2/10 Chispa, 117 AMP, 72 +3.5, 93 PMPS, 66 +3, 66 +4

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-09-chispa-121-amps-81-3-123-pmps.274004/

Happy Friday, everyone! :bighug::coffee::cat:

I raised Chispa's dose to 4 units this morning because it seemed like her numbers were trending upwards. It's not the direction I was hoping for, but I am trying to be realistic and give her as much insulin as she needs to heal.

This leads me to a question: I've noticed that the cats who have gone OTJ since I joined never got much above 2 units even to begin with. Does that mean it's unlikely that Chispa will ever come down enough to go OTJ? I don't want to give up hope, but I don't want to be entirely disconnected from reality, either.

Thanks for any insights.

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
There have been plenty of cats on more than 2 units that go otj. It’s most likely to happen in the first year as well as how early it’s caught and other underlying conditions that can affect the bg. every cat is different every cat is different ECID definitely applies. Don’t give up hope but tge next best thing is to be tightly controlled and under renal threshold which Chispa is.
 
There have been plenty of cats on more than 2 units that go otj. It’s most likely to happen in the first year as well as how early it’s caught and other underlying conditions that can affect the bg. every cat is different every cat is different ECID definitely applies. Don’t give up hope but tge next best thing is to be tightly controlled and under renal threshold which Chispa is.
Thanks, Elise -- that helps. I'll keep on hoping. :bighug::cat:
 
So here's another question ... I fed Chispa mostly gravy from the LC can mixed with mashed Royal Canin for the first 2-3 days after her dental so she wouldn't have to chew. After that, I started chopping her Weruva chicken stew into tiny pieces with a chef’s knife on a cutting board and mixing it with a little warm water and pumpkin, but she seemed to be having trouble eating it anyway. I saw her trying to cough it out, as if the strands of chicken (even though minced) were irritating her throat.

Here's a photo from the vet of her teeth after the extractions. She doesn't seem to have any teeth left on the top. Does that mean she is going to have to eat mush forever? She really loves her stew-format foods ... :(
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2023-02-10 at 2.17.33 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2023-02-10 at 2.17.33 PM.png
    245.4 KB · Views: 66
Thanks, Diane. You and Tyler are an inspiration. :bighug::cat::bighug: It's just hard when it seems like things are heading in the wrong direction, you know?
I'll pin a copy of Tyler's spreadsheet to the wall near her feeding station so she can study it while she's eating her chicken mush.
I know don't get discouraged , Hopefully the increase will put a fire under her butt :p
That's too funny about Tyler's SS
Maybe her mouth is still a little sore and eventually she will have no problem eating the food she was eating before :cat:
 
I know don't get discouraged , Hopefully the increase will put a fire under her butt :p
That's too funny about Tyler's SS
Maybe her mouth is still a little sore and eventually she will have no problem eating the food she was eating before :cat:
I hope so. The good news is, the Weruva WX arrived and she seems to like it! It costs an arm and a leg (of course) :blackeye: but it's better than grinding up cat food in the blender (yuck).
 
I could give you an example of a cat that got to 55 units and went OTJ (Karen with kitty Lily). That's on the extreme end of course. ;) Have you looked at Tyler's 2020 spreadsheet. His SS looked not to dissimilar from Chispa at around 2.25 units, but after continued encouragement, Diane increased and increased until the magic happened.

I'm glad you increased. The goal is tight regulation and that's what improves the chances of remission.
 
I could give you an example of a cat that got to 55 units and went OTJ (Karen with kitty Lily). That's on the extreme end of course. ;) Have you looked at Tyler's 2020 spreadsheet. His SS looked not to dissimilar from Chispa at around 2.25 units, but after continued encouragement, Diane increased and increased until the magic happened.

I'm glad you increased. The goal is tight regulation and that's what improves the chances of remission.
Look at that ... Tyler's SS does look quite a bit like Chispa's, right up until he got to 2.75. And then within three months he was OTJ! Thanks for the encouragement. I will keep hoping. :bighug::cat:
 
I hope so. The good news is, the Weruva WX arrived and she seems to like it! It costs an arm and a leg (of course) :blackeye: but it's better than grinding up cat food in the blender (yuck).
I'm glad she liked but I want you to read this
I see you mentioned the Weruva WX I just wanted you to be aware of what I posted below. I'm sure it's ok to feed for awhile, I was just concerned :cat:
Check this out about the weruva WX food
https://www.amazon.com/Weruva-Focused-Chicken-Formula-Gravy/dp/B0B5YJH28R?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Directions


This food is not complete and balanced and should not be fed as the only meal to cats on an everyday basis. Consult your veterinarian about how to fit this food into your cat's diet. Feed according to the age, size, and activity level of you rcat. If fed alone, feed 1 OZ for each pound of bodyweight daily, best fed in multiple feedings throughout the day. Your cat shoudl have access to clean, fresh water. Refrigerate after opening.

Also 2 members have commented on the Weruva WX post #1 and #2
Here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...d-not-meant-as-main-food.273361/#post-3038119

@Karen and Chispa
 
Last edited:
I'm glad she liked but I want you to read this
I see you mentioned the Weruva WX I just wanted you to be aware of what I posted below. I'm sure it's ok to feed for awhile, I was just concerned :cat:
Check this out about the weruva WX food
https://www.amazon.com/Weruva-Focused-Chicken-Formula-Gravy/dp/B0B5YJH28R?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Directions


This food is not complete and balanced and should not be fed as the only meal to cats on an everyday basis. Consult your veterinarian about how to fit this food into your cat's diet. Feed according to the age, size, and activity level of you rcat. If fed alone, feed 1 OZ for each pound of bodyweight daily, best fed in multiple feedings throughout the day. Your cat shoudl have access to clean, fresh water. Refrigerate after opening.

Also 2 members have commented on the Weruva WX post #1 and #2
Here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...d-not-meant-as-main-food.273361/#post-3038119

@Karen and Chispa
Oh--yikes!! Thanks so much for the heads up. As it turns out, she liked the first serving of WX (she gobbled it up), but since then she has turned up her nose at it. CATS!:confused: lol. Luckily it was only 12 small cans and there are 3 flavors, so maybe she won't hate all of them. I like what @Angela & Cleo said about feeding it as post-nadir snacks.
The good news is, I chopped up another can of On the Cat Wok with a chef's knife and this time she seems ok with it. So she must be healing. :cat:
 
Oh--yikes!! Thanks so much for the heads up. As it turns out, she liked the first serving of WX (she gobbled it up), but since then she has turned up her nose at it. CATS!:confused: lol. Luckily it was only 12 small cans and there are 3 flavors, so maybe she won't hate all of them. I like what @Angela & Cleo said about feeding it as post-nadir snacks.
The good news is, I chopped up another can of On the Cat Wok with a chef's knife and this time she seems ok with it. So she must be healing. :cat:
Yes that's a great idea what Angela said about using them for post nadar snacks .
I'm happy to hear she was able to eat On the Cat Wok. :cat:
 
Back
Top