Here's what to do: stall without feeding for 20 minutes and retest. Post the result here. The hope is that she'll rise above 200 so we can consider giving a lower dose of insulin. I'll likely suggest something less than 1 unit if she's above 200 AND she's willing to eat.Charlie is 194 pre shot. But not hungry. Seems little tired. She won't eat yet. I want to hold off giving her it till she eats. And lower to 1 mg.
Yong stole my thunder!That's a borderline reading for No Shot. You can try stalling for 20 minutes without feeding, re-test and see where she is. If BG goes above 11.1mmol/L (200 mg/dL) and she decides to eat, you may want to reduce further for tonight to 0.25U, if you don't want to skip again, AND get another test at +2 (2 hours after shot is given) and if you are still awake, a +4. That is a quarter of 1.0 Unit.
Just kidding! I was going to wait to see the next BG result before suggesting a dose. The not wanting to eat is a concern when giving Caninsulin.I didn't mean to![]()
Indeed.Just kidding! I was going to wait to see the next bG result before suggesting a dose. The not wanting to eat is a concern when giving Caninsulin.
11.3.That's a borderline reading for No Shot. You can try stalling for 20 minutes without feeding, re-test and see where she is. If BG goes above 11.1mmol/L (200 mg/dL) and she decides to eat, you may want to reduce further for tonight to 0.25U, if you don't want to skip again, AND get another test at +2 (2 hours after shot is given) and if you are still awake, a +4. That is a quarter of 1.0 Unit.
Cross posted with Kris
If her numbers drop on your next test, I'd have to say NO SHOT again tonight.
Is she willing to eat? She has to have food in her for 30 minutes before you inject Caninsulin. She's right on the edge of the "no shot" boundary. I like Yong's idea of eyeballing 0.25 u so she gets some insulin tonight. Test again at +2.It's
11.3.
I gave her a bit she licked the top of it. I'll wait till 7 if she has not eating I'll give her .25. iwent through her ear last prick. Feel so bad.Is she willing to eat? She has to have food in her for 30 minutes before you inject Caninsulin. She's right on the edge of the "no shot" boundary. I like Yong's idea of eyeballing 0.25 u so she gets some insulin tonight. Test again at +2.
Don't worry about going through her ear. It'll heal quickly and it's something we've all done. Sounds like she's not too interested in her food. Is there anything else you can tempt her with like tuna, sardines, salmon, plain cooked chicken, etc.? Even a couple of tablespoons should be enough to make it safe to give 0.25 u.I gave her a bit she licked the top of it. I'll wait till 7 if she has not eating I'll give her .25. iwent through her ear last prick. Feel so bad.
Im trying even her old food. I switched pretty fast. She has a everything in front of her. Il be up all night. Last night she woke up at 3 and ate a good portion.Don't worry about going through her ear. It'll heal quickly and it's something we've all done. Sounds like she's not too interested in her food. Is there anything else you can tempt her with like tuna, sardines, salmon, plain cooked chicken, etc.? Even a couple of tablespoons should be enough to make it safe to give 0.25 u.
Ketones?Don't worry about going through her ear. It'll heal quickly and it's something we've all done. Sounds like she's not too interested in her food. Is there anything else you can tempt her with like tuna, sardines, salmon, plain cooked chicken, etc.? Even a couple of tablespoons should be enough to make it safe to give 0.25 u.
Do you have urine ketone test strips? If you do, you can try doing a test by:Ketones?
How long does it take for theDo you have urine ketone test strips? If you do, you can try doing a test by:
Most brands of strips say to let the colour develop 15 seconds. It's best viewed in a bright light to judge the colour properly.
- putting a shallow, long-handled spoon under her backside while she's peeing
- covering her favourite area of the box with a double layer of plastic food wrap to catch some pee in the indentations
- putting the strip right the urine stream.
She just ate. 1/4 can of fancy feast. Maybe .5 insulin. In half hourDo you have urine ketone test strips? If you do, you can try doing a test by:
Most brands of strips say to let the colour develop 15 seconds. It's best viewed in a bright light to judge the colour properly.
- putting a shallow, long-handled spoon under her backside while she's peeing
- covering her favourite area of the box with a double layer of plastic food wrap to catch some pee in the indentations
- putting the strip right the urine stream.
Sorry. I was away from my computer after 10PM my time (EST). Your SS is showing a dose of 1 u last night. Is this what you finally decided on? How long past her usual dose time was that given? I'm asking because if the delay was quite long, there might still be some residue of that dose in her system this AM.How long does it take for the
She just ate. 1/4 can of fancy feast. Maybe .5 insulin. In half hour
I truly understand how hard this is, especially at the start. We can help you to help Charlie. If my questions, etc. seems too numerous or bossy in tone, it's because I'm trying to get important information ASAP so I can get back to you with the next steps.I did not know I was copy and pasting. Just tired idk. It's been hard. When I missed the does when her BG was 154. I got nervous and have it to her early yesterday. 5:30. Im understanding now and not so nervous. Her eating patterns were grazing for her whole life. Hungry she eats. Small portions. Im going to cut her off two hours before pre shot, make sure she doesn't eat to much so she can eat before I shot. I understand bouncing. The 2 units seemed to take her low. Her +6 this morning was 260. Yet yesterday. 80. Test at 8 . Feed. 830 shot. Stay at 1 unit. She is eating. Just might take a bit to get her on schedule. I was quite worried when she didn't want to eat.
OK. So you're 3 hours earlier than I am. The phone will be fine.Vancouver. And use phone.
12.6!. She ate last night. Came down since +6 and eating!OK. So you're 3 hours earlier than I am. The phone will be fine.
This is not a bad pre shot number at all! And it's after a PM dose of 1 unit last night, correct? I'm very glad she's eating - so important. Please test around +6, post that result here and update your SS.12.6!. She ate last night. Came down since +6 and eating!
This is a little conflicting with your SS. The 260 is in +6 for last night?? This morning you tested at 08:00, fed, then gave shot at 08:30. Wasn't last nights test, feed, shoot sequence at like 17:30? You want to stick to the 12 hour apart schedule as best you can. You have up to an hour (early or later) flexibility with shot time on Caninsulin but sticking closer to 12 hours apart is bestHer +6 this morning was 260. Yet yesterday. 80. Test at 8 . Feed. 830 shot. Stay at 1 unit. She is eating. Just might take a bit to get her on schedule. I was quite worried when she didn't want to eat.
.OK. I can see your SS now. That blue number at +6 is textbook perfect! The goal is to have midcycle numbers that are about 50% of the pre shot value. I like this dose of 1 unit for now. The task ahead is to gather BG data at this dose for the next little while, providing she eats for you and doesn't throw you a curve ball low number.+6 121. Was adding # in.
Even with anxiety issues it'll get better. Kudos to you for doing it.Yah. She is picky. But she does eventually get mad at me and eat. It has to be moist and fresh out of can. I try not to throw to much away.
Today was best poke yet. Didn't pierce ear. Blood right away. I line my thumb up right where to prick. I have anxiety disorder. So after I am shaking. I think she does better than me.
I wouldn't give Caninsulin if she won't eat. Later on after you have A LOT of data on her responses it might be possible. I say that because of Caninsulin's ability to take them down hard and fast. We often say here, "Better too high for a day than too low for a moment."If she is really high400 + and has not eaten is it ok to give shot?
It's not necessarily a bad thing. The insulin has brought her BG down to fairly good levels for this early in the game so she might have less diabetes starvation going on. What about peeing and water drinking?Ok. She likes the moisture of a fresh opened can. Im going to open one up morning and night. And during the day she can graze. I notice she isn't bugging me as much for food. I think m inturputing that as something is wrong. I think she is just more satisfied now.
Those are signs of her BG being under better control and they fit in with her being less ravenous. Fancy Feast through the day is fine - pate version?She went from peeing 4-6 times a day and drinking piles of water. She was eating more to.
Now ,1-2 pees a day. I let her have fancy feast during the day. Il open fresh can every morning and night.
Yes all pate. I'd still like to find other high protein treats.
Please clarify: you said you gave 2 u in this post but your SS shows 1 u as tonight's dose. I sure hope you gave only 1 u! I'm glad she ate well.Ate over half can of ff! She was happy. 2 unit. She is probably feeling little more stable. Good energy. Giving two hours before feeding works. Gets her hungry.
I responded on your 911 thread.Pre test 192. She is eating. She is back to what she was 1 1/2 months ago. She ate well all day yesterday. She is cleaning herself better. She never stopped but seemed lathargic. I have to test again in 20 min. See where she is at.