? 2/1 Spot AMPS 385 /+3 267 /+6 225 /+9 316 /PMPS 326

SpotsMom

Member Since 2018
Previous

Today’s AMPS is his highest reading since starting Lantus. Not really sure what’s going on. His numbers seem to be creeping up with the increased dose. I stuck with 1.75u today to see if he settles a bit. He did have a tendency to bounce with Prozinc if I took him up too fast.. maybe he’ll do better waiting 5-7 days between increases instead of just 3? Anyone else experienced this?
 
And a 120 pt drop in 3 hours is probably the most movement he’s gotten too... I see no indication that he’s dropping too low at any time but the bouncing makes me crazy!
 
Well this turned into the most active cycle he’s had since switching. I’m glad I decided to hold off on the increase today. I know he’s not even borderline unsafe but the steep ups and downs can’t be fun for him.
 
Still no blue on this dose, I would increase tomorrow to 2.0 units. Per TR, increase every 6 cycles if nadirs are above 200.
 
I guess what I was asking is would it be more beneficial for Spot to switch to SLGS? I know I can test often enough to do TR but I’m wondering if slowing down the increases will help keep him more stable. I am obviously new to how Lantus works but I worry that if I increase now he’ll just end up with higher highs...
 
I don't think switching to SLGS will help. The longer he lingers in high numbers, the more glucose toxicity sets in. The byproduct of which is potentially having to go to an even higher dose to hit that breakthrough. It possible to see some higher highs temporarily, as he bounces when he eventually sees healing healthy numbers he isn't used to. But the only way to get rid of bouncing is for his little body to spend time in those nice numbers.
 
Back
Top