? 19/10 Ruddy pmps 3.3 (60)

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hi I have been having trouble with high numbers, now I was just thrown a 3.3 =60. I waited 20mins and it was lower 3.1 =56 do I skip the Lantus which is 2u bid? I just fed his dinner.
 
Hi, with TR you can shoot any number above 50. But I see that this lowest PS number Ruddy has thrown you. Save the 41 on 17/9.

You have 3 options:
(A) Skip
(B) Shoot a one time token dose
(C) Shoot the full dose - provided you can monitor

Your SS says skip, so I guess you have decided to skip?

I see no tests in the PM cycle for the last 2 weeks. Most cats go low at night and the higher numbers you are seeing in the day could be bounces from those lows. If you don't get tests in both cycles, you are seeing only half the picture and will not know how Ruddy is doing on the dose. Would it be possible for you to get a before-bed test every night?

Here's the link to your previous post - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/19-10-bg-staying-high.237117/
 
Last edited:
Thankyou yes I can’t monitor him as he lives downstairs. So can only get a +3 why would he go from 17.9 last night to 3.3 tonight. I don’t understand and now I will probably be in for a bounce
 
Well, he is a cat. He can go where he likes! Our job is to follow! :-)
I've had mine go from 300+ to 50 in the same cycle (sorry, I speak US mg/dl).

Usually when they break a bounce there is more downward momentum. Could also be that he is only just beginning to work the 2 unit dose. Some cats take longer to react to an increase. But with missing tests in the PM cycle, one can't say. Even a +3 is better than no tests at all - if that's all you can get...
 
Yes I will test before bed. I did get a 3.30am a couple of weeks ago and it was 15.4 if I remember Correctly, that was + 7.5. So frustrating I was just looking to increase tonight. Lucky. I have never got a lower number +3 in the pm, he usually goes up before going down. I am pretty sure He has a late nadir
 
A +3 test should give you an idea about whether it is an active cycle. Nadirs are often later in bounce breaking cycles.

I guess he read your mind on the increase! :-)
I would hold the dose and try and get in more tests to see how low it is taking him.
 
A active cycle is where kitty sees significantly lower numbers than pre-shot and would require some monitoring.
As you know a bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear. The cycle where the bounce clears is referred to as the bounce breaking cycle.
 
Back
Top