19/11 remi PMPS 108,+1 88,+2 95, +4 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

Another late thread from me but hopefully I will be back on track tomorrow.

Here is the link to yesterday condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128653

Remi had been doing really well with a good run of greens but for the last two PMPS readings he has gone into the blue very slightly 103 and 108. Should I be readings anything into this? Say if this is the only time this happened does this mean I have to wait longer to reduce his dose as he is nearing the 14 cycles. I would like to keep remi in the tight regulation as much as possible.

Some things I think might he influencing his numbers: remi's appetite has picked up a little (possibly due to the potassium supplement) and so for the last couple of days he has had more food. He has Also been getting more food at +1 to avoid him dropping too quickly.

Funnily enough tonight he has been on top form. He has been eyeing up the kitchen counter and my shoulder to see if he could jump up there. He jumped on the bin and tried to eat a plastic bag hanging off the the door. He has pulled off all the clean washing off the radiators and sat on them and generally made a nuisance of himself. I LOVE it :-D .
 
Re: 19/11 remi AMPS 97,+1 83,+2 74,+6 75 PMPS 108,+1 88,+2 9

Remi's SS sure is pretty. :mrgreen: Are you feeding him a small snack at +8 or +9 in the AM cycle? If not, that might help bring those readings back into the green.

I love how he's getting into trouble again. :-D

As for reducing the dose after one more cycle, it's your call - he's pretty close. If you aren't giving that AM late snack you could try waiting another cycle or two and see if that helps.
 
Re: 19/11 remi AMPS 97,+1 83,+2 74,+6 75 PMPS 108,+1 88,+2 9

Hi Wendy

You can see it in his eyes when he is looking for trouble. I had to keep herding him out of the kitchen as it was making me nervous what he would do next :lol:

I don't give him a snack at +8 or +9. That would be quite difficult to do because past +6 is the time he is most likely to be home alone. Can I ask why the food helps bring down the numbers? In my head food equals an increase in blood glucose. Sorry this is probably a really basic question.
 
Re: 19/11 remi AMPS 97,+1 83,+2 74,+6 75 PMPS 108,+1 88,+2 9

As cats get down in dose and closer to remission, their pancreas is working more. Giving a little snack 3-4 hours before preshot can get the pancreas going which will lower the PS number. I guess you don't have an automated feeder? You could try the snack on a day when you are home later and see if it works.

A really interesting example of the snack getting the pancreas working is Amy's Trixie cat. She's now OTJ (as of end of April, surprisingly from a pancreatitis episode), in a most unconventional way. Trixie still throws higher numbers for AMPS but brings it down with food.
 
Re: 19/11 remi AMPS 97,+1 83,+2 74,+6 75 PMPS 108,+1 88,+2 9

Thanks for the reply. That's really interesting info. Mi can honestly say I have no real scientific understanding of diabetes or how pancreas works. It seems to go in one ear and out the other :shock:

Will have a look at trixie chart. I do actually have a feeder but I have just never used it as I have managed to always get someone to feed remi in person so I know he eats it. I could set the feeder up for the +8/9 and see how that goes. Thanks for the suggestion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top