1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
I will be checking Buddy's BG before his 1:30 PM 1st shoot - if needed that is- Sunday (EST) , so I will post them and would like to have some input before I do.

According to what I have read, posted and discussed I have determined (hopefully correct) that he will get 1 unit, and another in 12 hours if his BG justifies it.

I won't lie, we have butterflies in our stomach.

Other than having glucose tubes ready, cell phone and computer on I think Dad is going to need ether a straight jacket or a sedative ready. @-)

I have read the stickys but I always welcome input as well.

Thank you.

Mike
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

I'm new to the Lantus and to all this diabetes stuff as well. I'll let the more experienced chime in here, but I just wanted to say hi and welcome and you'll do just fine! Good luck tomorrow!!!
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Hey Mike welcome to the land of Lantus.

Lots of support and hand holding from friendly folks here....You are in goods hand.

And I hear ya on the butterflies, but you'll do fine butterflies and all.

Good luck w/the first shot. Paws are crossed for ya.
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Hi Mike and welcome to LL. You are in great hands here and will have lots of help and support. Good luck with your first shot. I so understand the butterflies.
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Welcome to Lantus Land! Willie was diagnosed not quite 2 months ago, so I know the nervousness! The people here are truly angels and have helped us so much. I promise that a month from now, you will be amazed at how routine everything has already become.

Have a great night! Good luck!
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Mike --

In response to your PM, I think your syringes are in whole unit increments -- not half units. You will really need the half unit type. Probably a 30 unit total syringe will more likely be in half units. If your Walmart didn't have them, the prices from Hocks is very reasonable. I use their house brand syringe (GNP),
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Mike --

In response to your PM, I think your syringes are in whole unit increments -- not half units. You will really need the half unit type. Probably a 30 unit total syringe will more likely be in half units. If your Walmart didn't have them, the prices from Hocks is very reasonable. I use their house brand syringe (GNP),

Yes, your right. We thought we got the 1/2's.. But, we will make due with these for the moment.

Thanks for the info!
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Hi Mike. I am glad you got started and have already gotten some feedback.Since you tested at about 1 pm I guess that means your next reading will be at about one AM? I guess since you work nights that will work out good for you. I hope everything goes well for you and Buddy. Besides your Florida homestead you now also have a condo in lantus land !
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Welcome to Lantus Land. My cat, Simon, was diagnosed in November 2010 and I was a nervous wreck. Thank goodness for everyone here. They have truly been a lifesaver and I know you will also get a tremendous amount of support from all the experts that have been dealing first hand with FD. Good luck with the testing -- it gets much easier after only a week or so.
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

janelle and Nomad said:
Hi Mike. I am glad you got started and have already gotten some feedback.Since you tested at about 1 pm I guess that means your next reading will be at about one AM? I guess since you work nights that will work out good for you. I hope everything goes well for you and Buddy. Besides your Florida homestead you now also have a condo in lantus land !

Hi, we start the shoot Sunday at 1:30 PM. I keep forgetting to change that header. I am testing him every few hours till Igo to bed, yes. Thank you for your support!
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Georgia and Simon said:
Welcome to Lantus Land. My cat, Simon, was diagnosed in November 2010 and I was a nervous wreck. Thank goodness for everyone here. They have truly been a lifesaver and I know you will also get a tremendous amount of support from all the experts that have been dealing first hand with FD. Good luck with the testing -- it gets much easier after only a week or so.

I sure hope so, he's probably been like this for while and we did not find out till a few days ago. I pray we are going to beat this. Thank you!
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

BooBoo Kitty said:
I'm new to the Lantus and to all this diabetes stuff as well. I'll let the more experienced chime in here, but I just wanted to say hi and welcome and you'll do just fine! Good luck tomorrow!!!

Thank you.
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

I love the little advice from Buddy in your signature line!! :lol: :lol: :lol: We've been at this five months now and I also was a nervous wreck...first I was worried that Gracie would have an allergic reaction to the insulin, then I was worried she'd hypo; the first time she went below 200, we almost put a "911" on the board :lol: :lol: you will be amazed at how quicky you get into a routine. Because we started slowly, we had time to get used to each step before the next big one came along. Some important things to know are: (1) testing and getting data are your friend (2) food is your friend (3) have your hypo kit ready with karo and different % carb foods; you will learn which ones help him and which ones don't (4) don't be too hard on yourself if you overcarb him when he first starts going lower....we all do it; I did it again today. It's constant learning but you'll feel comfortable before you know it and you have all of us :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I love the little advice from Buddy in your signature line!! :lol: :lol: :lol: We've been at this five months now and I also was a nervous wreck...first I was worried that Gracie would have an allergic reaction to the insulin, then I was worried she'd hypo; the first time she went below 200, we almost put a "911" on the board :lol: :lol: you will be amazed at how quicky you get into a routine. Because we started slowly, we had time to get used to each step before the next big one came along. Some important things to know are: (1) testing and getting data are your friend (2) food is your friend (3) have your hypo kit ready with karo and different % carb foods; you will learn which ones help him and which ones don't (4) don't be too hard on yourself if you overcarb him when he first starts going lower....we all do it; I did it again today. It's constant learning but you'll feel comfortable before you know it and you have all of us :lol: :lol:

Hi, thank you. Yep we have food, liquid glucose tubes and cold water (for me) just in case.

If he goes to 200 or less with in "normal" range it will both yes scare me and at the same time I guess strangely make me feel relieved!? Yes, I guess dipping to fast can be a concern.

If his BG reads high I assume we will go with 1unit, if its low maybe 1/2, will not know till 1:30 Pm.

Thanks.


BTW: any errors or lines that sound like babbling forgive me. I have been interneting for hours at a time about this.
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

You will do fine tomorrow, Mike and Buddy. Just relax, take a deep breath, put his dish down so that he can eat while you shoot, and shoot!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Draw up the insulin slowly and draw up a little more than you need. Then twist (rather than push) the plunger while holding the syringe over a paper towel, expelling the excess insulin until you reach your proper dose. Now you are ready to shoot!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

And Mike....we all get nervous when doing that first shot. My hubby just learned this week how to give Gracie her shots and he was a little nervous. The most important thing is to TAKE YOUR TIME....Ella is right...take a deep breath, relax, and take your time when you shoot; see the skin, insert the needle into the skin, push the plunger. Voila!!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
You will do fine tomorrow, Mike and Buddy. Just relax, take a deep breath, put his dish down so that he can eat while you shoot, and shoot!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Draw up the insulin slowly and draw up a little more than you need. Then twist (rather than push) the plunger while holding the syringe over a paper towel, expelling the excess insulin until you reach your proper dose. Now you are ready to shoot!

Thanks, I forgot about that.
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Marjorie and Gracie said:
And Mike....we all get nervous when doing that first shot. My hubby just learned this week how to give Gracie her shots and he was a little nervous. The most important thing is to TAKE YOUR TIME....Ella is right...take a deep breath, relax, and take your time when you shoot; see the skin, insert the needle into the skin, push the plunger. Voila!!


This is when I wish technology had perfected matter transporting or holographic hard light energy. (yeah, I am nerd) Because I would have a bunch of you here with me at 1:30 PM Sunday!!!! But, your hearts and spirit, and FDMB posts and messages will have to do. Thank you
 
Re: 1st shoot around 1PM; BG will be posted - help welcome!

Tena and Curry said:
Hey Mike welcome to the land of Lantus.

Lots of support and hand holding from friendly folks here....You are in goods hand.

And I hear ya on the butterflies, but you'll do fine butterflies and all.

Good luck w/the first shot. Paws are crossed for ya.

Yes, indeed. Thanks!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Just remember that if you need someone, put it in your subject line in caps....so if you don't know whether you should shoot or not, etc, be sure you draw attention to it in your subject line. You'll do great!!! Good luck.
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Just remember that if you need someone, put it in your subject line in caps....so if you don't know whether you should shoot or not, etc, be sure you draw attention to it in your subject line. You'll do great!!! Good luck.

Rest assured I will; honestly I am posting anyways... I want to MAKE SURE I'm doing this right. I have no problems having my hands held electronically. ;-)

Everything is on hold today; laundry, house cleaning, etc. Making sure I have all the stuff out and ready. Glucose tubes, snacks, meter, wash cloth, phone ringer turned off, interenet on, etc... did I forget anything!? ~O)
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Hi Mike
Just stopping by to wish you luck for today.
You will be fine.

Have you had any success in setting up your spreadsheet for Buddy yet.
This is extremely important in having it attached to your signature as we are a very
numbers driven group here.

Also, we run one thread a day, we call them condos and we post all of our questions and thoughts in one place per day.

So, when you are ready to shoot Buddy today, start a new thread, call it 1/30 Buddy AMPS #.
What is also important is to always attach the prior day's "condo" into the current one so
everything that goes on with Buddy can be followed.
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Welcome to lantus land--You are having the same experience we all have- panic, fear, reluctance, nervousness, at the prospect of injecting your cat with insulin & it's consequences--You have joined the greatest support group in existence , and we ALL support each other, with dosing, numbers, testing, shooting & feeding--
Gotta say it through sickness & in health, this forum has been here for me for almost 3 yrs...We will help you & your kitty back to good health!

Mike, Get an orange & take an empty syringe & practice!! You can fill it with water to give you a feeling what it feels like to give a shot!
I was petrified, to do this to m baby, but in doing so, I saved her life--That's what you are doing for Buddy-We cant guarantee he will go into remission(although many cats have) but we can tell you he will regain much of his health & well being!!
My Moonie is well happy & reasonably healthy, but does have diabetic neuropathy--She is pretty much regulated on lantus & leads a happy life--It wasnt always like this!!!
I was so overwrought by this disease, I could have had her better sooner--But that's hindsight now--
Just ASK questions, someone is always here 24/7--Read the Stickys at the top of the page, read the food lists, and the protocols--There is a wealth of info in them--
This is your support group! We will be here for you--Not to worry--It works!!-Go get an orange-OK? :-D -
And again, Welcome to lantus land
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Randi & Max said:
Hi Mike
Just stopping by to wish you luck for today.
You will be fine.

I am hoping this goes well, thank you! He was 294 this morning, seems to be holding below 300 in the last 8 hours or so.

Have you had any success in setting up your spreadsheet for Buddy yet.
This is extremely important in having it attached to your signature as we are a very
numbers driven group here.

I'm still trying to figure out how to use this Google thing with the spread sheet thing. No, not yet. Spreadsheets and me are like check books.. I always go, oops! :?

Also, we run one thread a day, we call them condos and we post all of our questions and thoughts in one place per day.

That should be no problem.

So, when you are ready to shoot Buddy today, start a new thread, call it 1/30 Buddy AMPS #.
What is also important is to always attach the prior day's "condo" into the current one so
everything that goes on with Buddy can be followed.

So 1/30 Buddy AMPS# should have these condos attached as the day goes by?
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Mike
Here is the link in the tech section if you have not seen it yet in getting your ss going.
If you have problems, you can post questions there and get help.

Creating a Spreadsheet

With regards to today's condo, yes, go ahead and link your other threads into it so everyone is up to speed on you and Buddy.

You just copy and past this one into your new one. You okay with that?? :smile:
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Everyday we post their numbers in our heading-One new condo each day, with the numbers as you test--AM numbers and what tests follow-then post the pmps & the tests you do after that--You will get the hang of it, just look at ours! That's for here.,
Spreadsheet is also for posting your daily numbers & having it available at a moment's notice..
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Roni and Moonie said:
Welcome to lantus land--You are having the same experience we all have- panic, fear, reluctance, nervousness, at the prospect of injecting your cat with insulin & it's consequences--You have joined the greatest support group in existence , and we ALL support each other, with dosing, numbers, testing, shooting & feeding--
Gotta say it through sickness & in health, this forum has been here for me for almost 3 yrs...We will help you & your kitty back to good health!

Mike, Get an orange & take an empty syringe & practice!! You can fill it with water to give you a feeling what it feels like to give a shot!
I was petrified, to do this to m baby, but in doing so, I saved her life--That's what you are doing for Buddy-We cant guarantee he will go into remission(although many cats have) but we can tell you he will regain much of his health & well being!!
My Moonie is well happy & reasonably healthy, but does have diabetic neuropathy--She is pretty much regulated on lantus & leads a happy life--It wasnt always like this!!!
I was so overwrought by this disease, I could have had her better sooner--But that's hindsight now--
Just ASK questions, someone is always here 24/7--Read the Stickys at the top of the page, read the food lists, and the protocols--There is a wealth of info in them--
This is your support group! We will be here for you--Not to worry--It works!!-Go get an orange-OK? :-D -
And again, Welcome to lantus land


Hi! We have no oranges around but I can find something. Yeah I know and I'm in Florida, all the trees around here are picked bare and others have been hauled away due to certain cankers.

Its been a while but I have given injections before, just not insulin. I just want to make sure I can determine 1/2 or 1 unit on the syringe. Using what one of you said about drawing a slight bit of more then you need and expelling it to the proper amount to avoid air and over shooting.

Does the pinch and tent work for you are do you prefer just a push up of the skin and inject? Just curious.

This stuff will be cold going into him so I guess we need a plan of distraction. :smile:
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

welcome aboard, Mike! Distractions....this is what I do for Spot...after he is done eating, I put some freeze dried chicken livers in his dish and while he is eating, I shoot. He doesn't even know what I'm doing. Food is a great distractions
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Me too I give Moonie freeze dried chicken bits & she eats while I am shooting--
Another tip--Cold insulin does sting going in so I hold the syringe in my hand for about 25 seconds to warm it up before shooting!
It works & with the food, you will do great!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Roni and Moonie said:
Me too I give Moonie freeze dried chicken bits & she eats while I am shooting--
Another tip--Cold insulin does sting going in so I hold the syringe in my hand for about 25 seconds to warm it up before shooting!
It works & with the food, you will do great!

He loves sleeping on the cat condo tent out on the porch, maybe he will still be there when we test and then shoot? But yeah, food is the best bet!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

OK, I have ONE question! Do you really need to draw back the syringe before you inject as its inserted? All injections I have given in the past I have never had to do it:?:
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

I'll let the other more experienced chime in here, but I asked that same question and they told me you just need to insert and push. No need to draw back a little once it's inserted. I kept doing "fur shots" because when I would pull the plunger a little, I would fall out of the skin.

Hope this helps...
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

BooBoo Kitty said:
I'll let the other more experienced chime in here, but I asked that same question and they told me you just need to insert and push. No need to draw back a little once it's inserted. I kept doing "fur shots" because when I would pull the plunger a little, I would fall out of the skin.

Hope this helps...

Thats what I thought! Thanks, yeah it seems that its stick and shoot!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

This pic helped me tremendously!!! Since I've strated doing it like tis, I have not had a fur shot. There's a little hollow or space that you can stick your finger in and feel once you pull the skin up like shown and that's where I put the syringe in. Also the link below is to one of my condos with lots of good info on giving a shot...

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35440#p372599

Good luck today!!!
 
Re: 1st shoot 1:30PM Sunday; BG will be posted - help welcom

Mike
Do you really need to draw back the syringe before you inject as its inserted?
I think Ella was talking about when you draw in the insulin from the vial or pen...not when you inject the cat. Here is a link to some of the different amounts of insulin you might inject and 1u is on there for you to see:

http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/

On our daily condos, once you start the first one, when you get your next test number, reopen the first one, go to your FIRST post of the day, click on "edit" on the right, and then add the next number to your subject line. So (using fake numbers) it would look like this:

1/30 Buddy AMPS 300 +2 250 +4 225

and so on. Once you have edited the subject line, click "submit". If you want to send a post then, then just reopen your condo, and click "post reply". Important to remember that the only way to edit the subject line is to go back to the very first post of the day. Also, after you have gotten your PMPS, go back to the first post of the day, hit "edit", erase all the AMPS info, and start over with PMPS. So the evening would look like: 1/30 Buddy PMPS 177. Hit "submit" and there you have your one daily condo! I encourage you to search around other condos, too, and you'll see how they look....when you have time and when you are more comfortable.

Nearing shot time...you and Buddy will do awesome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top