2/10-2/11 Jax

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning all! ~O)

Jax had a relatively flat night. Weirdness going on. Let me recap for you:

PMPS 364 1.6u given and fed
+4.5 274 Makes no sense. Should be over 100pts lower.
+7 237 Flat cycle confirmed. 1oz frozen snack given
AMPS 261 Shot 1.6u (20 mins early to get back on schedule) and fed

Anyway, need to get my u100's today. Vet gave me the script. Recommendations? Was going to go to Walmart this weekend. I know Walmart is somewhat disliked on the board but it's a novelty to me of sorts! None close to home and quite the drive but so much stuff there. Love it. :razz:
Any online retailers you would suggest?

Also thinking about picking up a bottle of insulin this weekend. Less than half full. How low do you go? New vet says to only use for 30-40 days for optimal results and I'm closing in on 60 days. Perhaps it's time to pick up more.

One last thing, Denise said she goes to Whole Foods for the b-12. May need to find a new source as LifeLink takes so bloody long to ship. Put order in when had 2/3rd left in bottle. Last pill given today, where the flip is my order? Going to call them today, they will not be pleased. :evil:

Hope everyone has good #'s today and fantastic cycles!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Wal-Mart has it's pros and cons. Used to work at a couple part-time for the fluff money. Not too many are hired, or want to work there, that have common sense so it's a gamble on who you have "helping" you. :-D Just know what you want...and pictures help. :lol:

I ordered my u100s online but will get the next batch at Wally World (my nick name for Wal-Mart)...however, my mom volunteers at a neighborhood thrift store and they had a donation of two full boxes of u100 needles! They can't sell them so guess who ended up with them? Hehehehe

Yesterday was my day for the weird numbers. Seemed Poopy was trying to climg the ladder into higher numbers but came in a bit lower this morning. What to call the sweeping weirdness? Kitty Moon! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Interesting, your vet's comments about the optimal use of Prozinc is 30 to 40 days. I use to be the true believer in the forum that Prozinc pooped out after about half way through the vial. I would purchase a new vial about every month-- I still have half full vials in the fridge! BUT, I now don't believe that! I do think the new vials are more potent when first opened. Prozinc is suppose to last until the end of the vial. Your vet's choice of words "optimal" might be correct---but, I would not get a new vial just based on that.

What I did eventually notice with Kitty, was about mid way through the vial I had to increase the dose a tad to keep her numbers in the same range...ex.3.2 to 3.4 (note--my Kitty LOVES insulin and guzzles it, so .2 was like a drop to some cats!).

I now use the entire vial and the only time I see any difference, is at the very end of the vial---the backwash!!!

Do what makes you comfortable, but the prozinc should be okay!
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

nice amps....cant wait to see what his pmps is....
my vet told me that there is a variance in strength in each vial as they dont havve to be exactly
one strenght..it has to be between a certain percentage
dont know if that makes sense, but I dont think it loses its strength
I have had old vials work better than new vials, that is why I believe in the variance in strength
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Not sure what to believe with the PZ and I can't really base it on Jax's PMPS because he came in at 371. Not entirely surprising since I know for sure he polished off my civvies food which I keep on a higher ledge. Time to find a new spot to keep his food. I walked into my home and what do I see...the bowl toppled to the floor. That is such a Jax move it isn't even funny.

He had a field day today!!! His morning grub clocks in at 3 oz. Frozen snack comes in at 1.5 oz. Poor Dooley's food at 3 oz. If I didn't have to shoot the insulin I really don't think I would have fed him till much later this evening but I caved and gave him 1.5 oz.

Not a wonder he clocked in so high. The insulin couldn't keep up! :lol:
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

We get our syringes from American Diabetes Wholesale online and I think they are now a sponsor of FDMB. Click the Shop link above, but I think I did read that recently.
We get either the BD ones or most usually the Ulticare Vet rx ones. (the latter is cheaper and just as good) Just make sure when you are getting the U100s that you get them with the half unit markings.
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... x_5739.htm
There is the link so you can see what the packaging looks like and see the info on the box.

The kitties sure can be naughty when it comes to food. angry(2)_cat

Oh, and you’ll need this for the U100s : (I am sure you know this already but here it is anyway)

http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

kse said:
What I did eventually notice with Kitty, was about mid way through the vial I had to increase the dose a tad to keep her numbers in the same range...ex.3.2 to 3.4 (note--my Kitty LOVES insulin and guzzles it, so .2 was like a drop to some cats!).

I may increase from 1.6 to 1.8 depending on how this cycle goes. Also called lifelink and they had the wrong addy. Jax is officially out of pills for a week until the order is reshipped. Hope the impact is minimal.
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Let me know if you need some...I think we are pretty close to each other..I could probably get you some soon
Hate to see Jax without it if he needs it..I will be needing a bottle soon so
I will take a ride to whole foods ....
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Thanks for the offer Denise but not necessary as I can make the trip to Whole Foods over this weekend. What's the name of the brand you are getting? Is it the Zobaline? Would be awesome if they sold it outside of that small company in Cali.

Think I will get a new botlle of ProZinc over the weekend too.
Second flat cycle with no movement.

PMPS 371 1.6u 1.5 oz given (normally it's 3oz but I wanted to see if I would get a drop)
+2 373
+4 271
+6 249
Not good. Pretty sure the insulin is going bad. Going to give his evening snack and off to bed.
 
Re: 2/10- Jax

Amps 287
Made a few calls to 24/7 pharms hoping someone may have the PZ in stock. Wishful thinking. Will need to get to vet today to get another bottle. Hated to shoot him with something that is making him flat, but no choice so I bumped it up to 1.8u. I've ruled out food as a variable because I kept him running on 1.5 oz FF from injection to +6 to see if that was the issue. Going to see how 1.8 does but still get another bottle and store it in fridge. If I get some movement, then I will stick with that...but still pick up my bottle, just in case.

Hope everyone has a nice day! :cool:
 
Can’t hurt picking up another bottle if you can swing it. The dates are usually a year out, at least on all the bottles we have bought. If you find your old bottle really hasn’t pooped out after you try the new one, you still have pretty much time to use both.

Still a yellow amps this morning, not bad work Jax :)
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
Great AMPS!

I like your thinking on having the bottle on hand...just in case. Isn't ProZinc only sold via vet?

I have ZERO idea! :lol: Guess I'm one of those people that expect everything to be available when I need it. I live in the city that never sleeps...except the people that sell the Prozinc. They are knocked out right about now. :razz:

Gosh, I'm so clueless.
 
hi Lisa
It is called Natural Factors - B12Methylcobalamin....1000mcg
It is in a pink box and has 90 tablets for 12.99
 
Someone said once that some Costcos sell ProZinc and you don't need to be a member. I don't know if it was just a wonderful urban legend. You could always call around.
 
Guess it pays not to burn bridges. New vet does not have ProZinc in stock (huh?! This raises all kinds of red flags for me!), called old vet and will pick up bottle today.

AMPS 287 1.8u given. Increased the dose to counter the loss of strength of the insulin. Should have followed my gut and given 2.0u but was hesitant at going there on a 200 PS

+4 299

Do not want to lose one more cycle. When this stuff goes, it goes!!

Thanks for the brand Denise. Will head over the bridge and pick up a bottle from Whole Foods today. Sure beats waiting a week, PLUS the value is better!
 
Good Evening Everyone!

Picked up the bottle of ProZinc and looking forward to a good cycle. (Paws crossed)
Recaping the day:
AMPS 287 1.8u given and fed
+4 299
+6 300
+11 252
PMPS 274 1.6u given (NEW VIAL) and fed Purina DM. Thinking the new vial may be stronger so went with a higher carb content to offset. Hope we see some green. It's been a while. :mrgreen:
 
I was looking at your ss when you added that +4 71, you will want to stay on top of that for the next few hours.

Today's cycle looks slightly inverse suggesting too much insulin. You may want to think about lowering your dose.
 
Yes. +5 is 40. Nadir is usually +5-+6. Just gave more DM and a bit of a gravied food to raise him up. Pretty certain we will see a dump on 40. Rats.
 
This is super annoying. Fed higher carbed food at shot time to ward this off, in case the new insulin was stronger and it still happens. The best laid plans...
 
Wow! The new vial made a huge difference. Hopefully he will start to move up as you are close to nadir.

Regular carbs unless he drops below 40. Then, gravy off high carb. Lower, honey.

You watched others doing this, Lisa. You and Jax will be fine.

And what lovely numbers! Time to reduce. :-D
 
Re: Jax +5 45BG

Glad you popped in Sue. I feel much calmer now. :smile:

Going to test him again in at half past the hour. Won't give any more gravy unless he drops under 40. He should be on the rise soon.
 
Did you read my last post?

Your dose looks too high overall, even though you will probably have a high AMPS from the low number I would not raise the dose, instead I would lower your dose in the morning.

Feeding higher carb food to be able to shoot your regular dose is a LL trick and does not work for PZ as you have found out.

Keep testing tonight and updating.
 
Re: Jax +5 45BG

Hi Robin,

Did not think 1.6 was too high as I've been shooting that for almost 2 weeks? Raised to 1.8 last cycle because I needed to test to see if the insulin was going flat. Mid cycle is when he gets fed and the 299-300 reflects that. However, this new vial is stronger and definitely merits a decrease.

+5.5 49
 
Rob & Harley said:
Feeding higher carb food to be able to shoot your regular dose is a LL trick and does not work for PZ as you have found out.

I fed a higher carb tonight wary of the fact that the new vial may indeed be stronger and didn't want to feed lower carbs in light of that.
 
Re: Jax +5 45BG

You are right the new vial is probably more potent.

I went back and looked at the last two weeks and it looks like Jax would be a good candidate for a sliding scale. If you're interested I can work one up tomorrow.
 
Re: Jax +5 45BG

+5.75 57BG

Thank you for the offer but I promised my new vet that I would hold his dose. For me that is nothing short of a miracle. :lol: Before holding the 1.6u we were all over the place and we started getting some consistent #'s when I held. I think he may work better on a fixed dose. Regardless of AMPS I should probably bring him down to 1.2?

Hoping we don't get a dump or bounce but that is highly unlikely.
 
Re: Jax +5 45BG

A bounce is highly likely but at least you are bracing for it.

Good luck with holding the dose, I really hope it works out . :thumbup
 
Sorry Lisa that Jax dropped. You are doing great!!! Just wanted you to know i was here and watching. Looks like Jax is leveling off a bit.

Good job!

lori
 
Lisa, have to sign off and get some zzzzz. I will keep you and Jax in my prayers tonight and for tomorrow for the tigger hop...NOT.....

You really are doing a great job with this. SO calm!!

Lori
 
Thanks Lori, Sue and Robin. I'm going to call it a night.

+7 67 I hope Tigger doesn't make an appearance too...or if he shows up, he's wearing yellow or pink to my AMPS party.

Good night everyone.
 
Lisa,

I hope everything worked out well with Jax.

This is kind of "off topic" at this point...but I buy Relion u100 syringes at Walmart. They are 3/10 ml, 31 gauge, 5/16" length short needle. They don't feel as smooth & nice as the expensive BD's (I noticed a slight difference in the beginning when I switched from BD). But here's the kicker...box of 100 for about $12.50 (here in PA). I don't know if you can beat the quality vs. price factor. My vet gasped when she heard how little I was paying. :shock: :-D

Deb
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top