2/1 Fortune AMPS 328 +1 429 +2 361 +4 320 PMPS 129 +1 128 +2 153 - when is it "safe" to go to bed?

RachelG

Member Since 2021
Yesterday was very eventful!

We did a .25 IU reduction last night and he is back in the pinks and reds. This kitty is so dramatic. :rolleyes: Of course it had to be when he was going to a new vet that he hits the greens!

He doesn't seem to be feeling well - I cannot tell if he is warm because he was snoozing in front of the heating vent (he is now cozy and dozing on the couch next to me) or because he isn't feeling well. His ears are very warm (fever or heating vent? idk) which has made BG testing easy, but I'm so worried about him. Will keep watching to see if he cools down. Shouldn't take long in this blizzard hitting us! I'm freezing!

Both my boys have these cute beds from Cat Balls with an opening in the back that sits in front of the heating vent. It's hilarious - when they are "cooked" they lay half out, so it looks like the beds (which look like a whale and a shark) are eating them. :D

Is it normal to see 4 different colors in one cycle?
 
Would love to see a pic of those cat beds, they sound very cute!
Is it normal to see 4 different colors in one cycle?
I wouldn't call it "normal" but not unusual. My girl, back in the day, was known to do black to green in one cycle (6 colours), and also red to lime green and back up again in one cycle. Drama Queen! For a while, I actually nick named her the Rainbow Queen.

The good news for you, you can put away the test kit for the day. :rolleyes:
 
Oh she liked to keep you on your toes!! I like that she was "Rainbow Queen." We nicknamed Fortune "King Kitty" cuz he is the boss of the domain and likes to perch high to survey his kingdom ;)

So why am I able to stop when he is higher? I'm not 100% clear when to stop testing, and why. o_O I understand testing when he is lower it's to prevent/catch hypo, and I thought it's also important to catch the dips. Sorry for all the questions, just a bit confuzzled!
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note, this is a "typical" Lantus cycle:
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.


Note the comment about +2. A "typical" Lantus cycle has the +2 about the same as the preshot. An active cycle that will definitely need more testing has a +2 lower than the preshot. A quiet cycle with not as much testing needed (often but not always from a bounce) has a higher +2. Take a look at yesterday AM and this morning and you can see where that +2 helps you see what the cycle is like. Yesterday that +2 was a big heads up, and fortunately you were testing and caught it. Today Fortune is bouncing and won't be doing the low or typical cycle that needs more testing. Note, the +2 doesn't work for all cats on Lantus (it didn't for Neko, for her a +3 was better), but it seems to be doing the trick for Fortune.

Getting that +2 at night can really help you get more sleep. For example, you didn't need to test after +2 last night. Take a look at the rest of Fortune's SS and see if you can see what the +2's tell you about his cycles. I was all about learning how to maximize sleep and minimize testing. I spend quite a bit of time looking for BG patterns. Those patterns can occur over several cycles. And they also differ by cat.
 
Getting that +2 at night can really help you get more sleep. For example, you didn't need to test after +2 last night. Take a look at the rest of Fortune's SS and see if you can see what the +2's tell you about his cycles. I was all about learning how to maximize sleep and minimize testing. I spend quite a bit of time looking for BG patterns. Those patterns can occur over several cycles. And they also differ by cat.

This elaboration is really helpful. We have been trying to see the full cycle to make sure we aren't missing something, but gosh we are tired.

Of course after being in the reds and pinks earlier today, he dropped to 129 at PMPS! :rolleyes: Now I'm holding my breath giving him the shot. I hope he stay stable - but we have syrup just in case. Ooofff.
 
Well, Fortune is at 128 at +1 after dinner, so I'm stress eating oreos. Hoping he doesn't drop too low, but it feels like we are going to be up for awhile!
 
Let's see what that +2 does. What is his normal feeding schedule?
We are at 158 - last cycle when he dipped he didn’t eat (fasting for the vet) and we only gave a half dose, so I’m hoping the food keeps him up!

In the morning we feed him right after AMPS around 930am right now (slowly moving back), in the evening it’s a longer routine - PMPS test, meds, then food, tonight at 9:15pm. He will occasionally get a treat after a BG test, but otherwise he doesn’t eat during the day.
 
Maybe one more test before bed, but it looks like he nadired late in the cycle, then maybe bounce? Good for your sleep cycle.
 
All clear, thank you so much for all the help!

+3 was 220. I think we're calling it a night :)
 
Does Fortune not want to eat during the day? It's easier on the pancreas if they'll eat more smaller meals. You can answer in tomorrow's post, hope you are sleeping.
 
Back
Top