2/10 Clyde - New Member, Lantus- AMPS 405(22.5), +9 18.9

ellenedgar

Member Since 2022
Hello!

I am brand new here, and this is my first post so I apologize if the title / format is incorrect.

I started my Clyde on 1.0U of lantus a few days ago. He eats 3 cans of FF pate spread out between 4 meals throughout the day.

The reason we are not doing 1.0U twice a day yet is because the timing of diagnoses is no ideal; I will be away for a week starting next week and family will be watch Clyde for me.

After seeing his numbers the last few days, I am guessing the 1.0U is not enough for him, so I'm looking for advice on if I should move him up to 1.0U twice a day, then do a full curve when I am back home the 22nd.

Thanks for all the help in advance.
 
Welcome great that you are already home testing and have set up a spreadsheet
Yes lantus should be given twice a day, can you please go back and add lantus to your signature so any member helping you will see that .
Also if you can go to your title and add New Member
Look to the right and you will see Thread Tools , tap in that, then you will see Edit Title and add New Member first , hit save

You shooting lantus or any insulin twice a day you need to see what's going on during the night cycle, if not you are only seeing half the picture

I will give you a link about the 2 dosing methods for lantus
Pick one , it will tell you when you need to increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units and how low the kitty is dropping
We don't adjust the dose by the pre shots
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?


While you are away will your family be testing Clyde before giving insulin and be able to test him during each 12 hour cycle?

I will tag a few members for you about this
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Marje and Gracie

Wendy, Sienne or Marje do you want to move her post over to the Feline Health or is it OK to leave it here since she has everything set up already and is posting correctly in her title
 
Last edited:
Waving "Hi" from BC.

What day will you be leaving? Just wondering if there is enough time to gather data on 1 units twice a day before you go. And yes, Lantus doesn't last long enough in the cat to be OK with just one shot a day.
 
Welcome. Will your family be doing any testing while you are away? When will you be leaving? Did you change his diet or has he always been eating canned fancy feast pate? Once a day testing will not be of much help as the duration of lantus in cats in about 12 hours. It also takes about 5-7 days for the depot to build. I think I would start dosing .50 every 12 hours and see how he does until you return from your trip. If your family doesn’t feel they can test you might consider having the vet put on a Libre which would just require them to scan it to get test results and no need to do ear pricks. They are supposed to stay on about 14 days.
 
Thank you for all the help everyone!

I leave next Tuesday mid-day and am away for one week. My family said they could try to test, but with the testing still being new to Clyde, I can’t say for sure they’ll have 100% success; he’s not a cuddly guy haha.

He has been on FF for two weeks now. Before he was diagnosed he was on high carb crap food (I know now the mistakes I made) and half a can of friskies pate / day.

Considering all this, this is why my vet suggested we start the one dose only for the first two weeks, then we will move to two doses when I am back, but I want to give him the best shot at regulation and make sure he feels good. I’m nervous that it will be 4 weeks since diagnoses when he starts at 2 doses a day. Is that a long time for negative side effects in feline diabetes? The one answer I’ve struggled to find it what is considered an “early diagnoses” or “early treatment”.

For the record, he does seem completely healthy and the vet said she was equally as surprised to see his BG so high. He does not have any ketones in his urine and no physical signs of diabetes. The increase thirst and urinating has subsided since switching to FF.

I have considered 0.5 doses twice daily, but my vet recommended sticking with 1.0U. I just want to do what’s best for him, so naturally I trust the person who I have been told to since owning pets. But I know this may not always be what’s best.

I plan to use the SLGS method. Thank you for the information on the depot; I did not know it built up in the system over a few cycles - but I also see how this could be hindered if only single dosing a day.

I guess I am just looking for “what would you do” in a scenario like this, but I also recognize that every cat and diagnosis is completely different. Thanks for any and all information regardless :)
 
It would be best to split the dose because as I mentioned it doesn’t last more than 12 hours. The diet change can have a bug effect in bringing down the bg but it will be hard to tell with once a day dosing. Since I joined I have not seen once a day to be successful except fir a couple that were needing a drop dose and almost off insulin and diet controlled.
 
With SLGS, you start with 0.5 units twice a day, and hold that dose for a week before evaluating the dose. If you only shoot once a day, kitty is high for the night. That's going to be harder on him. I'd start with 0.5 twice a day tomorrow morning. We'll have 4 days to see how he does on that, and could possibly nudge him up to 0.75 units before you go if he's still plenty high.
 
Back
Top