19/6 Heart AMPS 378, +4 289, +7 266, PMPS 428

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
First pink AMPS number! With a different meter though that does give slightly lower numbers...

I was an hour late though giving the shot, and since I had to give it an hour early last night, it was 14 hours between shots...
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378

Good Caturday Morning! :mrgreen:
Congrats on the PINK this a.m.! That can really be a big relief (I have one of those HIGH cats, too!)

Here is a link to yesterdays condo (posts):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17543

It has a lot of good info in it for you, as I see you have probably read. I just wanted to make sure others could easily see what advice you have been given, as not to repeat too much.

I hope you will stick with the 2u. If you have to shoot early or late, you could put that in your condo so others can help you with adjusting the time. Just open your condo, click edit, and change the title to say: "Help with Time change for shot" (or something like that!). THEN, click on reply and start a new post in your condo explaining your situation. This would be better than changing the dose, or consistently shooting early/late.

I noticed very little spot checks in the evening cycle (none the past few days). What time do you shoot? Could you get a check in before you got to bed? Some people set alarms and get up on the middle of the night! :shock: (not me...I just stay up late). Often times a test @ +11 can help offer information as well. By doing these spot checks, you will see if Heart is maybe going too low and bouncing a lot OR just staying high/flat. This can help guide you while trying to get the correct dose.

I understand trying a few out a few different meters in the beginning to see which is easier to handle. I would stick with one meter very soon. You are going to drive yourself crazy with the bunch. Exact numbers are not what we need to look for (unless you are getting well below 100). We are testing to get a general sense of the range. Is heart mostly staying pink/red? yellow/pink? Green to red or black? Get what Im saying?

There is a lot of info out there and in the stickies. It can be terribly overwhelming, I know! If you ever have questions or need clarification dont hesitate to post. There is almost always someone around to assist in some way.

Hope you have great plans for the day.
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378

Congrats on the his first pink PS BG!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Hope you have a wonderful Caturday!!! And welcome to Lantus Land :YMHUG:
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378

Yeah, I know I don't have many spot checks. I've been super busy this week and barely been home (day or night), and I'm trying to give his ears a chance to heal so that he loses the junkie look from when I learned to prick him properly. I feel like I'm abusing him every time I prick his ear! Ripping it yesterday when he pulled his head away didn't help either... That's why I got the new meter though. I've had to prick so many times and waste so many strips not getting enough blood, so I went from the True Track requiring 1 mirco L to the Freestyle requiring 0.3. Want to prick as little as possible
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

Yay! Got my first yellow today at +4

And he was such a good boy just laying on me the whole time. This is how he always sits when it's time for the BG test (see attached picture). I'm a very lucky kitty-mom with such a well behaved boy! (My other two would never put up with this!)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1836.JPG
    IMG_1836.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 443
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

First of all... what an AWESOME photo of the two of you! Love that tummy view! :lol:

dodgingwrenches said:
so I went from the True Track requiring 1 mirco L to the Freestyle requiring 0.3.
When I first got here I did the same thing. I couldn't understand HOW people could test so much - I was having a horrible time getting enough blood and it was frustrating and upsetting for me and my kitty. I didn't realize that different meters took less blood.

After switching to a new one that took 0.3ml. I was able to relax. What a HUGE difference! I also use Neosporin pain relief ointment on my kitty's ear just before poking. I use just a tiny bit as a film to help the blood bead up and the pain relieving feature is a plus....it probably helps me more than my kitty. :lol:
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

Hi Sophia: Yes Heart is a very good boy. Love the pink and yellow here. Soon the ear poking will be second nature to you. You'll feel like you could do it in your sleep and at times with this crazy Sugar Dance you will be doing it in your sleep.

I had to smile at the picture of how you hold your baby when you test him. I found very early on that the easiest way to test Tori was to hold her in the crook of my arm like a baby. She also prefers her shot in her tummy. My vet always gets a kick out of that. So many times when she has been sick in hospital I'll go in to visit and cuddle her in my arms like a baby. I sit and rock her. It works for us.

Have a great Caturday.
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

Very good photo indeed.

As others mentioned, gotta be careful with monkeying around with the time of the shot. It could get you, or Heart in a big of a pickle...
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

Barb and Tori said:
I had to smile at the picture of how you hold your baby when you test him. I found very early on that the easiest way to test Tori was to hold her in the crook of my arm like a baby.

Unfortunately holding him that way leaves me short-handed. One arm and hand are holding him, one hand is holding the flashlight... Missing my third hand to handle the lancet! @-)
 
Re: 19/6 Heart AMPS 21/378, +4 289

You will find that the ears 'learn' to bleed, they really do get better at it. What you could do to free up your hand is to sit by a lamp and let that light be your guide. And be sure the ear is warm because it pulls the blood up for you.

When you have to shoot early like the other nite you must not jump all the way back to the original shot times; rather you need to gradually work your way back towards the shot time.
If you normally shoot at 6am/6pm and one day have to shoot at 4pm, you can't delay that morning shot till 6am, you should rightfully be shooting at 430am or close to it. I know it's tough but if you have gas for only 12 hours, you can't top up your tank early, then don't fill up till 14hrs later. You know what you will be doing? Your car would be by the side of the road and you would be walking on foot to the next gas station. Heart ran outta juice before you to go giving that shot after 14hours.
Just something to keep in mind when you need to shoot early or late.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top