2/1 - Sami - PMPS 394; +1 449; +3 361; +4 324; ??When to test next??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

So if everything I have read is true Sami should be taking another dip today.

This morning is the 6th cycle and I am wondering based on her numbers what I should do. Should I give an increase or hold for now. Her numbers are still pretty high, but her AMPS and PMPS have been slowly dropping. I know a few of the experts have also mentioned that it is important to be a bit more aggressive with a cat who has come off remission.

So should I increase tonight, and if so how much, or should I hold this dose for another cycle or two because of the bounce yesterday morning.
 
Last edited:
Good morning. :coffee:

I would say that if you're going to increase the dose, I would try only increasing by 0.25 instead of 0.50. If you increase by 0.50, it may be too much and she could drop quickly, perhaps a bit too quickly, and you don't want that. All I know is that she definitely needs more insulin, and sometimes it's better to err on the side of caution. Hopefully others will come by soon to help you, as well. Good luck! You're both doing a wonderful job. :D
 
Yes, she might drop into the 200's again, but then she might not. That's the uncertainty with feline diabetes as you can never tell what's going to happen until you try something. You may end up increasing by a drop if she drops too much with a 0.25u increase, which in itself, may be too much of an increase. *shrug* All you can do is try it and see what happens. Just remember, though, no matter what you do, there'll be someone on here to help you. And also, be sure to have your emergency kit handy just in case. :)
 
@Angela & Blackie & 3 Others I have plenty of MC and HC food on hand in case she does go low, and I will be home for the next 48 hours (or so), so I will be able to monitor her either way. We are expecting a big snow storm here and I am not planning on leaving the house at all today.

I will probably get another check at +5.
 
I would increase her dose by 0.5u tonight unless you see several hours of yellow today. If she just takes a toe dip into yellow and goes right back up, I would take the dose up to 1.5u tonight.
 
Recap last night and today:

PMPS - 363
+2 - 399
+4 - 365
+8 - 369
+10 - 350


AMPS - 356
+2 - 341
+5 - 346
+7 - 373

I am happy that she seems to be staying in the 300's and not venturing into the 400's or 500's, but I am concerned that we are not seeing a curve. She is staying pretty flat. Is there some significance to that?

I don't understand why she dropped from 597 to 161 on 1/26 when she was given 1.0 unit, but now at 1.0 unit she is barely moving on the scale. Is this a bad sign?
 
Sami's high and flat, that means not enough insulin. Definitely better than red and blacks! I'd increase by 0.5U tonight. She's still on a relatively small dose.

On 1/26, she was breaking a bounce. Sometimes there can be a lot of downward momentum as the bounce disappears. Add to that extra insulin and cats in that case can go lower than the dose would normally take them.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thanks for that information about 1/26, I went back and looked at the spreadsheet to see what you mean. What was she bouncing from? The lower numbers on 1/24???
 
Yes, she was probably bouncing from the blues on the night of the 24th. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to resolve.
 
Okay, I increased the dose to 1.5 unit. She had two very flat cycles in a row and I really want to help get those numbers down. Until this current cycle she had a droping Pre-shot number since she started on the 1.0 unit dose, but for some reason she was a bit higher today. Maybe because last night and during the day were the first two days that I allowed food to be out during the first 9 hours of the cycle.

I hope the 1.5 unit dose brings the numbers down. I have plenty of HC and MC food on hand if it is needed. I also have syrup if necessary too. I will provide an update at +2.
 
I know it wasn't necessary for me to get a +1 but I did and was very disappointed that she was over 400. I know she is bound to go up after eating, but it was still discouraging.

Do you think it would be okay to wait until +3 to get the next test. She is on an increased dose, but I don't think she will drop into the danger zone in 2 hours. Advice please.
 
I think you could easily afford to test at +3 or even +4. If you're concerned that numbers may respond to the increased dose, then test at +3.
 
I guess I will see how she is acting, and see if I can hold out until +4, that way I don't have to poke her at +3 and then at +4 before I go to bed. But then again it might give me an idea of if she is dropping if I test at bot +3 and +4, and then I can determine how long I can comfortably sleep before I test again.
 
Sami is down to 324 at +4, she dropped almost 40 points in about an hour, at this rate should I test again at +5 or should she be safe to wait until +6. I am leaving some food out so it will be available if she needs it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top