18/9 Little Boy n Lantus n cattery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anyname

Member Since 2010
I have re-started LB's spread sheet - since collect him from a month in the cattery. He's come back in worse shape with regards FD. I can't seem to get a handle on what's happening. I know they fed him dry food - not sure how much. I get to talk to the guy who looked after him tomorrow. If anyone has the time can they take a look on the world version of my SS and see if that pattern makes any sense considering dry has been consumed over the last few weeks. He's off it now but very hungry and drinking and pee'ing more. He has been on 4 units x twice daily in cattery. I've put him up 2 times since he came home. No response as yet. Is it likely to happen eventually if I hold for longer than 3 days?

thanks Marilyn
 
Glad to hear LB is home and away from the contraband! Is unfortunate that the cattery did not follow your feeding instructions. I don't see a link to the spreadsheet update... the one in your signature isn't up to date! Fingers and paws crossed that Little Boy's numbers improve soon!
 
There's really not much to provide feedback on since there's no recent data. Trying to extrapolate numbers from August to now and not having any data from mid-August to now makes it really tough. Could you get a curve and and start updating including PM tests? It will allow us to help you.
 
Hi - I too am glad that Little Boy is back home :-D :-D , and am also with the others, It is difficult without current data, I'd run some curves, it should give you the information that you need.
 
Try pressing WORLD at the bottom of the SS - changing over from US. If it's not there then I will ask DH to work on it. I knew it wasn't up for US when I posted - hoped you could access via WORLD. It's pretty much all *yellow* except for 2 blue readings (just). Testing 3 times a day - sometimes 4. Basically getting AMPs, PMPs and naidar. Not much difference between readings all day - insulin not bring his numbers down significantly.. Was on 4 units for some time but have increased dose 2 times over 6 days taking him up to 4.5 units lantus. Seems well in himself - looks healthy, but is/acts very hungry, is pee'ing and drinking more than usual. Allergies could be the big issue. Cattery feeding tinned tuna and I've given him what they sent him home with. I see cattery person tomorrow and collect excess frozen rabbit plus have chat to find out details of four weeks out of our care.

The good thing is that we've returned home with new energy for our kitty. Back to testing and reporting. Just don't understand what's happening at the moment. Suspect he needs to lose weight. He's a big boy by genetics but it could be that he needs to be leaner. 2 lbs need to go. But must get him regulated first. Pls let me know if the SS is not available on WORLD.

best marilyn
 
just one more thing, Little Boy's ears are hot. Not all the time but mostly.

He comes begging for food every three hours except he goes six hours overnight. I read an old post about the brain getting mixed up when they aren't regulated. How long would be ok to leave him between meals? The vet said he has 2 plus for glucose in his urine on a scale of zero to four. I don't know what that means. I don't know where to turn now. Do I just hold and hope that something gives? LB weighs about 20lbs or 9kilo's. He's typical MC but could maybe be as light as 18lbs. Can any of the wiz kids give an opinion. It's not about getting him OTJ anymore, it's about getting him regulated again.
 
I am looking at the World version of your SS. The last entry is Aug. 18th.

Perhaps it's time to copy your results into a spreadsheet that works. This link is to SS templates that people have had success with.

Glucose in his urine means his numbers have been over renal threshold -- probably above the 250 mark but renal threshold varies for each individual cat. Diabetes can be hard on the kidneys.

FWIW, the minimum number of tests we suggest is four -- pre-shot tests and at least one test each cycle.
 
I'm glad that Little Boy is home, too. You'll get him regulated with the help of this group. I'm glad you joined. This group is the only group that I've been with, and they have helped me tremendously. Welcome! :-D
 
I can't offer any good input, but sending fervent hopes that he gets regulated quickly.
He's such a gorgeous guy!

celi & binks
 
Thanks for kind thoughts - as you all know, it's worrying when they are not regulated - especially as he's been dx for 20 months now - and was doing extremely well by last xmas last yr.

Will work on getting new entries working today. We've been entering his numbers for a week. New vet asked me not to test apart from pre shots. I needed to know if he was having a reaction to lantus so tested 6 hrs after shot - but only dropping slightly from daily shot. e.g. 14.8 AMPS. +6: 13.6 - hardly any response. Opened new vial. Only feeding raw. Have ditched the tin of human tuna as of today.

Talking to cattery carer today. He was a very 'in to it' man but he fed dry coz he couldn't get him to eat'. He emailed me regularly. Did his best.

marilyn
 
well, if LB wouldn't eat, i can certainly understand why they fed him dry. better dry than have him get sick from not eating.
you mentioned allergies. did the higher numbers coincide with the allergy symptoms or being fed dry food?

use the link provided earlier in this thread to set up a working spreadsheet. unfortunately, the US isn't up to speed with the metric system like the rest of the world. a working world spreadsheet will go a long way in helping us help you.
 
I'm sorry, The dates I entered were wrong. I put 8th month instead of 9th month. We've been back one week. I put the proper date at the start of the week. Will fix later.

Numbers don't seem connected to allergy. Not itching. Eating raw only today. Called vet. She told me not to bg test him till Thursday. He not well but why? What do I do now?

Marilyn
 
Marilyn --

Did you see all of Jill's note:

Jill & Alex said:
use the link provided earlier in this thread to set up a working spreadsheet. unfortunately, the US isn't up to speed with the metric system like the rest of the world. a working world spreadsheet will go a long way in helping us help you.

Could you please copy over your data (you can cut and paste) into the template provided. It really will help us.
 
Trying to fix a SS problem over breakfast is not a good way to start the day. DH set up the new one but can't cut and past numbers over. I tested one in case have to manually enter but test number didn't show up for the US either.

DH ask me why US helpers can't for the moment see the colour coding of WORLD numbers and get an indication. LB's numbers are between 250 + 350 (can you see LB's WORLD numbers?). He was 322 at PMPs last night. 271.8 at AMPs this morning. Went up rather than down yesterday in the middle of the day. Not appearing to be responding to insulin.

I will ask DH to spend more time on the SS when he is less stressed, I can't do any more to fix it for now.

getting away from SS woe's and onto LB it's like when he started diabetes only we are 20 months into this journey - I'm just hoping that he will come down again over time. Unfortunately I just don't understand how the pancreas works or doesn't work wth diabetes and insulin. I thought if you replace the insulin then it was as good as the pancreas making it. :?

marilyn
 
((((marilyn)))) sounds very stressful. hang in there. i don't know why your vet wouldn't want you to test until thursday, but LB is your cat. BG test numbers tell us how he's doing - and that's the key to having people across the world be able to help you - we go by the data. you don't have to tell the vet what you are doing - just test and post here.

a little more information and time and hopefully we can help you get him back on track.

hugs! julie
 
it is stressful isn't it?

hate it when they don't feel well.

sending healing hopes Little Boy's way.

celi & binks
 
Hi Marilyn and Little Boy,

Sorry to hear that LB's numbers aren't coming down, i took a look at your SS (i work in metric too and have both world and US). Could your SS mixup have something to do with the way the date's are entered? I noticed that the World and the US pages are in different date formats.......just a suggestion.

Hope you can figure out LB's numbers and get him back to those nice blues he was used to.
 
Sure would be handy if I could remember why I wrote them like that. :?

Would I need to go back and change the lot? ohmygod_smile

It seems to have happened since I changed my computer to a lap top which I inherited from DH. It means I can enter the numbers in conveniently a few paces away from where I blood test. No more making a special trip upstairs. Although I should embrace the exercise opportunity I am so easily distracted on journey's up the stairs. Usually get to the top and can't remember why I went upstairs. I've not given up trying to get it fixed but need to be patient with DH as it upsets and slightly humiliates him that he can't fix it.

Got the name of a FD specialist vet from primary carer @ cattery. Will take the wee fella there if he doesn't lift his game in the next few days.

BTW I ignored vet lady when she said not to bg test till Thursday. My interpretation was: Don't annoy me till Thursday. I don't need to be told twice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top