? 2/02/ Hugo, AMBG 160, 232+9, PMBG 108

MangoPie

Member Since 2024
YESTERDAY'S THREAD

I feel like I can never predict what he's BG is going to do during the day. Here's another weird one for me! It's going up very slowly today. I have to go out today an hour after his usual PM shot so I might skip or stall if his BG doesn't spike up (thoughts on this?)

Considering his usual drops in BG after the PM shot, I'm not super comfortable shooting at lower numbers yet, especially when I'm still new to this and I won't be home to monitor.

Today's readings are still on the Libre 2. I finally have strips for my proper monitor and will decide on what to do based on the PMPS number given by both my Libre 2 and Abbott Freestyle.

Really scared today! I'll only be out for 2 hours but he's so unpredictable I can't fathom leaving him after his shot just yet.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko sorry for the pings, feel free to take your time! New thread in case you were interested. Thank you so much for your help and time, every day still presents new challenges, hoping things will settle soon :)

@Hendrick Cuddleclaw forgot to reply! Thank you!! Hugo is an oriental tabby point Siamese. I'll have to grab some more pictures when I'm home. He's usually very pretty but at the moment he's a bit skinny and shaved in a bunch of different places. Still got a long way to go with his glow up :joyful:
 
You could always try the 0.1 units. Or however best you can half what you've been doing for the 0.25 unit dose.
 
You could always try the 0.1 units. Or however best you can half what you've been doing for the 0.25 unit dose.

I might try this for now...thank you. I'm not sure if I'll stick to 0.1u, just want to be safe when I'm not around to observe him. Would still love to be more consistent with dosing but with his numbers it feels very complicated. New reader might give me better information and help with consistency.
 
Just in case you haven't seen this
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
No idea what's going on, a low 67 on my new Abbott Freestyle and a 108 on the Libre 2. Will not be shooting tonight. Did not expect numbers to go down like that.
It was a little bit difficult and stressful getting my first blood reading, but I imagine stress makes cat's BG go UP and not DOWN?
 
One would think so. But my cat tended to dive at the vet.

Very odd. The Libre still gave me similar results before I tried getting a blood sample so I feel it's safe to trust the low reading? Will keep an eye on how things trend overnight and perhaps do a shot in the morning if numbers rise again.
 
Small update, managed to get a sample for a blood ketone test-- this time it went more smoothly but I'm giving Hugo's ears a rest for tonight :)
We're at 0.4 mmol/l on my Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo. I haven't been able to find a reference for what's a good and bad number, I imagine you want zero.

Important to note that he just came out of DKA on Monday so we're still recovering. I will bring up the number with my vet in the morning to assess the concern.
 
Small update, managed to get a sample for a blood ketone test-- this time it went more smoothly but I'm giving Hugo's ears a rest for tonight :)
We're at 0.4 mmol/l on my Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo. I haven't been able to find a reference for what's a good and bad number, I imagine you want zero.

Important to note that he just came out of DKA on Monday so we're still recovering. I will bring up the number with my vet in the morning to assess the concern.
From what I found on our site posted by one of our members

I don't think 0.4 on a blood ketone meter is anything to worry about. I read that with a blood glucose meter the time to get concerned is when the meter reads 2.4 to 2.55. That is when the ketones start showing up in the urine. Always good to get her to drink more water though :)

I would definitely add to your signature DKA so members are aware of it , it's important to see

I'll tag a few members to be sure and see if you should test everyday since he just came out of DKA
@MangoPie
 
Last edited:
Small update, managed to get a sample for a blood ketone test-- this time it went more smoothly but I'm giving Hugo's ears a rest for tonight :)
We're at 0.4 mmol/l on my Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo. I haven't been able to find a reference for what's a good and bad number, I imagine you want zero.

Important to note that he just came out of DKA on Monday so we're still recovering. I will bring up the number with my vet in the morning to assess the concern.
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
With recent DKA, you need to try to avoid skipping insulin. Hopefully his appetite is fine and he's getting lots of calories in him. 0.4 is OK on the ketone meter.
 
@MangoPie
I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko only because I think you could have given insulin this morning 2/2 with a BG or 209 instead of skipping .Plus he had a recent DKA .
Maybe 0.1 as Wendy suggested in post #4 and #6
Just trying to help out so you don't need to giving no shots.
Hugo did drop under 90 on 2/2 during the PM cycle ,and can you Please Add DKA to your Signature, it's important.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top