2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88, +5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS is 146. He's had a couple preshots this low in the evening, but he's never had such a low morning preshot. Should I shoot a little less than the 1.1? I have a light day at work today, so I should be able to come home and check on him at lunch.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146- Shoot a reduced dose?

If you haven't fed yet, retest at 30 minutes after your AMPS test to see if he is rising.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146- Shoot a reduced dose?

Please understand I am not an advisor. But, since you have shot this low before and you will be available to check on him you are probably OK with shooting. If you are more comfortable with a partial dose, you can go with that. Read the sticky on shooting low numbers. Good luck.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146- Shoot a reduced dose?

Yeah, I'm going with my gut. Doing a flat 1.0 then coming back at lunch since I have to leave in about 45 minutes.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146

Hi guys .. how exciting is it when we start seeing the lower morning numbers? I hope atticus has a nice even day for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115

To be honest, I think you would have been find to shoot your regular dose. The 146 is pretty much the same as the 156 you shot the other day and you've shot as low as 135. Atticus' looks lovely in blue, BTW.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115

Sienne, you're probably right. I still get nervous leaving him, though, and we'd never seen an AM number like that. Figured I'd err on the side of caution. If it were a PM dose, or a weekend, I would have done the regular dose. He's done so well, though, that the next time he has a preshot that low, I won't worry about shooting.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115, PMPS 166, +2 59

Oh my! 59 at +2. This is the lowest he's ever been. He's having some MC now.
I was expecting a bounce, not a dive! Here's hoping for a surfin' safari.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115, PMPS 166, +2 59

Good to give him some MC and do a retest within an hour to make sure he is not diving further. If it were me, I'd probably test again within 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47

Uh-oh: 47 at +3. He's munching on some more MC with a few bits of kibble. This has never happened before. He's not showing any symptoms, but I think I'll give him a bit of honey. I'll check again in 30.
If he goes any lower, is it time for the ER even if he doesn't have symptoms?
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47

evil kibble. take that away! you'll be seeing it tomorrow.

give 1 teaspoon of the gravy from a can of high carb, wait 20 minutes or so and retest. we like to move them up so they're not surfing in the 40's.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, AMPS 146, +5 115, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47

just read the rest of your post. no you don't need an ER. we can stay with you and help you steer him. he's likely to follow right along. i'm home all evening and can stay with you - likely others will be on too. no worries. no crisis. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60

60 at +3.5. He's still acting fine.
It's ok Julie, he ignored the kibble anyway. Just gobbled up the MC around it.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60

that's great monica. 60 is perfect. i'd probably check in another 30 minutes and see how atticus is then. you just want to monitor and make sure he stays above 50. it's a lather-rinse-repeat process when they go below 50.

good job!

ps, giving the kibble was fine - i probably shouldn't have said that. it just takes longer to get into the system, raise the BG, and then you see the effects longer. but no harm done, that's for sure.

the first time punkin went below 50 i think i gave him an entire 1/2 can of high carb food. gut reaction, you know! "SAVE THE BELOVED KITTER" was all that was in my head! :lol:
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

88 at +4. How do we know when it's safe to go to bed? One more test at +5?
And don't worry, you didn't freak me out overmuch about the kibble. :)
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

:lol: that's good.

looking at atticus' ss, it looks like most of the time his nadir is fairly early, +3ish, but i see on 1/29 am+6 was about his lowest.

you've got 2 rising numbers that are past the typical (most of the time) nadir, so i'd probably guess you're ok to go to bed. if it were me, i like extra insurance, so i'd probably give some more low carb regular cat food, or leave it out for atticus to have if he wants.

sleep well!
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

Has your heart stopped racing yet?

I think getting two tests where there's no HC involved is a good rule of thumb so getting the +5 sounds like a plan. Now that you're not panicking any more, take a minute to read over the handling low numbers info.

And no, this is not a hypo! Atticus simply dropped into lower numbers. There were no symptoms of hypoglycemia. Having a symptomatic hypo is different than what you saw tonight. Remember, you're following a protocol that's been published in a leading feline veterinary journal. This protocol would never have seen the light of day if it meant that cats were being put in a dangerous situation. YOU were in control. You were testing and you had HC food at your disposal.

Oh. And congrats on the dose reduction! You'll want to reduce Atticus' dose by 0.25u tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

OK, setting out some LC now then going to try to sleep (of course, now I'm a little alert). The feeder will give him some more in about 3 hours, too.

Thank you so much, Julie. I'm really glad you were here.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

Sienne, I definitely had the low number sticky handy. I was freaking a bit mostly because he'd never gone that low before. I'll definitely talk to the vet tomorrow. I had given him his regular 1.1 this evening, but I'll probably do an even 1 unit in the morning.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

Monica you did a fine Job tonite!! The kibble may make him bounce tomorrow, but it was good at the moment--You did the job..Because he was 47, and you are new, he earned a dose decrease for tomorrow.
Oh Sienne already posted I see.
A hypo is usually unmistakable, shaking, staggering,nausea,vomiting, lethargic behavior. A cat can still be in hypo numbers, but be feeling normal--As we are so aware of their behavior, you would see this type of symptoms.
I looked at your SS and seems like his nadir is at about +6, so you have an idea of where he goes--
You are doing a great job--I use MC, HC and at times a few temptations to bring Moonie up..they dont create a big bounce, and bring my girl up quickly(but just a few like 4-5 at a time, they are tiny)
Great Numbers here- you handled it well!! Go to sleepus soon OK? Good job!
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

Way to go Atticus! Monica, I saw a 28 this weekend and it was like. . .what??.? I had to recheck and check the other cat:) it also came out of nowhere and on a lower dose after vacation. They like to keep us on our toes!
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88

Sienne, would it matter what his AMPS was tomorrow? If he's in high yellow, for example, should I still do the fat .75?
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88, +5

Post food spike at +5 and he's down to 79. That's still higher than 60, though, so I'm feeding him some LC and calling it a night.
Thanks to all of you; I'll talk to y'all in the morning.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88, +5

if he bounces high, you can give one more shot at your previous dose and then reduce tomorrow evening. your choice. i always took the reduction immediately.

glad he's doing well & others stopped in too. more heads are always better than one.
 
Re: 2/1 Atticus, PMPS 166, +2 59, +3 47, +3.5 60, +4 88, +5

Great job tonight Monica! (And sweet Atticus, of course :-D ) Congrats on the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top