness once in awhile too. They never cared
for the Friskies once they tried Fancy Feast. It must be very difficult for you with Tasha.....

A few of mine are the same way. They like Fancy Feast much better, and wouldn't you know I have a boat load of Friskies. I try to give them the Friskies as the first mini meal because when they are hungry they will eat just about anything, and I save the good stuff for dessert.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
You will be able to get some checks this morning on Tasha, right?
My two like FF turkey & Giblets and that chopped grill or mixed grill...the one in the kelly green label.
I give them the chicken feast occasionally and give them Wellness once in awhile too. They never cared
for the Friskies once they tried Fancy Feast. It must be very difficult for you with Tasha.....

I tried FF once with her a few years ago when it came as a free sample (green lable). She got the runs with it and threw up so I am staying away from that.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

Sorry you are having so much trouble getting Tasha to eat. Do you have an idea of how much food she is actually eating in a day? I hope you can find some low carb food she will like because whether she is on insulin or OTJ it will be hard to keep her numbers down with HC gravy. Have you tried Wellness?
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

Miriam and Putty said:
Sorry you are having so much trouble getting Tasha to eat. Do you have an idea of how much food she is actually eating in a day? I hope you can find some low carb food she will like because whether she is on insulin or OTJ it will be hard to keep her numbers down with HC gravy. Have you tried Wellness?

No I haven't. Do they make a LC that has a shredded consistency and gravy or sauce?

Not sure how much she is eating. I think she gets at least 1/3 of a can down to 2/3 of a can. Prior to being dxd she ate 1/2 can ( not always finished) and 1/3 C dry (not always finished)
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus

To be honest I have not tried it for Putty yet. We are doing a little food experiment with the times he eats so I did not want to change his food just yet. Quite a few people feed Wellness here. You may want to post that question on health to get a lot of feedback or more suggestions.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

Tasha's +2 was 100. She didn't eat after her shot and just had a few licks after her BG was taken at the +2. Not 100% sure I got a good shot for her this morning or not. The shot was probably okay though maybe a 30% chance it wasn't though.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

Linda my Webber was the same way with appetite. He has never been a big eater and sometimes in the morning he just wan't interested in eating yet.

The treats that all 4 kitties get is freeze dried chicken and salmon. They love it and even Webber can't pass up eating when I sprinkle some of the dust from those treats on top of the wet food.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

paige said:
Linda my Webber was the same way with appetite. He has never been a big eater and sometimes in the morning he just wan't interested in eating yet.

The treats that all 4 kitties get is freeze dried chicken and salmon. They love it and even Webber can't pass up eating when I sprinkle some of the dust from those treats on top of the wet food.
My kitty used to eat in the morning prior to the dx. That was the only time she usually did eat.
Where do you get the freeze dried salmon and chicken? Do they have freeze dried turkey too?
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

I get the Pure Bites freeze dried chicken at Pet Supplies Plus. It's with the dog food and I get the bigger bags and the cats love it. Liv-A-Littles is also another brand, but you have to order it online. My cats didn't really care for the Liv-A-Littles.

I wonder if Tasha would eat raw food.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

Chris & Mally said:
I get the Pure Bites freeze dried chicken at Pet Supplies Plus. It's with the dog food and I get the bigger bags and the cats love it. Liv-A-Littles is also another brand, but you have to order it online. My cats didn't really care for the Liv-A-Littles.

I wonder if Tasha would eat raw food.
I never thought about raw. But I would imagine it might be too chewy for her. I think I may be better off with the freeze dried. We don't keep meat in our home. We are vegetarians except for Tasha of course. Do they sell the freeze dried in regular pet stores or do I need to get it online?
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100

PETCO carries the Pure Bites and Petsmart has a brand of freeze dried also. I can't remember the name of it off the top of my head.

The freeze dried chicken, fish, or liver - whatever you decide to buy - is really for treats only or for sprinkling on top of food to get the cat interested in eating. It's not meant to replace canned food with carbs. Having said that, sprinkling a little on top of the canned food worked well for me on the few occasions Mally wasn't interested in eating.
 
Re: 2/10 Tasha AMPS 148 .1 Units Lantus +2=100 +4=68

Chris & Mally said:
PETCO carries the Pure Bites and Petsmart has a brand of freeze dried also. I can't remember the name of it off the top of my head.

The freeze dried chicken, fish, or liver - whatever you decide to buy - is really for treats only or for sprinkling on top of food to get the cat interested in eating. It's not meant to replace canned food with carbs. Having said that, sprinkling a little on top of the canned food worked well for me on the few occasions Mally wasn't interested in eating.
Don't think it would work for Tasha. She is not that interested in anything unless it has gravy or sauce. Won't even eat a shrimp but if it has sauce she will go crazy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top