1st Curve on Lantus, today!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennRoss86

Member Since 2018
Hey everyone!

Grey is doing so great right now, and I'm doing a curve for the first time since he's been on Lantus. His diet got him where he is now, and the Lantus I hope will push him right into OTJ!

I'd love anyone who has the time to see his SS and give us feedback!

Thank you,
Jenn & Mister Grey

P.S. We've been discussing this over in the Health Forum as well.
 
Good luck with the curve........I'd put in an extra test each hour, for example instead of doing the tests two hrs apart, do an hour apart every so often when you see the numbers start to drop.
 
Good luck with the curve........I'd put in an extra test each hour, for example instead of doing the tests two hrs apart, do an hour apart every so often when you see the numbers start to drop.

Good call! We're about to do his +4, so after that I'll do each hour. Thank you!
 
Look at those beautiful numbers!!!....and on only .5U!!!!

Thank goodness you've gotten him off that awful dry food and are home testing now! I can't believe you were on 9U just a little while ago (well, yes I can because we've seen it before!)

There's really no reason you need to test every hour now.....Save those extra pokes for when you really need them!

I'd grab maybe a +7 and +10 and call it a curve for today....but you DO still want to get at least one test on the PM cycle too
 
Look at those beautiful numbers!!!....and on only .5U!!!!

Thank goodness you've gotten him off that awful dry food and are home testing now! I can't believe you were on 9U just a little while ago (well, yes I can because we've seen it before!)

There's really no reason you need to test every hour now.....Save those extra pokes for when you really need them!

I'd grab maybe a +7 and +10 and call it a curve for today....but you DO still want to get at least one test on the PM cycle too


Thank you! You should see his old numbers (I've added a SS with old BG #s)

I just did another reading and it was 67, down from 84. It's in the +6 box but it's actually a +8 (I've done some every two hours and the last few every hour so I'm just adding them in order)

Now that it's low again I think im gonna test again at 21:00 (9pm) in an hour...
 
I would move the test result into the +8 column.

That is a beautiful curve. He should start rising now unless he decides not too;)

Have you decided if you are using the SLGS or TR method?

Under SLGS he would of earn a reduction today to 0.25u.
 
It's in the +6 box but it's actually a +8

Then it should go in the +8 cell

I just did another reading and it was 67, down from 84

Since you're using the AlphaTrak, that means he's earned a reduction!! Down to .25!!

Now that it's low again I think im gonna test again at 21:00 (9pm) in an hour.

I'd go ahead and give him a small snack now (his regular low carb food) and test again at +8.5
 
I would move the test result into the +8 column.

That is a beautiful curve. He should start rising now unless he decides not too;)

Have you decided if you are using the SLGS or TR method?

Under SLGS he would of earn a reduction today to 0.25u.

I'm still not quite sure I'm understanding the two methods. Also, if you look at his older BG #s from last year, until this new spreadsheet... he was very high. So his diet has brought him to where he is now, in only 9 days!! So maybe it's a little bit of both?

If he should be in the 68-99 range, I feel like maybe he will need a 0.25 increase? I'm only on that assumption based on his blue numbers over the last few days. But I also agree with someone else on here who thinks I should continue the same dose for a total of ten cycles which means I'm in the TR method.
 
I was looking at your older numbers.....I think it's pretty obvious that he's been overdosed on insulin from day 1

I sure hope your vet is willing to learn!! Grey is such a great example of the difference a species appropriate diet can make!

You do NOT need to increase....He's actually earned a REDUCTION by dropping below 68 on the AlphaTrak meter
 
Then it should go in the +8 cell



Since you're using the AlphaTrak, that means he's earned a reduction!! Down to .25!!



I'd go ahead and give him a small snack now (his regular low carb food) and test again at +8.5


Thank you, should I not keep the dose for ten cycles? He's been eating small bits of his can throughout the day, he's snacking on it right now :)
 
I was looking at your older numbers.....I think it's pretty obvious that he's been overdosed on insulin from day 1

I sure hope your vet is willing to learn!! Grey is such a great example of the difference a species appropriate diet can make!

You do NOT need to increase....He's actually earned a REDUCTION by dropping below 68 on the AlphaTrak meter

YAY! So now, how in the heck do I measure THAT?!
 
And I assume that my dose tonight will be 0.25? not 0.5

Right!

Do you have syringes with half unit markings
.25 unit.PNG
 
Thank you, should I not keep the dose for ten cycles?

If you were using a human meter, the "reduction" point for Tight Regulation would be "below 50"....on the AlphaTrak, the reduction point is "below 68"

I think the person that suggested the 10 cycles didn't notice you were using the AT since most of us use human meters....we tend to "default" to the human numbers
 
Sorry,I didn’t mean test each hour - just toss an extra test in between an hour so that if you saw a really low number,do another test an hour later, then go back to doing it two hrs or three hrs apart......didn’t mean to confuse you

Looks great and good numbers there for you.
 
Do you have a WalMart nearby?

Their Relion 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8mm insulin syringes all have half unit markings (even if they tell you they don't)

They're only $12.58/100 so not terribly expensive either
 
Sorry,I didn’t mean test each hour - just toss an extra test in between an hour so that if you saw a really low number,do another test an hour later, then go back to doing it two hrs or three hrs apart......didn’t mean to confuse you

Looks great and good numbers there for you.

It's okay! I did misunderstand what you meant, but it's giving me more hope having all these greens!
 
Do you have a WalMart nearby?

Their Relion 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8mm insulin syringes all have half unit markings (even if they tell you they don't)

They're only $12.58/100 so not terribly expensive either

That's amazing! I'll probably get some tomorrow because I'm almost out anyway, and I want to pick up Ketone test strips. But don't I need a certain size for Lantus?
 
But don't I need a certain size for Lantus?

The Relion 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8mm insulin syringes are for U100 insulin....which Lantus is.

I'm confident I can get an accurate 0.25.

You might want to draw up what you think .25 is into a used syringe using something colored (like juice, coffee, tea, water with food coloring)....then you'll have something to compare to when you do the real thing.

It's not so important that you get exactly .25 but that what you decide is .25 is as consistent as possible
 
The Relion 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8mm insulin syringes are for U100 insulin....which Lantus is.



You might want to draw up what you think .25 is into a used syringe using something colored (like juice, coffee, tea, water with food coloring)....then you'll have something to compare to when you do the real thing.

It's not so important that you get exactly .25 but that what you decide is .25 is as consistent as possible

Oh yeah! I don't know what made me think they weren't the right ones. I remembered when I switched over to Lantus, my first shoot was with the old U40 syringes, and I was so scared I'd overdosed him. I'll get some asap!

So if I shoot .25 tonight, should I keep him at that dose for 3-5 days? I could do another curve on Tuesday.
 
Yes, if you're doing TR (unless he drops below 68 again!)
So obviously if he does, then decrease the dose again? Over the weekend I'm not going to be able to get many checks between AM/PM PS's... So I will most likely miss nadir :(

One hour to go before PMPS!
 
So obviously if he does, then decrease the dose again?

It kind of depends...this is where experience helps

We don't usually do "back to back" reductions because of the depot...the depot will continue to "release" the higher amount until it drains, so although you reduce the dose, it can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to re-stabilize at the new dose
 
It kind of depends...this is where experience helps

We don't usually do "back to back" reductions because of the depot...the depot will continue to "release" the higher amount until it drains, so although you reduce the dose, it can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to re-stabilize at the new dose

Aha! I can't thank you enough!! So my plan is to keep him on this new .25 dose now and do a new curve on Monday or Tuesday. I am very pleased with his numbers today!!
 
Yeah, he had a fabulous day today!!

Lots of great surfing!!

Keep it up Grey!!....Or should I say "Keep it down"???

Haha surfing, I love it!

I like Keep it Down or "KID"

I'm tired but I'm sticking it out for that +2 and then getting some rest. It's been a long, successful day!
 
Haha surfing, I love it!

I like Keep it Down or "KID"

I'm tired but I'm sticking it out for that +2 and then getting some rest. It's been a long, successful day!

CURVE complete! His PM +2 was down to 80 from the PMPS of 116 - yay!

Goodnight :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 2.18.45 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 2.18.45 AM.png
    29.9 KB · Views: 70
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top