2/1 Muffin pmps 60 +2 56 +3 47 Boys' Labs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

1/31 Recap:
amps 115 shot her new reduced dose of 1 drop
+2.5 132
+5.5 88
+7.5 94
+12 60
+12.25 58
+12.5 60
Pmps 81 (+13) shot 1 drop
+3 70
+10.75 85


Good Friday Morning LL! Yesterday was yet another "different" day for Muffin. I had assumed she was on her way up after +7.5, but she surprised me with a late cycle dip. She doesn't usually do this, and since she's been doing so many new things this time on insulin, I decided to stall for the pm shot until I was sure she was on the rise. As Marje pointed out, I could have shot on time, I've shot numbers like that many times, but not during this round of insulin. So I decided better safe than sorry. Muffin didn't seem too miffed that she had to wait an extra hour for breffis this morning, so all is good there.

Yesterday I took Cleetus and Shnookie to the vet. Cleetus spent most of the day there, while they waited to get a urine sample from him. Waiting for the results of that today. Shnookie went in because his appy's been off, which is a first for him. He's seemed a little lethargic lately, but it's a bit hard to tell with him, since he's not very active anyway. There have been a few things from him that he's been doing differently, but very minor and possibly explained away. Then yesterday he was laying on my desk, which he never does. He came to me for 2 shnuggle sessions, but then would go back and sleep on the desk. He refused dinner, then got up and scooted his butt across the floor, so I added anal glands to my mental list of things to check at the vet. We are doing BW with a specfPL. His anal glands were full, so he got those expressed. Dr said his bladder was distended, and wanted me to keep him locked in my room to make sure he was able to urinate. This morning I haven't seen any evidence that he has urinated. I can't be 100% sure, with so many other cats, but I don't see any clumps the size I would expect from him even normally, let alone if he had to go extra bad. So I have a call in to Dr, to see if maybe I should take him back today so he can check his bladder. Shnookie is not acting like he's in any pain or discomfort today, he ate ok, not great, and he did drink a good amt of water this morning. So waiting to talk with doc.

Will update when I get news, and I hope everyone has a great Friday!
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114

Ah Muffin, you must like to surprise your bean too. What cat wants to be predictable? ;-)

Sending good vetty report vines to Cleetus and Snookie.
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114

Hi Anne,
Hope vet report for Cleetus and Shnookie is a good one. Have a good :mrgreen: day
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114 +2.5 74

And we have Green! :mrgreen: She hasn't eaten much yet, tho. I would say 75% of her first breffis is still sitting there, and she is in her chair by her heater, so not sure what's up with that.

Talked to the vet, and labs are in. Cleetus does not have a UTI, and no crystals seen. PH is good. He did say urine was a bit concentrated, so to try and get more water into him. Dr asked if anything stressful has happened to Cleetus lately, and there's been nothing that I know of or can think of. Of course I don't know every little thing that happens in his life, or exactly how he's feeling about it. He said something could have stressed him out, and caused bladder irritation, and that would cause the frequent trips to the LB with small amts of urine. So we are going ahead with the Clavimox, as he said it will soothe any bladder irritation. If he still shows these symptoms after the AB is done, he may think about putting him on some anxiety meds, but I hope that won't be necessary, and I don't think it will.

Shnookie's labs "actually look really good," he said. T4 is under control at 1.8, specfPL is normal at 2.9, liver and kidney values are all good. Cholesterol was a little high, but he, Kibby, and Muffin always show high cholesterol. I would then think it would be due to diet, but Muffin eats totally different fuds than the boys. Maybe it runs in the family? Who knows. Eosiniphil was high - ref range is 2-12% and Shnookie's is 13%, so he's sending home a broad spectrum de-worming pill just in case. If he doesn't have worms, it won't hurt him, so I'll probably give that in the morning. And we are to continue the metronidazole.

Shnookie was hollering to get out, so I locked him in my room with me and surrounded the litter box with potty pads. After about 5 mins, he got in the LB and peed. And it was not a large clump, like I was expecting, so I suspect that one of the clumps from last night was his. So at this point, it's looking like it may have just been his anal glands making him feel crummy. He definitely is feeling better this morning. I gave bupe last night, but skipped it today, as he doesn't seem to need it. After using the LB, I let him out of my room and was going to let him outside, but he went to the kitchen instead and had a "shnack" so that's another good sign. He's now laying on the dining room chair, getting in a "shnap" and when he asks to go out next, I'll let him go. :lol:

So good news here.
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114 +2.5 74...+9.5 71 Boys' Labs

Muffin's had a gorgeous green surf going all day long! I am just thrilled with her SS lately!

Shnookie seemed to be feeling better this morning, but never left his dining room chair all day. He did come to the kitchen when he heard dinner being served, but stayed on the floor. I picked him up and put him at his dish, and he didn't want it. He does sometimes get picky, but if it's simply a matter of flavor, he'll sit there and ask for food. This time he just jumped down. Then he asked to go out, so I did let him out, hoping it will help his spirits, but I won't let him stay out long. I'll probably give pain meds tonight, to see if that helps.
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114 +2.5 74...+9.5 71 Boys' Labs

Nice greens for Muffin today. I'm glad you got good labs back for the boys. I hope they both continue to feel better.
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114 +2.5 74...+9.5 71 Boys' Labs

If he's on an AB, it could be throwing him off a bit. You might want to ask the vet about sterile cystitis. If you take a look at Dr. Lisa's website, she has a great section on UTIs and cystitis. I believe that glucosamine is used to treat it (e.g., Cosequin). If what you read makes sense, you might want to discuss it with your vet, especially if Schnookie still seems a bit "off."
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin amps 114 +2.5 74...+9.5 71 Boys' Labs

Now I know why binks has hi numbers...he Want to hang out with his best girlfriend...u
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin pmps 60 Boys' Labs

Apparently giving me a 60 at +12 is the new thing to do, so I shot it tonight. I certainly can't afford to stall for another hour. It would be nice to sleep in that much tomorrow morning, but the nighttime would be ridiculous :lol: And I'm sure she'll be fine - I just hope she eats more tonight than she ate today. Only ate about half of her first serving of breffis throughout the entire day. It's a pretty big serving, she doesn't always get a second breffis, unless she asks for it. She did eat a little around +9. She did seem anxious for dinner, so I hope she eats better.

Sienne - I will read Dr Lisa's UTI section, thank you.

CELI AND BINKS!! - How are you two?! Binks is having high numbers? I hope everything is ok with you both, it's wonderful to hear from you! We miss you!
 
Re: 2/1 Muffin pmps 60 +2 56 Boys' Labs

+2 56 and she's eaten well. She ate all her first dinner, and I fed her again at +1. Most of that is gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top