2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187, +6 199, dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL!

Chaos is still in the flat yellows. Now, please, before anyone says anything about my lack of night time checks last night, I want you to understand something. On top of the other medical issues I've been through, I also have panic disorder. Normally I handle it well and don't let it get in the way of my life and those who depend on me, but last night I was obliged to spend the evening in a xanax coma. Once in a while it gets right on top of me and there's nothing I can do to feel better except take the pill. Today isn't much better but I am doing everything I can to snap out of it. So, that being said...

WCR: cheerful kitty, got to spend the night with me on the couch. I'm still frustrated with his numbers, though. Looking through the protocol and his spreadsheet, I'm thinking it might be time to go up another 0.25 unit. Am I moving too fast?
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, dose question

Your instincts are good. You can raise the dose after 3 days (6 cycles). I think you've got room to bring Chaos' dose up to 1.25u.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, dose question

Hi Violet, Sending some vines for you today!!
Chaos looks as if he could have a .25 dosecrease, since you've been on the current dose for about 7 or 8 cycles. I would do it, but wait to see what others think.

Have a better day today!!

Ella & Rusty

Oh, good. I see that Sienne has given the go-ahead!
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, dose question

I can't help. Maybe the tight regulation protocol isn't ideal for Chaos and someone can recommend dosing just to get you guys into the blues somehow, if thats possible.

Hugs to you. I know how debilitating anxiety can be. Hope you have a great support system and anxiety expert that you see. ((((hugs))))
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, dose question

Violet, I can totally relate to you because I have some severe insomnia issues and some nights I just have to take a major sleeping pill to even get a few hours sleep. So don't beat yourself up about the testing. Good luck with the dosing and I hope you are feeling better soon.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, dose question

Sorry you're having a hard time, hope it passes soon.
And good luck with the increase if you go ahead with it.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187, dose question

Thanks for the healing vines and kind words, everyone. Sometimes it just sucks to be me, I guess. It's been almost 24 hours since I'd eaten anything so I just took a chance on a bowl of cheerios. I should be feeling better sooner or later. Anxiety prevents me from eating so I have to do a few force feedings once in a while. I know how those poor syringe-fed kitties feel sometimes- it is not fun! It helps to laugh at myself and how irrational panic is, so c'mon everyone, help me out: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

But for Chaos, finally a little action! We've gone from 226 to 187. So something's happening this cycle, and I'll see where he is in 3 hours. We'll see if this is a fluke or if he's really going to respond to 1u...but my instincts still say an increase is on the way, especially if this blue is a fluke and we see more flat yellow.

More purring during tests today. I am so blessed that my Chaos is a good boy who loves me. Everything I do for him is worth it.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Morning Violet! I hope you are feeling better today.

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope it brings Chaos numbers down over all. The +3 is promising today - I bet with the additional juice he will be seeing some greens soon.

It's wonderful when they purr for tests - love it!
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Good morning guys .. sorry to hear you are not feeling up to par lately, I hope you start feeling better soon ..and I hope chaos starts showing you some action ... you don't want more juice do you chaos? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Hi Violet! Anxiety is a tough thing, it doesn't matter that you know it's irrational...my DD struggles with it, I feel for you. Hang in there and feel better very soon, ok?

Looking at Chaos' SS, I had a thought...when did you open your insulin? I'm wondering if it is pooping out...

I'm glad he's purring for the testing, what a good boy!
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Laurie, that is an excellent thought, thank you! His bottle of Lantus is running low and it's very possible that it's pooping out. Money is tight as I am on unemployment, but I've been putting cash away to get him a new bottle ASAP. Now, when I get him a new bottle, I wonder if I should be cautious and reduce the dose at first to make sure that he doesn't crash? 'Cause if the current bottle has lost some of its potency, my current dose could be too high for full potency insulin, right?
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Can you buy single cartridges?/Pens? Would this help you save money than buying a big vial?
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Possibly, though I have never used cartridges or pens. I could certainly learn! I'd have to call up my vet and see if she can call in a scrip for that, since in OH you need scrips for insulin and they are specific to the type of container, etc.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

Get advice on how to do this most cheaply. Maverick is on micro dosing and his highest dose was 1unit. You don't use the pen per say but you draw the insulin into your syringe from the pen or the cartridge. There is pics on how to do this.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

How long have you been using this vial?

You might try calling around and see if you can buy a single pen or cartridge, and get prices. You will need a script for whichever container you get, of course. Some hospital pharmacies will sell a single pen because they routinely need to open a box to send a pen to the floor for patient use, but other pharmacies may also sell a single pen/cart. Personally, I don't get more than a month from a pen before it poops out...I just open new insulin after 28 days because I don't want to risk losing regulation. Others have gotten a little longer from their pens.

Another option that is less expensive is to order from a canadian pharmacy..some of them are around $100 + shipping for a box of pens. The only problem with that is that it takes time (10 days-2 weeks), and this time of year is not good for shipping insulin due to freezing weather. You will need a prescription for that option as well.

Or you could get another vial to try to get through the next couple of months until the weather breaks, then order from Canada...it's really up to you what you want to do. I haven't used vials, but others here have been able to get a couple of months from a vial before it poops out....some have gone longer.

As Karrie said, you don't use the pen needles....you use the pen/cart as a mini vial, there is a rubber stopper at the end that you insert the syringe into to draw the insulin.
 
Re: 2/07 Chaos AMPS 226, +3 187,dose question

The cartidges are only 3mls. We keep it in the fridge (not on the door) - we've gotten two months out of ours and I replace it then just in case. He's on a low dose though.
 
I'm going to talk to my pharmacist about getting Lantus in smaller amounts and see what the possibilities are locally. I've had this bottle since September, and my vet never told me anything about the insulin pooping out over time. The more I learn here the more upset I get that I was sent home with a diabetic cat and very little information! :evil:

Chaos is 199 now at +6, and I'm beginning to think his nadir is earlier in the cycle maybe? He's eating his +6 meal now. In total, he gets probably 8 or 9 oz- about a can and a half of the 6 oz cans- of food in small meals throughout the day.

I am perking up too, and have been able to eat. :mrgreen: Contemplating running the vacuum so that DH can see that I'm OK when he gets home. It drives him nuts when I don't eat.
 
hi, guys!

best of luck with the new insulin...and IMHO (I am not one of the wise ones, mind you) you're doing just fine!
we all gotta work within the confines of our situation, and i'm impressed that you are coping as well as you are with the obstacles you are facing!
Chaos is one lucky guy to have a determined partner like you!

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top