1st Home BG Curve!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reneemwriter

Member Since 2013
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... 5T0E#gid=0

Just completed my 1st BG Home Glucose Curve. P-h-e-w! Poor VanGogh! Though switching to The Relion Confirm (From Relion Prime) has made it LOTS easier to get the blood sample needed! I cannot get over how mellow VG is! He's much more relaxed than I am! Hoping that now I've gotten one under my belt, it won't be QUITE as intimidating for the next one. Do they need to be done every month?

I promise, tomorrow, I will try to make my ss visible to all w/out having to post link each time. . .

Thanks in advance for any input on this!
 
For once, my phone cooperated and I was able to see your spreadsheet.

Nice job on the curve. The numbers look good.

Some folks do monthly curves.
Some folks do mini curves testing every 3 hours every few weeks.
Some folks test at different times throught the week or on days off rather that doing a curve.

Whatever works best for you and your cat is OK.
 
Those numbers are fantastic! Keep getting preshot tests (and another test in 2-3 hours if his preshot is under 100). Reason I say this is that if he goes under 50 at any time you will want to reduce to 0.25. (Or if he stays 50-130 for a week you will also want to reduce to 0.25). I think there is a good chance he will do this and you dont want to miss a 50! Not just because it means a reduction but also because you dont want a hypo. Many vets will say cats cant hypo on such a low dose but I have personal experience with my Bailey and 0.25 units.

keep us updated!

Wendy
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- the lowest level pre-shot for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as mid-cycle data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top