18 hour cycle? 10-21 Ittle +12=76/72/70 +2=93 +4=108 +6=155 Shot / Moey AMPS=297 +3= 319 +6=277

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
10-21 Ok....lowest AMPS EVER! Not exactly sure what to do besides stall. Advice needed please. Reduce dose?? Kinda clueless here.
**Update**
Ittle AMPS +8=143 +10=146 +12=116
Moey AMPS +9=334 PMPS=319
 
Last edited:
This is for Ittle, I assume. Are you able to monitor today?
I would NOT feed and test in 20 minutes.
Yes it's for Ittle. I'm able to monitor and will re-test @ 10:40am. If he doesn't come up...what then? I'm a lil weary of shooting that low of a number. He has a tendency to drop dramatically at +2 - +3.
 
Since Ittle is on SLGS, he earned a reduction this AM.

There are a couple of things you can do:
You can keep stalling until you get a rising number.
Skip the shot (Ittle doesn't have DKA right?)
Give a reduced dose.

Ideally, if you get a rising number, you'll shoot the full dose (reduced dose in your case) and get a +1 and +2.

You shoot low to stay low. This is a great opportunity to gather data and see how Ittle does and helps you learn to shoot lower numbers.
 
Pending his test #...should I try the shoot 1/2 dose now and than wait for a couple of hours and shoot remainder of dose. I def don't want him chasing sharks.
I say he's on the SLGS dosing method but, haven't been decreasing dosing according to low nadirs. Kinda going TR on that
Lordy he's dropped again. What to do:eek:
 
Last edited:
Pending his test #...should I try the shoot 1/2 dose now and than wait for a couple of hours and shoot remainder of dose. I def don't want him chasing sharks.
No. We never shoot twice. Even if you think you missed or did a fur shot, we never shoot twice. It produces TWO nadirs and can unbalance the depot. Lantus is not the same as short acting insulin and is not a drug that you can double dose.
 
Pending his test #...should I try the shoot 1/2 dose now and than wait for a couple of hours and shoot remainder of dose. I def don't want him chasing sharks.
No. We never shoot twice. Even if you think you missed or did a fur shot, we never shoot twice. It produces TWO nadirs and can unbalance the depot. Lantus is not the same as short acting insulin and is not a drug that you can double dose.
I thought I read that was an option if getting low PS numbers. Ok...I'm going to continue to stall up til 11am(shot time 10:30). Do you think reducing the dose or NS is his best option at this point?
 
76 and 72 are essentially the same number. You can stall another 20 minutes.

Ah, I see. I thought you were doing TR too at first but then saw your signature and failed to connect the dots.

I'd make a decision here if you're going to follow TR or not. If you're going to do TR, you're going to have to learn to shoot low numbers. It is an aggressive approach after all.

Do you have lots of test strips, honey, HC, and food? Those are your best friends and tools you'll use to help Ittle along this cycle.
 
Lordy...70 now. I may just skip this dose. I really don't want to but, am terrified to shoot that low. I know this going to set him back. I do have the necessary supplies to deal with ultra low #'s...just don't want to put him at risk. :arghh:
 
That's fine. I wouldn't feel comfortable shooting if he's not going up anyway.

What do you think about an 18 hour cycle? Right now you are at hour 12. By hour 18, hopefully Ittle rises and you can give his full dose. Then you would skip his regular PM dose and shoot at his regular time tomorrow in the AM.
 
That's fine. I wouldn't feel comfortable shooting if he's not going up anyway.

What do you think about an 18 hour cycle? Right now you are at hour 12. By hour 18, hopefully Ittle rises and you can give his full dose. Then you would skip his regular PM dose and shoot at his regular time tomorrow in the AM.
That sounds like a wonderful plan! I'll keep testing him throughout the day for the data. This is a good learning opportunity.
So, it's ok to go about our normal routine in regards to feeding? He's going to eat my leg off if I don't feed him soon...LOL!
I'll test and shoot him(if #'s are appropriate)@4:30pm. I'm sure he'll be shootable at that point.
Thanks SOOOOO much for your advice, patience and support Crista!:bighug:
 
Yes, feed him!!! He's so hungry haha

Of course, no food 2 hours before shot time.

If you want an example of an 18 hour cycle, check out Ming's SS on 8/27 (please excuse his really colourful SS.....)
 
Some housekeeping: I would change your title to +12 = 76, and so on since you didn't give insulin. And just put 18 hour cycle to get other's attention. Maybe they'll have more insight and advice :)
 
LOL my condo is very incomplete this morning. Ittle threw a wrench into my normal routine. I still have to add Moey's info to it. The condo just isn't large enough for 2 cats!:p I'll fix the condo shortly...gotta feed the lil one first. Thanks again for your info. You have been most helpful and have eased my anxiety this morning!!:)
 
I admire you for being able to juggle two sugarcats :) One is a lot already and Ming even has a whole crew of staff to serve him :rolleyes:

I'm assuming Moey is behaving himself? haha

Also in regards to your dosing methods, after you get yourself sorted and everything else in order, I would decide if you're really doing TR or not so we can figure out Ittle's dose.
 
I admire you for being able to juggle two sugarcats :) One is a lot already and Ming even has a whole crew of staff to serve him :rolleyes:

I'm assuming Moey is behaving himself? haha

Also in regards to your dosing methods, after you get yourself sorted and everything else in order, I would decide if you're really doing TR or not so we can figure out Ittle's dose.
Moey is behaving himself thank goodness. He needs an dosecrease but, otherwise is a sassy, stubborn ole' Moe!
I do need to stick to one plan of dosing. When Ittle started to show me some lower/flatter cycles I got really excited and didn't want to ruin his progress by decreasing his dose(according to SLGS). I test enough for TR just don't feel comfortable shooting the lower green #'s. The dose increases in TR are a little drastic for me personally. Ittle's very first increase(.25u) didn't go very well. He went low and than bounced all over the place. Per SLGS I decreased him. So, after the decrease failed I decided to give him a smaller than recommended increase(.1u). It seemed like that dosecrease failed, as well, until he hit day 8, 10-17 (pm cycle) and day 9, 10-18. That's when he really started to work hard. If I would have followed either dosing method to a T, I think his results would have been much different(know thy cat). I'm probably wrong but, I think I would have been fighting low #'s and bounces. When approaching a new dose with him it seems smaller adjustments are better. Unless of course, his #'s warrant a larger decrease. BTW I forgot to answer...Ittle has no hx of DKA. If he did I would have at least given him a token dose.
Anywho, off to do some housekeeping on our condo.:)
 
I think a 1.1 unit is probably like the fat and skinny doses and it’s a dose change that many do. Otherwise, I don’t have much good insight on your dose changes :oops: I’ll leave that to the more experienced :)
 
I agree with Crista...sooner or later you're going to have to be able to shoot those lower numbers.:D You'll know when you're ready...it's a bit breathtaking the first time or three...but once you do it and have a nice green surf that follows, you'll feel very rewarded by doing it...and we all hope that by shooting low, they stay low...that's after all, why we're all here..hoping for those lovely greens, all day, all night... woo hoo!! :joyful:
 
I agree with Crista...sooner or later you're going to have to be able to shoot those lower numbers.:D You'll know when you're ready...it's a bit breathtaking the first time or three...but once you do it and have a nice green surf that follows, you'll feel very rewarded by doing it...and we all hope that by shooting low, they stay low...that's after all, why we're all here..hoping for those lovely greens, all day, all night... woo hoo!! :joyful:
It's really going to be a scary business to shoot the lower greens. I think I can handle the highers greens. Why can't Ittle just skip all the shooting green nonsense and go straight into remission:rb_icon:(as I click my heels and say there's no place like home)! I'll figure it out sooner than later. Thank goodness he's still on the beach and didn't reach straight for the lemons. The one positive is, it gives me more opportunity to collect data.
Thanks Sue! I'm sure you'll be checking his progress today. :bighug:
 
Back
Top