2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/1 Elian's Rollercoaster ride 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5

He certainly is keeping you on your toes! Great job on monitoring him and catching that drop. I love how they just lounge around like nothing's happening while the beans are nailbite_smile Hopefully he will surf safely for the rest of the day!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

I just tested him again - 63 at +6.5. Do I need to keep testing to keep an eye on him or is this where he should be and I need to relax and revel in it? I'm nervous about him going too low - our first time. Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

The general rule is that you want to see at least 2 rising numbers without the influence of food. He should be at the point where the insulin should be losing it's kick, but until you get more data and get to understand how Elian works on the inside, I would probably get at least one more number. It looks like he's surfing nicely!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Wow, that is a big break! I understand the nervousness that comes from starting to see green! Hope it's something you have to get used to, though. :)

I'll let the more experienced people comment on exactly what to do, but since you haven't heard from anyone yet, and from a relative newbie's experience, I can tell you that you'll want to start to get some data to better understand when Elian tends to nadir. For example, I've learned about Jackson that for the most part, he hits his nadir a bit before +6, so if I see 60s (or 50s) anytime around in there, I don't worry too much about it going down after that.

Since it's your first time with these kinds of numbers, you may want to keep an eye out until PMPS -- most nadirs are around +6, so you may likely not see lower numbers from here on out, and I don't think you need to do 30 minutes intervals, but you may want to get in a few more tests before PMPS just to see what he does. The protocol suggests that getting a +10 and +11 can be helpful, I think...you may want to reread that.

Also, I'd (re)read the sticky on shooting low PS numbers -- you may need to get yourself ready to do that!

Good luck! Surf the green, Elian!

Sarah and Jackson
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

I semi-freaked and immediately gave him food when I saw the 55. He rose to 66 within a half hour but then went slightly backwards to 63. I will test him again now - it's been another hour. Boy is he gonna hate me. :(
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Thanks Sarah - I did re-read about low numbers. I have the Karo syrup but need to buy some high carb food. I have some leftover cans of Friskies but don't know that those qualify. I'm gonna keep a close eye on him today and test frequently. Would love it if his body will now start giving me those green numbers. He's a tough one to work with since he's my most easy going guy - never been a player, jumper, runner like the other 3. He's always been my hider - until I finally took away his hiding spots so that I have access to him when necessary. What I'm trying to say is that judging his behavior/activity is difficult since he doesn't do much even when he's feeling at his best!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

I understand that freak-out! It's good, to understand how he reacts to food -- so you've gained some more information there. And knowing that he responds well (i.e., his BG goes up quickly) to food (and LC, at that), it can give you confidence and reassurance when it comes to steering him out of even lower numbers -- knowing that if need be, you can get them to a safe range with food. And that's important because you'll likely see some lower numbers that will lead to dose reductions!

You're doing great!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Yes, yes for more green numbers -- this is a good sign!

I would recommend that you buy some HC FF before you give him the PM shot. You were less than 10 points away from needing to steer him up a bit, and the more experienced folks will have you use HC wet food to do that -- usually 1 or so tsps of the HC food, sometimes mixed with more LC food. This is a reality you'll want to be ready for!

Going with any of the "gravy lovers" Fancy Feasts is good HC food, and kitties love it (at least Jackson and his brother do). Having medium carb food can be helpful when you need something in between, I've heard, but I have yet to buy any of that.

I completely understand the shock that comes from dealing with high numbers to dealing with low numbers! But you get used to it and gain in confidence, I promise.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Keep surfing that nice healing green Elian. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sarah, you should probably do some shopping soon for some high carb food. We don't feed high carb or karo until they get below 50, but Elian has showed you what might be possible soon. Any of the food with gravy, such as the FF gravy lovers or other FF with gravy in the name will do.

BTW, your reaction to give good at the 55 was perfect. Good job! You want him surfing along with a little LC in him and that is what he is doing.

One other thing, you might want to think about doing at +2 test more often. If it's the same or lower than your PS then you know you have an active cycle coming. If you'd seen this big drop earlier, you could have fed a little LC to slow him down. Just saying because Elian had a big drop in 4 hours today and that alone might be enough for a bounce, although the low greens will probably get you one anyway.

Oh, and most important, don't forget to select the :mrgreen: icon on your first post. :-D Be green and proud of it!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

He's now 73 at +8. Just to be prepared - in case he's still low - how do I handle his pm shot? Do I give him the regular 2.5 units? Do I hold off? Do I lower the dose? I'm heading out to the pet store for hc gravy food - just to have it on hand for the future, if necessary, and will be back shortly. I will read and re-read handling a low shot but as I've said before - for some reason it's just not sinking into this brain. :(
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Hi Susie, you could get a +10 or +11 and see where he is at that time. He would normally get his regular dose because he hasn't earned a deduction. You can always get a test at +11.5 and post for help if he hasn't gone up by then. You might want to review the sticky on Shooting Low. It describes several options.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

I'd also add -- as someone who has recently started shooting low -- that the stalling option (holding food and waiting for the BG to naturally come up to a number you feel comfortable shooting at) has its disadvantages. Jackson was fairly low (well, it seemed low at the time, but my comfort threshold is dropping to lower numbers) two nights in a row and I waited to shoot 45 minutes one night and 1.75 hours the next night. Well, this meant that our shooting times were suddenly 2.5 hours later -- which got to be a royal pain for lots of reasons (not the least of which was that I had to stay up till 3:30 to catch his +6).

So stalling may be a good tactic for you while you're gathering more information about Elian's cycles, but it's not a good long-term option. Keep gathering data so you know enough about his patterns so you get to the point where you can shoot lower and lower.

Wendy is right -- just post when you get your PMPS and someone will help you with options -- and even stay up with you, if need be -- to walk you through the process. This is an incredible community.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Susie you would NOT give him his normal dose if he is still at these numbers at PMPS. He probably won't be but you don't! What time do you shoot? Again, he is probably going to bounce even though it looks beautiful today, but Elian does not have enough experience in low numbers for you to be giving him 2.5U when he's below 100. If I'm not at the computer, and you're not getting the help you need feel free to call me.

Edit: not for anything but he hasn't been diabetic long enough for shooting his normal dose at low numbers to have anything more to do with the experience of knowing how he will handle this. He could rise or he could plummet. Earning a dosecrease has nothing to do with it at this stage of the game.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

First of all, let's see where Elian is at closer to shot time. Getting a +11 was a great suggestion.

My hunch is that Elian will bounce -- we might not be sure exactly when, though. If you look at 1/30, that's what happened. Elian is just getting his feet wet when it comes to blue and green numbers.

Caryl's admonishment about shooting lower numbers is a bit strong. We try to temper your comfort level and experience with low numbers with the down side that Sarah so well described. Regardless of what the decision is, there will be people around to lend a hand. We don't tell you to shoot and then disappear. There will be someone with experience keeping an eye on you or anyone who is inexperienced with shooting low numbers. I'll shoot any number above 50. I didn't get to that point overnight but shooting low is good!

Get the +11 and post it in your subject line if you think you'll need help.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian PLEASE ADVISE? 317 amps; 55 +4; 66 +4.5; 63 +6

Sienne and Gabby said:
First of all, let's see where Elian is at closer to shot time. Getting a +11 was a great suggestion.

My hunch is that Elian will bounce -- we might not be sure exactly when, though. If you look at 1/30, that's what happened. Elian is just getting his feet wet when it comes to blue and green numbers.

Caryl's admonishment about shooting lower numbers is a bit strong. We try to temper your comfort level and experience with low numbers with the down side that Sarah so well described. Regardless of what the decision is, there will be people around to lend a hand. We don't tell you to shoot and then disappear. There will be someone with experience keeping an eye on you or anyone who is inexperienced with shooting low numbers. I'll shoot any number above 50. I didn't get to that point overnight but shooting low is good!

Get the +11 and post it in your subject line if you think you'll need help.



True, it's up to you. It's not in MY comfort zone. We all have to do what we are comfortable with. I don't shoot full dose much below 100 but that's me
 
Re: 2/1 Elian 317 amps;55 +4;66 +4.5;63 +6.5;73 +8;105 +10.5

Thanks everybody. I just got a +10.5 and he's only at 105 which is very low for him at this hour. I will continue to keep an eye on him and hold off on his shot for tonight until I feel comfortable giving it to him. I just gave him a little bit to eat - don't want to make him wait several more hours. I really appreciate everybody's input and Caryl is a good friend for 7 years who has been walking me thru on the phone from day one so I feel comfortable with her advice, as well as everybody else's. I'm so glad to have all of you and know I can count on you all to be here to help us thru until I am knowledgeable enough to do this on my own! I will be back with another number in another hour and a half or so.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian 317 amps;55 +4;66 +4.5;63 +6.5;73 +8;105 +10.5

Susie he is rising now and will continue to do so...you will be good to give him his full dose at shot time. It takes a few hours for Lantus to kick in. I said if he was at 63 not over 100. You don't want him to go all the way up again. You may need to be up a lot tonight but check back at shot time. This is the way you get his numbers down. I'm afraid of too low, not low :)
 
Re: 2/1 Elian 317 amps;55 +4....105 +10.5; 220 PMPS

All the worrying for pretty much nothing, hopefully. He did bounce back up - to 220 at +12/pmps. Not as high as he's been in the past but still in a range that should be okay to 'shoot'. So I'm going to give him his regular dose of 2.5 and will check him before bed and during the night. I will wait a few minutes to see if anybody has anything I should be concerned about but I'm guessing it's safe since he's not near 100 or less!
 
Re: 2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 p

Just a reminder...
Unless the numbers from +10 to shot time are in the 40s, you don't want to feed. While I doubt the 220 is a food spike, if you feed too close to shot time, you may know know if the pre-shot number is "real" or if it's influenced by food. Likewise, if you're going to stall a shot, you don't want to feed for the same reason.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 p

nice shooting and very good job dealing with his pretty numbers today. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 p

Thanks. He ate almost two hours ago. I feel fairly confident that he's okay. I gave him his shot and he just ate again. I will check him at +1, +3 and will see where he's at and decide when to check from there.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 p

Unless you have a kitty that dives early (like mine), you're fine to get a +2. I like a +2 or +3 test. If they are lower than your pre-shot, it can indicate that it's an active cycle.
 
Re: 2/1 Elian OK TO SHOOT PM-317 amps;55 +4;105 +10.5; 220 p

Great job today, Susie! The +2 or +3 will help you to give you an idea of what to expect tonight...keep up the good work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top