2/09/22 Mikey AMPS 309 +6 121 PMPS 198 +6 105 2/10/22 AMPS 556. Thoughts

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey seems to do well, and then he jumps up to black. I suppose it was the lower readings on 2/09/22 Vet thought thst I should try a higher dose am to help with bouncing? She is real supportive of this group which is great
Still trying to do SLGS protocol ? Thoughts

thanks,
Tom
 
Hi Tom, some cats are bouncier than others. What helps with bouncing is them getting used to lower numbers. Sharp dives can also cause bouncing. That's something that Mikey does. Drop a couple of hundred points in as many hours. Feeding a little food every hour or two in the first part of the cycle could help with that. Say +1 and +3 in addition to PS.

Lantus is a depot insulin, so you want to shoot the same dose consistently. As you know, dosing is not based on preshots but on how low a dose takes a cat. So dosing a different amount in the AM and PM will not give you the result you want. In fact, you will not know which dose Mikey is responding to.

With SLGS you would reduce the dose when his BG drops below 90.
 
Hi Tom, some cats are bouncier than others. What helps with bouncing is them getting used to lower numbers. Sharp dives can also cause bouncing. That's something that Mikey does. Drop a couple of hundred points in as many hours. Feeding a little food every hour or two in the first part of the cycle could help with that. Say +1 and +3 in addition to PS.

Lantus is a depot insulin, so you want to shoot the same dose consistently. As you know, dosing is not based on preshots but on how low a dose takes a cat. So dosing a different amount in the AM and PM will not give you the result you want. In fact, you will not know which dose Mikey is responding to.

With SLGS you would reduce the dose when his BG drops below 90.
Thanks, so would you think that I should stay at 2.75 for a bit and then drop when his BG dips below 90, which makes more sense then going back to 3.0. Always so appreciative of the feedback.
I was a bit uneasy about the spilt dose thing :):)
 
You could stay at 3U and reduce if he drops below 90. If you can monitor and are comfortable with lower numbers, you also have the option of setting a lower reduction point with SLGS - say 70 or 80 depending on your comfort.

That way you can hold a dose in which Mikey sees safe, higher greens.
 
Back
Top