2/1 Zelda +11 132

6:45.

She woke me up early (5:30 or so) howling for food. I got the 132 BG at 5:45. At that point it was either give her some food or deal with an hour of yeowling and other drama. Mornings are typically a little trickier with her because of the whole sleep factor and once she realizes I'm awake, heaven help me if feeding her isn't the first thing I do.

(There's a reason I chose that picture of her. That's her in the kitchen, yelling for food.)
 
My boy is like that, he demands food as soon as he sees we are awake.:rolleyes:
What I keep in the fridge for occaisions like this is a little plain poached chicken breast, if I have to give him something because he'll chew my arm off and it's close to PS then I give him a few small pieces of chicken, it doesn't appear to influence his BG so I know the PS number is a number I can trust, and I know whether it's safe to use.
 
Damnit, +3 246.

There was no dry food I swear. Clearly my 0.1 is not as repeatable as I thought.
Or she may have dropped into lower greens last night and this is a bounce, it might be why she was howling for food early this mornings, some kitties will get quite demanding when there BG drops fast or into a lower range than they are used to.

FWIW George would come and find me when his BG dropped low.
 
I think holding the .1u is good. Looks like some bounce in there.

I also had some type of lc treat available for Jones in the morning when we were first starting out and had more options available to us.
 
Maybe. This looks more like a missed shot to me though. I'm willing to bet all she got was an air bubble. I just need to practice more this afternoon.
 
Btw NEVER give more insulin when you don't know how much got in her.
Not only could it overdose her, but it can also make for 2 nadir.
 
Last edited:
Make sure you get another test at +4 or +5 to make sure that the 1 drop you gave at +3 isn't pushing her down too far.
 

I'm glad there's not a huge drop there. It does complicate things a little with that number being both +6 and +3(from 1 drop). you may have to keep an extra eye out tonight if you shoot since there will be some cycle extension from this morning.
 
Btw NEVER give more insulin when you don't know how much got in her.

I understand your point, but just something to consider: My "good" 0.1's (assuming she got anything this morning) average the equivalent of 4 drops, and vary by roughly +/- 1 drop. So it's also possible that this morning wasn't a zero, but turned out to be only 3 drops. Either way, if we're now sensitive to 1 drop variances (and it sure looks like we are), then I'm more concerned about too much variability in the 0.1 than I am about being off cycle.

I'm glad there's not a huge drop there. It does complicate things a little with that number being both +6 and +3(from 1 drop). you may have to keep an extra eye out tonight if you shoot since there will be some cycle extension from this morning.
Yes, agreed, and I'm continuing to monitor of course.
 
What would be the downside in doing two drops per injection "session" (which I know would be reliable and consistent) for a few days, starting tonight, and re-evaluating after that?

Edit - I mean 2 injections of 1 drop each, every 12 hrs.
 
Sorry, yes exactly.

I'd be finding a new profession if I could draw 2 drops reliably. :)

Lol had to ask, cause maybe you did find a way :)
I can't see any reason to not do that. I like that it would be easier to be consistent. What is the comparison of 2 drops vs the 0.1u?
 
Based on my pictures in the other thread, 1 drop is (conveniently!) almost exactly 1/4 of what I was calling 0.1.

So we'd effectively be halving it.

Yeah I really don't like the idea of continuing at 0.1. Whether this morning was a missed dose entirely, or 3/4, or whatever, we already know she got in the green last night if not lime green, so even if we don't have "proof" that she earned a dose reduction, I feel like there are enough good reasons to attempt it now, not the least of which is I just don't have the wherewithall to keep testing 5-6 times a day including overnight and being at the knife's edge every day. So worst case she has a few days in Blue and Yellow and we go back up, right? Best case she stays right on track to remission.

I assume there are no reported cases of symptomatic hypoglycemia at 2 drops / 12 hrs, correct?

Edit - One thing I didn't note in the other thread was that due to gravity, smaller drops will more closely adhere to a spherical shape on the surface I was using than larger drops. So if anything, 1 drop is likely more than 25% of what I was calling 0.1, because the 0.1 drop would be flatter causing me to underestimate its volume relative to the single drop.
 
Last edited:
I don't know that we have had anyone do 2 drop doses before.
I don't think I can answer that- it is less likely, but not impossible if I could make a guess. Hopefully there is someone that knows better that can weigh in
 
Yeah, I mean, if I keep getting greens and negative urine I will obviously ramp up my monitoring accordingly. But I also would fall out of my chair if someone said that 2 drops could lead to hypo symptoms in a well fed cat. If so that's one terrifyingly potent drug.
 
+9 215, and she had 1/2 can FF between the last test and now.

I'm almost 100% certain this morning was a zero dose. But I'm also encouraged that 1 drop had an impact. I'm going with 2 drops for a few days unless anyone has a strong feeling differently.
 
Drops are very nice and repeatable. Even the one I messed up a little when I dropped it onto the plastic cause my hands were shaking, still is very close to the average.

I need to try this with different syringes though.

p.png
 
I'd be interested in seeing what different syringes does for drop size. Particularly the difference in needle gauge and length.
 
Yes, the plunger, needle gauge, and length would all play into it, the plunger being most significant. We're using the pressure created between the plunger and needle end of the barrel wall to create an equal but opposite negative pressure in the vial which causes the "drop" to draw out into the needle when the thumb is lifted and the pressures balance. That determines how much gets drawn in (not the needle length or gauge), though the physical characteristics of the needle could influence how much of that is retained (probably slightly less than 100% of what is drawn in).

Incidentally we're doing the exact same thing when injecting the drop; creating negative pressure under the skin equal and opposite to the pressure between the plunger and barrel wall. Hence the need to hold the plunger when withdrawing, otherwise we'd just draw air in from under the skin.

Whoever came up with this approach was either trained in mechanical engineering or otherwise really smart!
 
Last edited:
PMPS 212

Curious. One of the flattest curves I've ever seen. More convinced than ever that 2 drops is our number. Commencing tonight.
 
High and flat- definitely interesting. You are much safer with the 2 drops at this point- if she is clearing a bounce, there is less insulin in her to nosedive tonight.
It's still a very good idea to get a +2 to see how it's going, especially since there will be that drop dose affecting the night cycle by 3 hrs.
 
Lol I knew you were gonna say that .

Don't take offense but I'm giving us both a break tonight. The ears are getting a little red and we're still treating an ear infection. Given that 1) tonight's cycle is going to be influenced by my rogue drop earlier today and thus nothing about it is going to be truly representative; 2) we wouldn't give any more insulin before tomorrow morning in any circumstances; and 3) there's no realistic risk of issues tonight (she ate heartily), I'm gonna monitor again AMPS tomorrow and go from there.

Thanks everyone. Couldn't get through this without your help!
 
Back
Top